Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OREGON

We have stayed 13 times and will stay again!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: We love the garden like grounds and pools! The mall across the street has just about everything. Staff tries to accommodate your needs.
Cons: The mosquitoes in the rainy season. The remote control for the TV did not match the TV.
Location: Love the location meets our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shelton, WA

Beautiful grounds but standard hotel room not nice

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful and well maintained.
Cons: The front desk reception being more responsive to requests for repairs or corrections. Didn't seem to be able to resolve an issues or indifferent.
Location: Close to the mall and grocery stores and restaurants. A close taxi ride to Marina.
We booked a stay in a standard hotel room. The room was very dark and dank, fixtures were not operable and required repair, never were able to acquire a safe key to safe in unit, front desk were less than helpful in resolving any issues. Standard hotel room has no view and no patio or balcony and no ocean view. Very outdated and require some upgrading. Majority of the staff were helpful, excluding check in and front desk staff. There appeared to be some nicer units in the complex, would use caution if booking to ensure you were in one of the nicer, upgraded rooms. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, nor would I choose to stay in this property again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Condos on the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the views, the staff were all tops.
Cons: Needs more restaurants.
Location: A grocery store is right across the street which is fabulous for families with children but restaurant options are limited in the area.
Our whole family stayed there in three different condos. My daughter and husband with two small children stayed in a large 3 bedroom 3 bath and it was absolutely top rate, a five. The staff especially Maricio, our "concierge", was so helpful with everything we needed. My son and his wife stayed in a small studio and my partner and I had a large studio. I would rate his a three, comfortable but very small and ours was larger and very nice but with an old bathroom so I would rate ours a four. The grounds with 5 different pools and the views from our rooms were all fantastic. The only restaurant on the grounds is very average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old style Mexican resort on the beach

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Location and the grounds, pool etc. are well maintained and beautiful
Cons: Except for the staff at checkout (excellent).........staff attitude Better room selection.....is it different because we used such as Expedia
Location: Close to transit , grocery store across the street, on the beach, easy to get into town
Reception at check in was average. Our room was on the fourth floor with no elevator and difficult stairs esp. for partner who is 90....reception stated that there was no opportunity to change room. The room amenities old and not well maintained eg. no way to lock room safe, cupboard handles that came off in our hands
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, New Mexico

Disappointment in upkeep of apartments

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: The pools, the grounds, the walking paths, the design of the buildings, never feeling crowded or overrun with people. The children love the pools.
Cons: The furnishings and appliances in the units
Location: Right on the beach, great views, supermarket across the street, good bus schedules to centro and market.
I had a timeshare at Los Tules until about 8 years ago. It is a beautiful setting on the beach, the grounds are gorgeous and the 8 pools immaculate and the outsides of the buildings are kept up. Unfortunately it is very old and rundown inside the apartments. I had a studio which had a gorgeous view but that is all it had. The studio was very dirty, rundown, no hand or cup towels, no soap, no blankets, kitchen appliances very old, poorly supplied with few mismatched dishes, pots and pans among other shortcomings--obviously not ready for occupancy. The next morning I told them the studio was completely unacceptable. They changed me to a much better and bigger studio with nice view. Different companies and individuals own and run the resort and I am sure there are many accommodations that have been updated and nice. I went there for old times sake and did not expect a whole lot, but the places I saw definitely need attention and updating. The staff are friendly and I love the low-rise Mediterranean villa design in a town of nothing but high-rise hotels and condos. Some big company needs to buy the resort and modernize the interiors. Then it would be really wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Beautiful Room with Ocean View

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: location location location!!! Heidi the restaurant manager is super friendly and very fun to be around.
Cons: wifi
Location: grocery, pharmacy, and plenty of places with excellent food!
Most beautiful resort in Puerto Vallarta. The grounds are massive and very well manicured. One of the few resorts that has land with it as well as beautiful beaches. The only drawback was the timeshare salespeople trying to constantly get you to participate in their program. Would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Terrible experience...

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Let me start by stating that my family has been traveling to this hotel for the last 27 years, as they have a shared condo there, it's been usually a very nice experience This summer I decided to join them so I booked a room guessing it will be fairly under similar conditions. Early after arriving, we learned that the facility is now divided and administered by four different groups. We got a room managed by "Los Tules Mexican Resort", booked through Expedia, while the rest of my family got the usual room (administered now by Royal). Their room was as usual clean, well maintained, etc; while ours was terrible. TV was ancient and broken, as the WC and barroom cabinet. AC leaked continuously all week; moreover, room was infested with cockroaches... The worst part was the manager response, basically she explained there was little she could do, other than trying to change the TV, which she never did. I strongly advise anyone considering this hotel, to double check who is managing the room you will get. Based on what I read on previous reviews (and the rest of my family) you could get a good room, but for me in brief words, it's been the worst experience I've ever had staying at a touristic resort.
1 out of 5
by Rob from S

Would not stay again

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Horrible experience, poor quality rooms, no wifi in my room, very dirty. Not a good resort, would not recommend to my worst enemy!
3 out of 5
by lupe from las vegas

nice hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: location and tropical look
Cons: they need to be inform of what to do with the guest needs and where to direct them for services we ask for clean towels no one knew where to get it
Location: a shopping center across the hotel with a movie theatre many restaurants and niteclub
the location is very convenient close to everything but the hotel people is not helpfull at all it seems that severalls companys runs the hotel so when you ask for something they dont know where to get it was no phone in the room the beds very uncomfortable and everybody push you to go to a timeshare meeting not a good experince
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views of Banderas Bay!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
We owned a unit for the past 14 years in Los Tules and have enjoyed every trip we have stayed there.The grounds are beautiful with 8 pools and 2 tennis courts. We especially love the laid back atmosphere there. Not a lot of hoopla and noise. if you know what I mean.