Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with amazing views

Posted May 9, 2017
This place was perfect. The reveiws tell you what you need to know. Yes there are stairs and yes its up a hill but with that being said this place is great. The veiws are amazing and eveything is close by. Breakfast everymorning was a highlight, the rooms were nice, bathrooms were nice both cleaned eveyday, we had a whole floor it ourselvs it seemed like. Would recomd this places to just about everyone
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review and so happy you enjoyed your recent visit to Paradise and to our unique Luna Liquida Until your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Authentic and quiet Mexico retreat

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: There was literally nothing that I didn't like
Cons: Leave it the way it is
Location: I am a wanderer so it was a nice 10-15 minute walk to meet up with friends for dinner and drinks
This place was exactly what I was looking for when I read the reviews and it really only got better. I am a seasoned traveller and enjoy staying in the city centre. Luna Liquida has a beautiful church in the front that is illuminated at night that is a great reference point when you have had one too many tequilas. Find the church, walk up the hill... that easy! There are loads of steps so please don't check in and complain... it is all over the reviews. I like to be left alone when I travel and the staff provides you with what you need and stays clear. The staff is pleasant and full of great recommendations and history of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
We are so very glad to know that you had an awesome time in our little piece of paradise, and you also enjoyed of our peculiar location and staff services. Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Charming and quiet hotel with wonderful views

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We upgraded to the jr. suite called "la estrella" and the view was stunning. You get your own private terrace overlooking the cathedral where you can watch the beautiful sunsets PV is famous for. The hotel is walking distance to all the action but very quiet and peaceful when you want a place to relax. I wouldn't suggest it to anyone who isn't physically fit given it's location half a kilometre up a steep hill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and allowing us the honor to host your stay. We are very thankful & pleased that you kindly devoted some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. We hope to have the opportunity of have you as a guest again In your house Luna Liquida Boutique Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Delightful Surprise.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Charming layout, design & decor. Room & roof-patio and pool with fantastic views. Breakfasting. Friendly staff. Quiet location in old world charm.
Cons: Wi-fi was intermittent which may be an irritant to some.
Location: Hotel is on fringe of District Romantica and is tuned more for old city exploration by stroll than beach going. Good shopping and dining nearby.
The four night stay at the Luna for my wife and I was a very pleasant experience. The hotel has a unique layout as a converted large home and found charming. We had Junior Suite Sol 1 which provided spectacular views of Old Puerto Vallarta and the Bay and sunsets which did not disappoint. Hotel is set in a charming mixed neighbourhood of vertical townhouses of all vintages, styles and conditions. Clay-tiled roofs maintain the old town area charm. Hotel is in "gringo gulch" with narrow streets and with a moderately steep climb of four short blocks up stairs and over cobblestone streets to get to and from on daily walkabouts may not be for everyone. Parking limited. Roof-top patio/lounge/breakfast dining area and pool was a highlight and a relaxing environment. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast choices after complimentary service on the roof-top patio was a delightful start to the day. Shared kitchen & dining areas provided the home-cooking option for lunch and dinner but dining-out was our preference. There were ample diverse eateries in the area for lunch or evening dining. Many other restaurants in full walking distance but street-lighting at night near hotel was dim and promoted being back to watch the sunset from room or roof-top deck. Later stay at expensive major US hotel with spa on beach near airport was a regret as takes a few days to find the gem spots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the detail of our different areas throughout the property such as the rooms and the balconies with the gorgeous views throughout the day. Location is very convenient to walk to most of the areas in downtown, dinning options, etc. We look forward in welcoming you again soon, it was a pleasure having you with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Hotel with a awesome staff

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The setting was old world
Location: The location is high and the walk down to the waterfront can be challenging. The walk up even more so!
This is a beautiful boutique hotel. The staff was exceptional. The roof top deck and pool area is a beautiful place to have breakfast and to watch the sun set. There is a well iced cooler of liquid refreshment that is available on the honor system
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review, was our pleasure to have you as a guest. It´s very significant to know you received a good service from our dedicated staff. See you next time in our beautiful Luna Liquida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lumsden, SK

Very clean an and quaint.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: views, staff, originality of the hotel. Would love to rent as a group!
Cons: Bed softness - clean and adequate, just a little too firm for my tastes
Location: Malecon Buses close by
Loved this place. Definitely a hike at the end of the day on the beach, but totally worth it. Felt like a sanctuary at the end of the day and a place to rest. Absolutely loved breakfast on the rooftop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
Thanks for your great review. Your tips to future travelers are very helpful - the bus is a great option for getting around Vallarta, We would love to host you once again with friends any time you need a relaxing time at Puerto Vallarta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The roof top patio and pool was really nice (also quiet) with a great day & night views of the bay and city , over the top of the old church.
Location: Beach is close by, many outstanding places to eat, from reasonable high end to local eateries.
The hotel was a great experience. Staff was pleasing and helpful and did whatever they could to make our experience enjoyable. Location was great, even though it is a steep climb from the beach, well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
On behalf of the staff, we would like toThank you for choosing Luna liquida for your vacations, was our pleasure to host you.
5 out of 5
by Rebekah

Peaceful.

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
This place is absolutely adorable. From what I can tell, it only has 6-7 rooms, and is never crowded. The rooms open to peaceful courtyards or quaint living areas. The view is spectacular from the pool, and the staff accommodated our every need. We were a little worried about location, but it is only about 4 blocks from the water (full disclosure, up a steep hill on the way back). The location is perfect--just off the beaten path enough to be very quiet and peaceful, but close enough that you can walk to the main boardwalk in 10 minutes. Would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. We are very delighted to hear you enjoyed our Luna Liquida and it´s beautiful scenery, which is one of the things all of us are proud of. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not –too distance future to Paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful stay; away from the over crowd beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
the hotel is very beautiful; different in a quite way; breakfast and staff were above and beyond! great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by chief concierge, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review and great feedback! Was our pleasure to have you as a guest. We hope to host you again in your home away from home Luna Liquida Boutique Hotel.
4 out of 5
by Normand

Magnificent view

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We were there on December 31st. We had an amazing view of the whole bay. At midnight there were fireworks right in front of us and all around the bay of Puerto Ballarta and Nuevo Vallarta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. We will love to host you one more time if you visit our beautiful Puerto Vallarta.