Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Arrowhead

On the ocean

Posted Dec 31, 2016
This COULD BE a great place. The price is right! However, we had to go down and get clean sheets and go to the store to get cleaning and bug spray. My wife Vlran our room from top to bottom. We were in the PH1. It was great for our family. Le Kiff restaurant is right next door it is 5 star and expensive but great. So at the end of the day you won't finder a cheaper place to stay on the ocean but you will have to clean your own room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wasilla, Alaska

A private hotel in the outskirts of town.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: The whole hotel...
I'm surprised this hotel is listed under expedia. Or, that they would choose to adverise as such. The pool and rooms were very rundown. I was surprised they were still in operation. The on-line photos do not give an accurate discription. I did not check into the hotel for my stay as i did not feel safe. I arrived at the hotel and left within a few minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

dissapointed

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: views of the bay, terrace, location, view of the jungle
Cons: old, dirty, dirty rooms, elevators don't work, dirty sheets,dirty towels
Location: south of Puerto Vallarta, Mismaloya & boca de tomatlan
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2016
So sad that Expedia work with dise type of motels. Dise motel is a ripoff din have a television,or telephone, swimming pool, or water to chawer and toy lets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No good!

Posted Feb 6, 2016
It is an old Mexican hotel and not up to American standards. The stove did not work so they gave me 2 hot plates. Ok! They moved me to another room, with the 2 ho tplates, because the old fridge conked out half way through my 3 week stay. The sound of the waves, 24/7, was very loud to the point that I heard nothing else. The mattress was hard and I slept with clean, but stained sheets and towelled off with clean but ragged, stained towels. the kitchennette was small and not stocked with kitchen utensils. I got, when I asked, and received a few old ones to cook with and eat off of. Only had about 2 hours of sunlight because of the location of the hotel and its rooms. The price was ok for what I got, which is what I wanted, peace.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula

Nice view only

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Stayed there few yrs ago and it was great. This time hotel seems run down linens old, sink dirty, no cable. Left after first night payed for 2nights. Spoke to manager he was very receptive and apologetic hopefully they will improve.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta Canada

A total waste of money!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Terrible location. 35-40 minute bus ride to Vallarta. Bocca Tomaltan is the closest venue with good restaurant offerings.
Contrary to what Expedia identifies as highlights for this Hotel, there is no restaurant bar/lounge, tv satellite or cable service, very poor housekeeping and absolutely zero amenities. Our bed had strands of long black hair on the pillows from the previous guests, fresh blood spots on the linen and comforter, the floors were filthy, the bathroom toilet constantly malfunctioned, the shower sprayed everywhere but where needed and the bed was as hard as the tiled floor. The hair and blood spatters were brought to the attention of the hotel staff. They apologized and assured us they would clean up the room. All that was done was the linen was turned over and the comforter was swapped end for end. The main purpose of the sales team was to sell a time share offering. Once they learned we were not interested, we never got room house cleaning service again. No coffee available unless you get there before it is all consumed by the hotel staff. The closest restaurant is a 5 minute bus ride away to Bocca Tomaltan, Food there was very good but the inconvenience of not having any offering that this hotel is unacceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

It pains me to give this review.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: View is stunning.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location is exceptional!!!!
Background: I have been going to Puerto Vallarta for over 30 years. I raised my children there during spring breaks with many girlfriends and their children. Several times we stayed at La Jolla Mismaloya, which is now Barcelo, there in Mismaloya. We would put our kids on the bus and go down to Boca de Tomatlan to have lunch and play on the beach. We would go by the Mar Serano and it would catch my eye. So this most recent trip I had gone by myself for a couple of nights, then I met up with my husband who was coming down later as flight crew. I wanted to stay as close to Boca de Tomatlan as I could, and Mar Serano caught my eye. I read all of the reviews, good and bad. I had decided those that were not glowing were from the perspective of overly critical customers, and I would have a much more accepting eye and experience, as I have stayed all over Mexico. For anyone who says the Mar Serano is a "Mexican" experience, in my opinion, is completely wrong and that comment is an insult to Mexican hoteliers. Mind you, some of the reviews were quite old, and at the time of their reviews, it may have been a more accurate statement. BUT, I can say at this moment, there is something very wrong with this hotel. It has gone derelict, no balcony dining, but rather, piles of abandoned furniture that has collected dirt. The vibe is just down right creepy. I saw no other guests. Really, I was creeped out. I am out of writing space, but I could go on and on.
1 out of 5
by s from om

I hope I can get money back. I do not know why

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Worse ever I hope expidia never sponsors this dump and that I get my money back. They do not clean, there is rats, no beach front, bed bugs. This place is hell
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet place to stay

Posted Feb 10, 2013
good rate, quiet hotel not alot of guests. easy to find and friendly staff. endless pool needed more water, no coffee maker in the rooms. could use a thorough clean in the rooms. a bit musty and mildewy wouldn't recommend it for anyone with asthma. great view. if you're an independent traveller that doesn't need the amenities of a hotel and spend most of your time adventuring this hotel is for you. on the highway between Puerto Vallarta and Manzanillo so a great spot to start from if you're exploring the southern Jalisco coast. I would stay again.