Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Awesome for families who enjoy quiet and luxe!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Concierge, Rooms, VIP Beach Club, Food, staff friendliness, service, quiet and peaceful, pillow menu, spa services, AC, Washer/Dryer in room
Cons: Bed could be softer, I have back problems... Wine selection. Jacuzzi could be kids accessible if they are accompanied by adults.
Location: Swim with sea lions! It's incredible. Take a taxi and go downtown Puerto Vallarta for a day! Eat at Tintoque, the BEST of the BEST!
My wife and I traveled with our 3 child (6, 7, 9) for our spring break. From the moment we got there to the last minute of our trip, near everything was perfect. Check in, drinks in hands after 3 minutes there, took less than 15 minutes even if there was a HUGE group of retired golfers checking in that day. We were on the all-inclusive family emotion package. Our concierge was Jennifer and she is amazing. She really made sure we used all the advantages that the package had to offer! The food at the residence is simply amazing for an all-inclusive resort. We had TONS of fresh seafood at the pool, at the restaurants and on the beach! All served VERY quickly. Service is as amazing as the food thanks to people like my friend Omar and Luis but so many others who I unfortunately already forgot names. Each staff made sure to give you a very personal service. Our kids like the Sister resort buffet but the quality there is not anything near the Residence so we tried to eat as much as possible at residence. Talking about the sister resort. It’s definitely more crowded with families. We rented a surf board and learnt to surf! Hours of boogie boarding too! The kids had fun for an hour each day at the water slides. The shuttle to get there was always almost instantaneous to get on and we waited once for 15 minutes (not resort fault) but thanks to the parrot at the waiting area, it didn't look long at all, all other times we waited about 5 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for choosing Marival Residences Luxury Resort and giving us the oportunity to host you. It's a pleasure for us to read about you wonderful experience with us and that you enjoy our full y equipped residences and amazing service. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that everyone in our staff will be thrilled to read your review. Your comments ur bed have been duly noted and will be considered, and we would also like to recommend as our concierge for our soft pad to soften your bed. Our manager has received you comments on or house wine selection as well. And as for the jacuzzi, the use of hot tubs for kids is not recommended as it could be harmful to their health, and also, some of our guests enjoy a little space where they can enjoy peace and calm and a little separe area free of kids. To respect their desires, the entry of kids is not allowed, regardless of their behaviour. Thank you for sharing your experience and your recommendation. We are looking forward to hosting you again for another marvelous Family Emotion trip. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marival Residences

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Rooms, Beach, Food, staff, no reserving chairs at beach or pool
Cons: The wine is poor. For a high end resort, the wine was not to the callaber of the food, not even close.
Location: Beach, take a taxi to Puerto Vallarta and walk around, dinner, sunset. tennis, yoga
Our stay at Marival Residences was excellent! Huge room with deck and 2 bathrooms, view of ocean, friendly staff, excellent food and best of all, NO reserving chairs at beach or pool - except beach beds, for some reason people were still leaving their personal items early in the morning on beach beds and not showing up until hours later. The ocean is a short cart ride away but is so nice with waves in the water to Boogie Board. Lunch on the beach was so good, get the chips and guacamole and Shrimp Ceviche! No need to make reservations as you can eat in most restaurants and food is so good - do not eat at the other Marival resort, food is much better at Residence side. Some families but mostly an older crowd.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are excited to hear you had such a great time with us and that you enjoyed your time at our resort, our marvelous residences and gourmet cuisine. We work hard to offer a amazing relaxing experiences to all of our guests and your comments are very appreciated. We know the detail make for the perfect vacation and rest assure, Chef Alfredo has receive your comment on our wine selection and will investigate this issue to ensure we offer a quality vacations for all of our guests. Thank you for such a good recommendation and we hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Bad start with a wonderful ending

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff, food and service
Cons: The current beach club is simply not up to the standards of the rest of the resort. They are building a new one.
My wife and I thoroughly enjoy the Marival Residence. We have stayed there twice now. This latest trip when we arrived the staff informed us that our room choice is not available. To their credit they tried hard to provide what they thought was an even better room choice. When we expressed our displeasure two days later they eventually discovered a way to get us into the room we had booked. They also provided a few free "perks" as a way to acknowledge the inconvenience created by their mistake with their booking. The pressure to attend their "presentation" about purchasing a place at the resort was unnecessary. We complained and I think they will revise that soon. The staff are wonderful. So friendly and helpful. Carlos, the concierge, is outstanding. The food is great. Once they complete their new beach club this should be a five star resort. We will return for sure
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, Thank you for choosing us for your vacations. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your time with us, as well as our food. Our staff works hard to make every vacation memorable and its a pleasure for our staff to receive your appreciation for their service, specially for Carlos. We will review you room situation to ensure it doesn't repeat and truly thank you for your comprehension on the matter. Your comments on the presentation have been shared with the staff, as our sale process is meant to inform, but not to disturb our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of travelers and we will love to welcome you back for sure. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Fantastic vacation!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Food, amenities, staff, location, ability to get a different pillow to fit my personal preference, and safe/security
Cons: I would recommend getting the mattress topper for your bed upon arrival. The bed is very firm.
Location: Easy access to downtown PV, Vallarta Adventures, spa, and other nearby towns.
Our family stayed at the Marival Residences for a week. We had a fantastic time! The hotel staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and always available. Our room and the pool was very clean, and the wait staff quick and efficient. We really enjoyed the VIP beach area, where again, the staff was quick and accurate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you for choosing Marival Residences Luxury Resort for you vacation. It's a pleasure for us to read about you wonderful experience with us and happy to read you enjoyed our pillow menu. We appreciate your feedback. Rest assure, your comments regarding the beds have been duly noted. Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of travelers and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Va

Very nice romantic resort

Posted Jan 11, 2017
I love it so much I will be back next January 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of Expedia users. It is our goal to make all of our guests happy and it is pleasure to read you love staying with us. We can't wait to see you back in on 2018. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA, USA

Nice resort. Quiet and relaxing.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Staff, Bartenders, Noise level
Cons: Better food, more diverse food, Stop with the sales presentation at time of check-in.
Location: Everything was a short and cheap taxi ride away. No complaints.
Staff was great, Other guests were retired or young families. Not many kids or young adults which was perfect for me. Noise level was perfect. Only thing I did not like was the lack of food options because all the food from all the included restaurants started tasting the same after 4 days. Also they will try to pressure you into attending a 90 minute sales presentation at check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience. Our staff works hard to make all of our guests' vacations memorable so we appreciate you feedback. We are sorry to here you were upset about our check in process. We will take action to ensure we offer the quality service that distinguishes us to all of our guests. We invite you to share your opinions with our chef, so he can surprise you with off the menu dishes according to your tastes. We appreciate your insight and hope to host you in the future so you can enjoy the vacations you deserve. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great experience

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Service and food
Cons: Beds
Location: Vallarta Adventures was a great place to book excursions. We were not very far from Puerto Vallerta, a 20 minute cab ride, which was fun to do also.
Hotel was great, staff were exceptional and would do anything to help make your stay a great experience. The only part of thie I would change would be the beds, they are a bit hard but manageable for our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donna, Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of users. Your feedback is the foundation for ur improvement. We are sorry to hear that you were upset about our check in process. Our staff use this oportunity to show you about the hotel and amenities. They have been informed and rest assure, they will take actions to assure we offer all of our guest the high quality service tat distinguishes us. As for the food, we have 4 gourmet a la carte restaurants with different concepts and extensive menus. We are surprised to hear you didn't find many options to your like and we would like to suggest approaching our Executive Chef, Alfredo so he can surprise with off menu dishes according to your tastes. We appreciate your preference and hope to have the honor of hosting you again so you can enjoy the vacations you deserve. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top 5 rooms I've seen and I travel a lot!!!!

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I have never stayed in this part of Mexico before and we were pleasantly surprised. The resort was amazing and the short walk to the beach was perfect! Being able to use the other resort for beach access among other activities was a great perk. Having our own private pool in the one bedroom penthouse was perfect to avoid the noise of screaming non disciplined children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing with Expedia and us. We are excited to read your review and about your wonderful time with us. Your feedback is our motivation to continue offering memorable experiences to our guests and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed our VIP Beach Club at Marival Resort and the Top Floor pool that comes with the penthouse. We appreciate your preference and hope to have the honor of hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, margaritas, golf
Cons: the red wine
Location: massage by the beach
A nice quiet resort, no yelling children and not too many people. Very relaxing and Carlos (the concierge) is fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Marival Residences Luxury Resort for your vacations. We are glad to read you enjoy your vacations. We work on every detail to ensure everything is perfect for our guests and our staff will be thrilled to read you review. About the Red Wine, we assure you we will consider your opinion and our Executive Chef has receive you comment. We appreciate you review and hope to see you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only downfall - hard beds.

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Food, service and amenities are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We work hard to make all of our guest's vacations memorable and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your preference and we hope to have a chance to host you again. Warm regards, Daphne Fernandez General Manager