Ratings based on 912 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GRAND PRAIRIE TX.

ROOM #1617. OCEAN VIEW.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: FOOD WAS EXCELLENT, ROOM WAS CLEAN,THE STAFF POLITE.
Cons: INTERNET HAD SOME PROBLEMS.
Location: WE STAYED AT THE RESORT.
I VISITED MARIVAL 32 TIMES. I ENJOYED VERY VISIT. THE STAFF ALWAYS MADE SURE YOU FEEL WELCOMED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tony, We are so happy to read about your last visit. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed vacations with us so many times and for so many years. It's a real honor to have you as a repetitive guest. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your loyalty. Your opinion is very important for u and we appreciate your feedback. We will be reviewing the internet situation mentioned as we want every bit of your time with us to be perfect. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again and again. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, great staff, good food

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Facilities were kept up nicely.
Cons: More authentic Mexican food.
Location: We didn't go off the resort. There was plenty to occupy the kids on the resort itself.
This was our first all inclusive experience as well as our first experience in Mexico. My 10 yr old had a great time and they had lots of activities for kids. She enjoyed the experience of ordering her drinks and ice cream whenever she wanted to. They had special kids drinks for them to choose from. The activities staff were great and really helped to get people involved and have fun. The food was good, but not great. There was plenty of it, but I was hoping for some more authentic Mexican fare. My suggestion is to find the custom grill areas and build your own dish. (eg-fajitas, pasta, crepes...) Even though there were a lot of people there it never seemed really crowded. There was plenty of room to spread out. My wife and daughter have some severe food allergies and the restaurants were good about preparing special food for her. Concierge will write a letter in Spanish for you to take to all the restaurants. It's very helpful to speak Spanish if you want anything custom. We had someone in our party that spoke Spanish and could interpret what we wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank your for sharing your vacations at Marival Resort & Suites with thousands of travelers. We appreciate your feedback, as we try hard to make a memorable vacation for every guest and are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our entertainment program. We are sorry to read you didn't fully enjoyed our cuisine. Our food & beverage manager has receive you comments and will consider them seriously, as we want every bit of your vacation to be perfect. Thank you for choosing us and we would love to host you again soon. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great short getaway!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Clean. Friendly. Nice beach. A lot of food options. Good drinks.
This hotel was very nice. I don't understand anyone giving it less than 4 stars, but I guess people have different experiences. My experience at the Marival was exceptional. The people were great, the hotel was great, most all of the food was very good and if there was something you didn't like, there were a lot of other choices to pick from. No complaints. I would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sun Lover, We would like to thank you for choosing Marival Resort & Suites for your vacations. We are thrilled to read you had a wonderful time with us and that we met your expectations. Rest assure, our staff will receive your comments. Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of travers and we hope to have the chance of hosting you again soon. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel with pros and cons

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Cons: There was one hot tub in the whole resort at the FAMILY POOL which WAS FOR ADULTS ONLY. Does that even make sense?
Location: Lots of great restaurants within a 20 minute cheap cab ride.
We had a great stay but I wouldn't go back.... Pros: great location, nice beach area, nice pool areas, balconies, spacious rooms, mostly nice staff, beautiful sunsets and lovely lazy days. Cons: I will prefixes this with.....we are not foodies. We can usually find things we like anywhere but the FOOD at Marival is marginal at best. Every night is a different theme but basically every night was the same just moved around and often did not look fresh. Breakfast and lunch were okay but basic. We ended up going out for dinner the last few nights as we couldn't do another night of ham rolls and seafood stew.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kris, Thank you very much for taking your time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that you experienced some inconveniences during your recent stay with us. We are surprise to read about some of our remarks. First, we are sorry you were upset that kids are not allowed in the Jacuzzi. The main reason for this, is to keep it clean. Also, Jacuzzis are not recommended for kids, as it can affect their metabolism and growth. Safety and health are always a priority. We are also surprised to read you did not enjoy our food. Our gourmet cuisine has always been praised upon by our guests, specially our theme night at the buffet and, foremost, our specialty restaurants. Our Food and Beverage Manager has received your comments and will investigate in this subject. If you allow, we would like to recommend our sister resort, Marival Residences, which offers a luxury experience with personalized service, gourmet a la carte dinning with no reservations and a relaxing quiet ambiance. Also, enjoy full access to Marival Resort & Suites. We are sure Marival Residences will meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth, NJ

Terrific pools, people and service.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The people that run it are professionals. They made the experience wonderful.
Cons: Definitely improve dinner reservation policy.
Very relaxing, comfortable, a little dated but kept up. The wait staff is excellent. We went for rest and relaxation and got all of that and more. After first day of battling for dinner reservations and finally getting them, everything ran smoothly. Luigi at Amalfi is fun to speak with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dennis, Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We are pleased to read that your fully enjoyed your time with us again. We assure you, your comments regarding the restaurants reservations will be taken seriously and action will be taken to ensure we offer a quality service is offered to every guest. We appreciate your preference and hope to see you again soon again. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family Friendly

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Location: The city tour is long. Go on your own to the downtown or Bucerias for dining on the water.
Great kids pool with 2 slides. My 6 year old was very entertained. The buffet was not the best, but some of the restaurants requiring reservations were much better food. There are other options for members only, so the amount of restaurants actually available is less than what it seems, at least during the day time. My only complaint about the room was the bathroom. The shower and toilet each had a partially frosted door with no lock that opened into the main bathroom area. This area was not enclosed either. I would prefer a bit more privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing us for your vacation. We are glad to read you had a great time with us. We try hard to offer all of our guests a quality vacation and lots of options for kids and adults to enjoy. We appreciate your feedback and will consider you comments very seriously. Our Food & Beverage Manager has received you comments regarding the quality of the buffet and day food options. We also take this chance to suggest considering our Family Emotion Program, than includes a 2 bedroom suite so that the whole family can be together but enjoy their privacy at the same time. it also includes personalized inclusions and a special concierge. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great for families!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Activities - bike tour, mini golf
Cons: We could not get a reservation at any of the restaurants. All inclusive did not prove to be a good value for us.
Location: Dolphin Adventures
Lots of activities for kids and adults. Our 5 year old had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for writing about your experience with thousands of traveler and for choosing Marival Resort & Suites for your vacations.We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your feedback and would like to provide you with a little tip: book you restaurant reservations on our webpage up to 1 week before arrival. This way you can enjoy your vacations fully and ensure your specialty dinners. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach, clean hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Excellent beach for boggie boarding! A few days were red flagged so we bought boards to use whenever we wanted. Mexican and Italian restaurants for awesome, pre-book before you go on the website. Resort was clean and staff was very friendly. Recommend it and would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your great review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We did had a red flag a few days ago, this comes from the relevant authorities to ensure a safe vacations for all of our tourists. Pre booking the specialty restaurants is indeed a great tip and easy to do through a web page! Thank you for your preference and we would love to welcome you back. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Beautiful beach, fantastic staff, great food!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great food, great drinks, beautiful grounds/pool/beach, lots to do (and lots of great spots to do nothing too!).
Cons: Would be nice if it was easier to get reservations at the four reservations-only restaurants. They fill up too fast.
Location: Close to Paradise Village marina for whale watching, other expeditions (loved snorkelling in the Marietas). Close to Puerto Vallarta for day in town.
Just back from a return visit to Marival (were there in 2015 too). Loved it! The hotel and grounds are absolutely lovely. The food is wonderful - four great reservations-only restaurants plus a buffet (my teenager's favourite) and a pizza place/snack bar. Drinks are high quality (I recommend their caipirinhas!). But the best thing about staying at Marival is the staff. Without exception, everyone is friendly and helpful. We commented several times on the big smiles! The animation team is high-energy and so much fun! We did a few fitness classes, the bicycle tour and went to every show (fantastic quality!). The resort is on a beautiful beach which is perfect for long walks. Once a week there is a Mexican Fiesta night with a mariachi band and dancers plus an amazing feast. There is a teens clubroom with games (e.g., pool, air hockey, foosball, video games, x-box), always staffed by a helpful animation team member (our three-generation pool games became a nightly ritual). Our holiday was perfect and we expect that we'll return to the Marival again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley, Thank you for choosing Marival Resort & Suites for your vacations. We work hard to make our guests happy and you comment are very appreciated. We are sorry you had inconveniences with the specialty restaurant reservation. We will review our process. We would also like to give you a tip: you can book your restaurants through our website up to 1 week before your arrival. Thank you for your nice comments and your preference. We love to welcome you back again. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
great satisfied happy relax ...............,,,,,,,,,....................... ....................................................contented. recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for you kind comments. It is our gola to create memorable experiences for our guests and it's a pleasure to read your recommendations. Thank you for your preference and we hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,