Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Great resort next to beach. Great activities

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Great stay. Highly recommend! Will def come back! I definitely enjoyed all the food and the rooms were gorgeous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful hotel next on the beach. Spacious beach

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: I liked the service and the environment.
Cons: The buffet could be a bit improved, and the luggage situation and maybe a valet service for cars.
Location: I just hung out in the resort did not need to go outside of the resort.
I had a great experience the personel was friendly and helped out in any way possible even on short notice. Enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. Thanks for such a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC


Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Food, beachfront, staff
Cons: Better plumbing and less aggressive sales pitch
Location: Gray Lines offer a fantastic day tour of Puerta Vallarta which includes the Church of Guadalupe, the boardwalk, tequila tasting and lunch.
I'll start by saying the food, grounds, beachfront and staff are all amazing. I'll finish by saying our room had no hot water and we were approached TOO MANY times about paying for a membership to the location. I finally told one of the staff members that approached us, "When you get hot water in the rooms, we will buy a membership."
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was OK

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We were a group of eight, four adults and four children. Overall the vacation wasn't to bad. The check in process itself was easy. As soon as we were checked in the hotel staff sat down to explain where everything was. The staff then started in on their sales pitch. They wanted 90 minutes the next morning to discuss buying a timeshare. We told them no over and over. So they brought in another man to push the sale harder. After traveling all day, this did not sit well with us. The rooms were ok, they were just small and there wasn't much privacy. We had to ask for sheets for the pullout couch several times. The beach itself was very nice. We sat down on some nice comfortable chairs on the beach. We were told we couldn't sit there because we were not platinum members. There was a small section of just regular chairs that we were told to sit in. We left and sat by the pool. The pool was great. The two men in our group enjoyed playing volleyball and water polo. My husband lost his wrist band two days before we were to leave and the hotel wanted $17 to replace it. We like to tip housekeeping. One day I came to the room, the housekeepers had not been in our room, however, the money was gone. After talking to the front desk it appears the person replenishing the fridge was taking the money. The kids had a great time. They enjoyed the kids club, pool, water slide, & shows. The Italian restaurant was excellent and we had a fabulous waiter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent Services.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The services.
Cons: The variety of the buffet. The same food every day it gets boring.
Location: The location is great.
We had a great time at Marival. We are definitely going back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from guadalajara

excelentes instalaciones, muy rica comida,

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: todo pero la comida es riquisima
Cons: Solo un punto que me hizo sentir menos. aunque mi reservacion era todo incluido, y no lo necesite, habia unas areas dentro del hotel a las que no se
Location: excelente hotel. no tuvimos actividades externas.
llegamos por expedia, no se necesito ningun documento para el check in solo identificarnos, la habitacion excelente de acuerdo a lo reservado, tenia mis dudas sobre las habitaciones, pero estan conpletamente renovadas y funcionales, las instalaciones como albercas y restaurantes excelentes, la playa muy limpia, el personal muy amable y la comida deliciosa y variada. he estado varias ocasiones es este hotel y me da gusto ver como conservan e incluso han aumentado su calidad. excelente para la familia.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, CA

Great all inclusive hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay at Marival. Everyone that worked there was really nice. I enjoyed talking to those that work there. The buffet restaurant is better than i expected. The food that was served outside seemed a lot more appealing than the indoor seating. Previous reviewed about not being able to make reservations at restaurants, but I had a totally different experience. Very easy. I had my birthday dinner at the Mediterranean restaurant, and our server was kind and helpful. I was even served a beautiful cheesecake! Yes they will try to sell you with a time share. At first I was uninterested, but they offered some amazing gifts so I agreed. The person with time share presentation was also kind and showed us the amazing rooms that are available to "club members", unfortunately we were unable to purchase at the moment. Transportation was easy, all you do is ask for a taxi and they arrive immediately. For a small price they can take you to the beautiful places in Puerto Vallarta. But being in the hotel alone is great alone. They have great entertainment, gym, classes. Definitely plenty to do on our stay here. Great all inclusive, all drinks included! Plenty of alcoholic drinks to choose from. Great hotel, and I would really love to come back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Great hotel, tons of activities, very kid friendly

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Our family had a great time there this week and the kids had a blast getting all the smoothies and ice cream their hearts desired. The nightly entertainment was so fun. The hotel was clean and the location was proximate to so many places. I recommend this hotel to people looking for a Puerto Vallarta hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome Experience

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful the service was amazing the food was delicious and to top it off when you think of all inclusive you would thing ugly food but the presentation was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spokane, WA

No brainer

Posted Aug 2, 2016
I'm an avid Vallarta visitor and this resort is by far the best! The rooms are beautiful, food is good (not excellent but good enough), and the amenities are fabulous. My 3 kids and I didn't want to leave and will return. The only negative: location. That's just because I prefer Puerto Vallarta and this resort is in Nuevo Vallarta--you really can't step out your door to the boardwalk which I like. However, apart from that, this is THE BEST!!