Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,Alberta

Great location.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Location: Short walk to Marina Vallaarta.Take local bus to downtown approx 50 cents.
Nice hotel but could do with some updating.Short walk to Marina Vallarta.Lots of daytime entertainment shooting,archery,water volleyball etc.Evening shows also very good.Great location and friendly staff.Food was OK but a bit monnotinous after eight days.Worth trying one of the A la carte restraunts which you have to book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Brian: Thank you so much for let us know your review about your last stay at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. We are going to make some changes to provide our guests a better experience. Warm Regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It works

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Staff is great... food decent. Beds old and hotel a bit worn down. Great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you so much for share with us your review about your last visit at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. This kind of comments let us know our guests experience, please feel free to visit us any time soon we more than gladly will serve you. Warm Regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calfary, Canada

Nice hotel on the ocean

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Nice hotel for families with young children. Staff was overall very friendly and eager to please. Older hotel but staff does an excellent job keeping it clean. Food is good. Very popular with people vacationing from other parts of Mexico. Only criticism was front desk on several occasions were not very helpful with information (ex. Where is the closest shopping, how far is downtown...information they should know yet gave me incorrect answers). Thankfully the conceige and vendors on the beach were kind enough to help steer me in the direction I was hoping for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Barb, Thank you for share with us your revirew about your last stay at Meliá Pueto Vallarta. It's an honor to be part of your vacation time here at Mexico, I apologize if you have a hard time at the front desk I personally will check with the front desk manager this matter. I hope to see you soon here at your beach house. Warm Regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but becoming a bit run down.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The hotel could use upgrading. The staff was great. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for share with us your review about your last stay at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. I am glad to let you know that we are working on this improvements in order to make your guests experiences better. I hope to see you soon at this your home away from home. Sincerely. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great beach

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The beach and location.
Cons: The food in the specialty restaurants needs to be served hot. Replace tubs with showers. Place outlet strip at desk.
Location: The location is great, the marina has many great restaurants, massage parlors, fishing charters and a grocery store a short walk towards the airport.
Had a great time, all though the food wasn't great, managed to gain 6 lbs. in 14 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Rick, Thank you for share with us your review about your last stay at Meliá Puerto Vallarta, for us is an honor to have you here. We are going to make notes to all the comments on this review to impruve our services. We hope to see you soon at the resort. Warm Regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Pleasant vacation hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Hotel was good. Enjoyed the turtles and iguanas near the Koi pond. Lots of activities, nightly shows. Across the street from the Marina (restaurants, amenities). Great place to sit by the pool or ocean and decompress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Tracie, Thank you so much for share with us your review about your last stay at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. The satisfaction of our customers is a priority for each of our collaborators, I appreciate your positive comments about our services and I will share with the staff. Warm Regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff and facilities were exceptional.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Location was great.
Staff and facilities were great. The food and drink were just average. I know it's hard to make 3 buffets a day great but they tried. Drinks were watered down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Timothy, Thank you so much for let us know your review based on your last stay at the resort. The main reason of all the staff is make happy stays for all the guests, I apologize if we do not meet your bar expectations this I will check with our food and bevarage manager this in order to impruve the service. In name of Meliá Puerto Vallarta I wish see you again at the property and show you the changes. Kind regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Everything looks old and worn out. Would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you for share with us your review about your last stay at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. I apologize for not meet your expectations about the services that we offer to our guests. I hope to have an other opportunity to show you the changes that we are making to impruve the services. Warm Regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york , NY

I did not like anything

Posted Sep 10, 2016
They did not fumigate and poor customer service , they need air condition in the lobby area
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear tannia, Thank you for let us know you review about your last stay at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. Our guests opinions are one of the most important things because this let us impruve our services. We have a montly fumigate program for the room and common areas. The customer service is provide by the public relations office open 9:00 am - 21:00 pm daily. Please feel free to contact me for futures stays at: melia.puerto.vallarta@melia.com. Warm regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

I had a great experience!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: what I love is all the food and open bar included, I really love this, I enjoyed the shows, and the tour activities were awesome.
Cons: everything was really cool, but I think It could help to have changing machine from dollars to pesos.
Location: I enjoyed walking to the Marina...great
Me and my family had a great experience at this resort I loved the pool and the beach the service was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Meliá Puerto Vallarta., Hotel Management
Dear Betty, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your review about your last stay with us at Meliá Puerto Vallarta. Of us one of the most important thing is know our guest opinions. We are taking the comments about the ATM that is inside of the property. This type of reviews help us to impruve all the services that we offer to our guests. Please for future stays feel free to contact me at the following email address: melia.puerto.vallarta@melia.com. Warm regards. Ricardo Verdayes. General Manager.