Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

Buen Hotel frente a la Playa

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: El Beach Club aun que sea de paga adicional
Cons: Creo que todo me gusto mucho
Me gusto las instalaciones, me gusto el servicio. Esta frente a una playa limpia y de gran tamaño. Le falta un poco a la alberca, muy sencilla. La comida en general buena. Todo el Hotel muy bien, para los que nos gustan no tan grandes. Solo el tamaño de los cuartos algo pequeños y ninguno tiene terraza.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cuernavaca, Morelos

Gran hotel, gran estancia

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Su atención de los empleados
Cons: El acuerdo con el servicio de transporte de gray, creo asi se llama la línea. Pague en línea, me hicieron el cargo a mi tarjeta, no dieron el servicio
Location: El lugar tiene un clima excelente, se pueden visitar lugares de interes y para todo público hay actividades, de aventura o de disfrute de la naturalez
Nos pareció un gran hotel y además de las comodidades esperadas en los cuartos, nos gustó el servicio de buffet de las comidas, que siempre fue de calidad. El personal del hotel se mostró siempre muy amable y con muy buena disposición a servir, las albercas son muy buenas porque hay una solo para adultos eso nos permitió disfrutar sin molestias. Un aspecto importante es su ubicación en una playa de arena suave y vista impresionante, además no tuvimos la molestia de los vendedores ambulantes dentro del hotel. Sus shows en las noches muy bien logrados, con excelente elenco y con mariachis profesionales que hicieron más agradable nuestra estancia. Felicidades están haciendo un gran trabajo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aguascalientes, Mexico

Hotel muy agradable a la orilla de la playa.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Especialmente su comida, sus instalaciones y el personal....
Cons: Sin comentarios
Location: Sin comentarios
Pasamos días muy agradables todo incluido. La comida variada y excelente, el servicio del personal muy destacado. El hotel cuenta con una alberca para adultos que permite descansar mejor a las parejas que no llevan niños. Muy recomendable para volver a visitar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Estimado Joel, Gracias por darnos una retroalimentación de su estancia en Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta y recomendar nuestro hotel a otros viajeros. Nuestro compromiso es la satisfacción de nuestros huéspedes y es muy grato para mi haber logrado que su estancia fuese memorable y placentera. Agradezco sus comentarios positivos, compartiré cada uno de sus cumplidos con todo nuestro personal y esperamos verlo pronto de vuelta. Cuídate, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco Gerente general
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best stay for our 10 year anniversary!

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: You see the same employees working from morning to night so they take their time to get to know you which was very welcoming!
Cons: Very disappointed we weren't able to eat at "Los Olivos" because they require you to wear long pants and shirts with sleeves so FYI!!!
Location: We recommend the Puerto Vallarta 360 tour! ARTURO was the best tour guide ever! You get to enjoy the most breath taking views!!!
First of all, when you arrive at the airport DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT talk to anyone until you get outside. We wasted almost an hour talking to someone who we thought was going to help us get onto the shuttle that we paid for with this deal but all they do is try to sell you timeshares and they won't stop talking to you until you get something from them -_- The resort greeted us with drinks and got us checked into our room right away! We asked to upgrade to an ocean view room but unfortunately there were none available so instead Mario offered us a timeshare room for the same price which was even better!!! I'm a little sad that the water activities were only during certain times so we weren't able to do them when we wanted to. Eduardo was a great bartender, he served us drinks everyday and knew what we wanted! We thought the beach would've been better, it seemed a little dirty.. The mall across the street was a very short walk but almost all the stores on the top floor were empty so you're better off bargaining in downtown. Their check out time is at noon and our flight wasn't until 4PM but they offered to keep our luggages and then gave us a hospitality room to change in so that we can still swim, eat, and just hang out at the resort until our shuttle came! And on top of that, they give you snacks for the ride! It was the best little getaway for our 10 year anniversary!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your very great and detailed review. I was a pleasure to have the opportunity to host you and your husband for your 10th Anniversary. It is wonderful to see what a memorable and exciting holiday you from beginning to end. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure your your next stay with us you will have a delicious dinner at the Olivos restaurant. Thank you again for your great review, I am looking forward to your next arrival. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great value on the beach

Posted May 31, 2016
We booked this resort for a few days before joining a group at another resort down the road. On leaving PV airport, we exited and went around the left of the airport building. There is an orange pedestrian bridge that takes you to the bus stop and local taxi area. Our taxi ride was about 15-20min and about 180 peso. Check in was fast and efficient. Our room was one of a few that had a balcony. There was a view of the beach but most of the view was the concrete area between our resort and Hard Rock (next door). This did have its benefits: - an area to dry/hang wet clothing - access to the Hard Rock wifi signal (when sitting on the balcony; Occidental wifi only available in the lobby and lounge bar) The gift shop is very reasonably priced. One piece of our luggage was delayed, and we needed to purchase a few essentials (under US $100). Since our stay was short, we went on a cancellation list and managed to get into the Mexican restaurant on our second night. The food was great (especially the flank steak). The main buffet ("Le Buffet") was as expected. We liked the omelette bar at breakfast and the pasta bar at lunch/supper. Note the buffet is only open at set times (not all day). The taco bar (to the left of the main pool), was a bit disappointing in selection and freshness. However, we did stop in about 30-45min before it closed, so there may have been fresher items earlier. We only visited the taco bar once. The adult pool was quiet. Both pools are heated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, Thank you for your excellent review. I am very pleased to see such great compliments of our team. Our priority is always your satisfaction and relaxation during your stay. I hope to have the honor to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you again for your great review. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buena Park, Calif.

Friendly staff and helpful

Posted May 15, 2016
Cons: Wi Fi Internet access behind lobby area could be nice.... Create a better system for people to be able to eat at the major restaurants (2 only) with
Location: Pretty good location to move around as far access to the
We enjoyed a good 90 % of the time, the other 10 % ? Nothing is 100 % guaranteed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Victor, Thank you for your excellent review. I am very pleased to see that you had an great recent stay with us. I appreciate greatly your feedback in regards to the areas we can approve upon, we will be sure to make a positive difference before your next return. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK if you don't expect much.

Posted May 12, 2016
OK hotel. Not the best. Or what I expected. Room was ok. Mini bar was never restocked.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I woudl like to thank you for your feedback and we will be sure to improve our services in the rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Rodolfo Pacheco Gerente General / General Manager Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Security personal
Location: Shopping, restaurants and close to Puerto Vallarta and Bucerias.
Because I am a member of Expedia rewards I was giving a complimentary dinner at the fine dining restaurant for member of the hotel only. It was a nice experience and RICARDO , MOISES and OMAR made it even better. Good food and premium drinks were served at the restaurant with out any extra cost. We had a beautiful room with a great view and location. I would recommend to every body to become an Expedia member for the great benefits.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Henry K, Thank you for your great review. I am very pleased that you had such a relaxing and memorable stay. I have shared your compliments with our team memebers Ricardo, Moises, and Omar; they send many thanks in return. I hope we have the honor to welcome you back again in the very near future. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

pleasant hotel great location.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: location was great , hotel staff was very accomodating and hotel was kept clean.
Cons: no limitations on how many times you can eat at a restaurant .
Location: i felt very safe off the grounds of the hotel and there was a mini mall across the street .
very friendly atmosphere , it was our second trip to PV and first time at this hotel and I was impressed over all , many activities at the pool side and beach , great hotel if you are traveling with children or as a couple and i loved the interaction with the evening entertainment team . food was very good 3 restaurants and one buffet and one snack bar , very good selection at buffet .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for your great review. It is wonderful to see that you had such a wonderful and memorable stay. Thank you also for your feedback as we are always looking for new ways to improve our services. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the very near future. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for your excellent review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you again for your excellent review. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager