Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna B.C. Canada

Great Staff

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, close to shopping and very clean. I also really liked being close to the Ocean.
Cons: there was no deck on our room even though we stayed 10 days, we were only allowed to eat once at each of the two restaurants no bath tub
Location: the little shopping center was nice. the free bus ride on the old character bus with no windows was very fun.
Beautiful sandy beach, although the waves were usually high and full of sand. The pools were all very nice and always clean. The resort itself was always clean and the staff were very friendly and very hard workers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and beach.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
The staff and service were excellent. The food was good, but we only did the main dinning room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice holiday

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Food, size, friendliness.
Cons: Balcony. Swim up bar. Time share people tried for 3 days to get us to a meeting, even at the beach.
Location: Proximity was great to: mall, hospital, Buccerious, Walmart, tours, airport and especially the beach!
We had a great time at the resort end of Jan. Wonderful staff. Especially at the buffet...Erik ( we called him Eddie by mistake all week) was so attentive. Amazing service. Anticipated our needs. Also our hostess Gabriella. Greated us with her wonderful smile and by name every time we saw her, even out of the restaurant. Food was great. Enjoyed the different themed menues. Beach was great with lots of lounge chairs and a life guard. Adult pool had upgraded foam lounge chairs which was very comfy. Smaller resort was nice, clean and upgrades were ongoing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great vacation resort right on a beautiful beach

Posted Feb 7, 2016
The spacious lobby welcomes you to the poolside oasis next to the ocean. All rooms have a good view. There are plenty of lounge chairs by the pools and on the beach. The buffet provides a very good variety of foods and is changed daily so there are always new dishes to try. The wait staff in the restaurant is eager to help however, a little tip money gets you even better service and a nice welcome for the next meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort close to the beach

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Great experience, clean room, air conditioned, clean resort, friendly staff, great food options, close to the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to see that you were able to enjoy everything in the resort, and I will be sure to share this with the team today. Thank you again for your great review, we will be waiting for your return in the near future. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to see that you were able to enjoy everything in the resort, and I will be sure to share this with the team today. Thank you again for your great review, we will be waiting for your return in the near future. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holland, Mi

Relaxing

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Pool, beach, staff, food, shower, room (a bit musty at first but after three days that was gone)
Cons: Air conditioning was difficult to control, way to cold, so we turned it off and opened the windows which got rid of the musty smell.
Location: Location on the beach is great! Navarta Adventures is a short walk and free taxi boat ride away - just south of the shopping area - lots of tours.
Barceló Hotels has purchased the Occidental Group Hotels and there continue to be upgrades. While there improvements were being made to the buffet area, resurfacing of walkways, painting and floor polishing in rooms. The beach is great for walking and swimming, goes for miles. Pools are great, the activity team always has something going on either at the main pool or the beach. I'd recommend the bike tours, free and fun! I'd say the food was above expectations and the specialty restaurants are worth the effort to make reservations. Easy to get to town on the buses - from the shopping center near the hotel, take the Directo bus to Plaza Glorias (15 pesos) and the Centro blue bus (7.5 pesos) into town, going back take the WalMart blue bus (7.5p) from town outside the Montgomery Ward store to WalMart and the Rui bus back to the Occidental Grand. The hotel staff was very accommodating and we enjoyed our 10 days on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room close to the adult pool!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Great food. Clean and new.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Lovely location on the beach. Shopping nearby. Great place!
We will be back! The food was amazing. Our room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review. I am very pleased to see that your holiday was a very memorable one. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful experience. Sincerely, Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver Co

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Beach was really nice. Small resort which we like. Nightly entertainment could be improved. Love to see them put a swim up bar in adult pool to replace hot tub which they never had heated in the 10 days we were there. All in all l would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Jan H, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Rodolfo Pacheco Gerente General / General Manager Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Nice hotel on the smaller size

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Great hotel if your looking for a smaller scale. Great location even though we didn't have enough time for too much exploring...Beautiful beach, great staff, the in room bathrooms were small and no balconies. Overall no real big complaints...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Rodolfo Pacheco Gerente General / General Manager Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Súper padre hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Todo muy bien, la atención las instalaciones, lo único q observe q pueden mejorar es la limpieza de las habitaciones fue muy mala
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Sr. Rodolfo Pacheco, Hotel Management
Estimado Huésped, Muchas Gracias por su comentario positivo acerca de nuestro hotel! Nos alegra que Ud. haya disfrutado su estancia con nosotros y esperamos poder pronto verlo de vuelta. Atentamente, Rodolfo Pacheco Gerente General / General Manager Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta