Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Jun 10, 2017
This resort was by far the best in everything. The staff were very attentive and caring. Erik in the morning and Arturo in the evening in the buffet area. They learned our names and it was a party of 9. Our last day Arturo gave us a key chain as a thank you which was such a great jester on his behalf. Thank you for everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Also, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany

Great resort at a great price

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The food & service was excellent. The open air lobby with the multiple fountains was great. The extras like kayaking were great as well.
Cons: They need to hand out a map. It was a bit confusing where everything was. Room was a bit noisy at night also since we were close to lobby.
Location: We loved the beach. Nuevo seemed a bit far from the city, but still plenty of excursions to take. Even a shopping mall a block or so away was nice.
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta is a great resort. The food, the buffets and all the restaurants were excellent. The staff was always helpful and had great service. The pool was nice, not too overcrowded was so relaxing & staff is always around to offer drinks. The all inclusive is the only way to go!! On our stay we tried Kayaking, paddle boarding which was fun & included in the price. It was just lovely to walk on the beach every night at sunset. Occidental wasn't the fanciest place, but it was very nice place to relax, have fun and enjoy!! I will be back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Taryn, We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental hotel with us and the rest of the travel community. Thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Good location and good food. Show it is great. We like to come back🏖
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Drunks

Posted May 22, 2017
Great service from Araceli in the buffet. Everyone in the Mexican dinner were great! We requested 1 king size bed and 2 double beds which we were not given. Some of the guests were drunk fighting and being mistreated by each other. Some of the servers were rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brenda, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying with us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive criticism, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from clovis cA

Hotel access to all the facilities

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The buffet restaurant excellent variety of food to select.
Cons: Remove the mandatory reservations for the three restaurants at the hotel.
Location: Satisfactory although some slight problems occurred
Satisfactory, not exactly happy with certain things that occurred.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience with us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Our Adventure

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Beach access, very good staff (attentive, and friendly), beautiful architecture, great food.
Cons: SOFTER BEDS, play more US music, more variety of music, jazz, blues etc
Location: The adventures you can book has some excursions just be careful to be specific in what you want. We did a snorkel outing with a guy at the hotel.
We booked this through Expedia because we were looking for an all-inclusive place, and we found this one. Cost overall was very comparable if not better than most. The area of the hotel is the Nueva Vallarta area, meaning it is in the newer part of town on the north end. Very private. We went for the deluxe ocean view and found it to be very nice. No to the upgrades because we spent all of our time out and about. The beach was AMAZING, the pool and facilities were great. The only down side to this place was that the bed was very firm, and do yourself a favor, bring your own pillow. The food was great, but if you want to eat in one of the featured restaurants, book them early. The food in the main dining area was better than any you will find out in town and has a lot of variety. Some of the reviews complained about the chairs being reserved by people and then not using them, but you should pick your place (beach or pool) early and leave your towel on it. Then you can venture around or switch between pool and beach. My only complaint is that you should be prepared for the unending mariachi music. One night the hotel hosted a wedding and it went on until after midnight, and the PA system has one level-go til it distorts. We would come back for sure though, we loved the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dr. & the Mrs, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mixed bag but mostly +

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Staff are outstanding and friendly
Cons: Everything but the staff
Location: 12 mins from the airport ($8 each way) or $1 for public bus if you so wish :-)
Hotel classic Spanish ownership and design very pretty and tasteful. Room in the royal level is small but clean – fridge stocked with a few beers and water and cable tv. Hallway to the rooms is like a prison block with 5 foot hallways dark and rather creepy. First night at the hotel awoken at 1am with drunken fight breaking out in hallway outside our bedroom. Adults consumed too much booze and were berating and screaming at each other culminating in male beating the female against the wall of the hallway using her head like a watermelon against the hallway wall. After calling the front desk who sent security to the scene and they simply stood trying to calm down the male guest who continued abusing his female companion and slapping her I called the desk again and asked they send the police not once but twice – they did not so through 2 am we listened to the drama in the hallway…not a grand experience. I talked to the concierge in the am who did not have anything to add other than it happens. Upgrade to royal level – worth it if you understand the level of services and want a pool with limited children although it seemed that the pool was also open to other guests that simply wanted to move from the party pool with constant boom boom music and screaming. Royal restaurant with upgraded liquor well worth it. Food in all locations classic buffet style eating so set your expectations. Separate restaurants offering buffet style food and delivering from menu on to your plate so not
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Colin and Sandi, Thank you for your review and feedback. Just as I mentioned through your review from TripAdvisor, we regret that your stay with us was affected by this. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Bruno at the front desk was extremely helpful. The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of activities for the whole family.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear YJ, Thank you for the wonderful review and for pointing out who helpful Bruno was. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Beautiful hotel next to the beach.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The staff is very professional and helpful. We where not very happy with the buffet taste, but very happily impressed with the dinner at the three restaurants. Tha service and food was amazing for those we did enjoyed every dinner in our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback about your recent stay with us. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: beautiful grounds. little waterfalls around the hotel. lovely hotel bar friendly helpful staff
Cons: food a little maybe
very enjoyable. beautiful location. excellent beach lovely grounds
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. We hope you visit us again soon.