Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Drunks

Posted May 22, 2017
Great service from Araceli in the buffet. Everyone in the Mexican dinner were great! We requested 1 king size bed and 2 double beds which we were not given. Some of the guests were drunk fighting and being mistreated by each other. Some of the servers were rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Brenda, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying with us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive criticism, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from clovis cA

Hotel access to all the facilities

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The buffet restaurant excellent variety of food to select.
Cons: Remove the mandatory reservations for the three restaurants at the hotel.
Location: Satisfactory although some slight problems occurred
Satisfactory, not exactly happy with certain things that occurred.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience with us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Our Adventure

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Beach access, very good staff (attentive, and friendly), beautiful architecture, great food.
Cons: SOFTER BEDS, play more US music, more variety of music, jazz, blues etc
Location: The adventures you can book has some excursions just be careful to be specific in what you want. We did a snorkel outing with a guy at the hotel.
We booked this through Expedia because we were looking for an all-inclusive place, and we found this one. Cost overall was very comparable if not better than most. The area of the hotel is the Nueva Vallarta area, meaning it is in the newer part of town on the north end. Very private. We went for the deluxe ocean view and found it to be very nice. No to the upgrades because we spent all of our time out and about. The beach was AMAZING, the pool and facilities were great. The only down side to this place was that the bed was very firm, and do yourself a favor, bring your own pillow. The food was great, but if you want to eat in one of the featured restaurants, book them early. The food in the main dining area was better than any you will find out in town and has a lot of variety. Some of the reviews complained about the chairs being reserved by people and then not using them, but you should pick your place (beach or pool) early and leave your towel on it. Then you can venture around or switch between pool and beach. My only complaint is that you should be prepared for the unending mariachi music. One night the hotel hosted a wedding and it went on until after midnight, and the PA system has one level-go til it distorts. We would come back for sure though, we loved the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dr. & the Mrs, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mixed bag but mostly +

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Staff are outstanding and friendly
Cons: Everything but the staff
Location: 12 mins from the airport ($8 each way) or $1 for public bus if you so wish :-)
Hotel classic Spanish ownership and design very pretty and tasteful. Room in the royal level is small but clean – fridge stocked with a few beers and water and cable tv. Hallway to the rooms is like a prison block with 5 foot hallways dark and rather creepy. First night at the hotel awoken at 1am with drunken fight breaking out in hallway outside our bedroom. Adults consumed too much booze and were berating and screaming at each other culminating in male beating the female against the wall of the hallway using her head like a watermelon against the hallway wall. After calling the front desk who sent security to the scene and they simply stood trying to calm down the male guest who continued abusing his female companion and slapping her I called the desk again and asked they send the police not once but twice – they did not so through 2 am we listened to the drama in the hallway…not a grand experience. I talked to the concierge in the am who did not have anything to add other than it happens. Upgrade to royal level – worth it if you understand the level of services and want a pool with limited children although it seemed that the pool was also open to other guests that simply wanted to move from the party pool with constant boom boom music and screaming. Royal restaurant with upgraded liquor well worth it. Food in all locations classic buffet style eating so set your expectations. Separate restaurants offering buffet style food and delivering from menu on to your plate so not
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Colin and Sandi, Thank you for your review and feedback. Just as I mentioned through your review from TripAdvisor, we regret that your stay with us was affected by this. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Bruno at the front desk was extremely helpful. The hotel is in a great location and has plenty of activities for the whole family.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear YJ, Thank you for the wonderful review and for pointing out who helpful Bruno was. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Beautiful hotel next to the beach.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The staff is very professional and helpful. We where not very happy with the buffet taste, but very happily impressed with the dinner at the three restaurants. Tha service and food was amazing for those we did enjoyed every dinner in our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback about your recent stay with us. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: beautiful grounds. little waterfalls around the hotel. lovely hotel bar friendly helpful staff
Cons: food a little maybe
very enjoyable. beautiful location. excellent beach lovely grounds
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. We hope you visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small resort but very nice

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Location: There is a mall right across the street but we always took a taxi to where we wanted to be.
We found our stay very relaxing. It is not a party resort if that's what you are looking for. It had a lot of families but they were always at the pool and not down by the beach. There was never any problems finding a chair down on the beach which was nice. The spa was amazing and we had massages twice while we were there!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are very happy you found your stay with us to be very relaxing. We hope you get to visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

EXCELLENT FAMILY RESORT

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: clean, wonderfull staff, accommodation excellent
Cons: The buffet needs improvement
Location: near airport, casino close by, mall within walking distance
excellent staff, great dining restaurants - Close to down town and airport services Buffet could be improved -
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience with us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

great get away

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was great, The grounds are well maintained and the beach goes for miles
Location: On the beach and close to the marina, A couple stores very close by if needed Great bike riding trail that goes a long way
The hotel is smaller than most resorts in the area but was still a full service resort that has everything we wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Rodolfo Pacheco - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your visit to our Occidental hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.