Ratings based on 819 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice pool, bad room

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Pool, grounds
Cons: Update the rooms
The grounds and pool are nice enough. The room was small, old and cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very pleasant close to beach.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, excellent brunch
Cons: every time we visit, improvements have been made. the place is totally up to date.
Location: located in the romantic zone- the most interesting area of Vallarta
We have been repeat travellers for many years. the grounds i.e. pools are very well kept up. the hotel is very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Awfull buffet, awfull food.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Since the hotel is. Small hotel boutique, I expected a better quality on the food, more traditional, the price was not too expensive but I would have rather spent some more on a more tasty and memorable food.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
first night on the south wing was terrible due to night club music until 2AM. The moved us to the north wing which was quiet. overall a bit dated and in need of redo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice Hotel near town, good beach!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel is perfect for couples, rooms are reasonable size, in town, right on the beach.
Cons: The restaurant at the hotel was not the best in the area, but their were many good restaurants close by, especially on the beach.
Many good restaurants a short walk away, the beach was nice with good lounge chairs and umbrellas with plenty of help to set up and waiters to bring you drinks. On the beach you can rent jet skis(700p), parasail, and even flyboarding (1300p). Restaurants are good and their are plenty to chose from. We went at Christmas (14-31st) and the beach was crowded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

I lasted one night and should have left earlier

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing. People like the location because it's close to the beach and in town. Well so are many other great places. Location is noisy.
Cons: Don't offer rooms to guests that are health hazards. You want to be a classy hotel make sure all of your rooms qualify. Don't try to scam people.
Location: All rooms back up to the street so are noisy. Beach is very crowded out front. PV is great and there are wonderful things nearby.
On arrival everything looks nice, staff is pleasant. We got our room and it was 118. A small room furthest from the ocean with a view of the roof of the lobby. Pretty sure this is the worst room in the place and really should be turned into a storage closet. Room was moldy with the source being the AC unit spewing mold spores into the room. I think it should be condemned. The all inclusive food and drinks were gross. PV has amazing food all over, there is no excuse for what they are serving. Drinks were super sweet crappy mixed drinks. Don't do the all inclusive option, waste of money. After our first night I asked about changing rooms. Front desk was ambivalent and told me they might have something for me to look at if I came back at 1pm. I then went out and found Hotel Tropicana a few blocks away. They had rooms with ocean views, clean, sunny. Everything a romantic vacation should have. Plus they were much less expensive and the pool was better. Look for my review of them on their site. Only when I called Expedia to process a refund did I get service from Los Arcos. A manager was very concerned and offered us a room in the other hotel. I am sure it would have been lovely but we were done. Nothing they could have done could ever forgive putting anyone in a moldy room. After talking with other people that know this hotel we determined that it can be nice but you have to bully the hotel staff to get it. No thanks, I don't want to be a jerk just have nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beach front, fun in the middle of all

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Best location, and fun to stay.
Cons: Rooms have hummed smell. upgrading
Location: right in the middle of everything perfect location. lot of beach activities.
My kids had a great time at the pool and beach front steps away from hotel and pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Went with other family members...2 out of 3 rooms were not ready at check in...we all payed same price and got 3 different types of rooms...keys would demagnetize and you could hear all the noise outside but it was a good location and staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Bed bugs

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We are relatively sure that the mattresses in our room and our friends room next door were infected with bed bugs. We all had bites 2-3 days into a five day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great service

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The staff was very helpful. Nice rooms and a great place to go. We will definitly book this hotel again.