Ratings based on 1,600 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great customer service

Posted Jun 14, 2017
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Great customer service. Staff was very attentive. Food was great! Authentic Mexican dishes. Really enjoyed food sold by vendors at the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Location is perfect!

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel is very dated, beds were too hard, clean rooms. Did not eat at hotel or use pool, beach area so no other comments other than it's in a perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, food service, beach, location.
Cons: Pools exclusive for guests, improve elevator (too hot inside), have laundry in the hotel
We loved our stay at the hotel, the food was excellent. We were treated like royals. The pool was warm and our son loved playing in the water. We couldn't get in the pool in the last 2 days because it was too busy and there were no available chairs, apparently the hotel sells bands to everyone, so the pools are not exclusive for the guests, just something you have to be aware if you are going to book there. Everything else was great, we got a great room with an incredible view. Also, there's no laundry in the hotel, there's a place across the street but it takes 24 hours for them to do laundry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calexico, CA

Nice old Mexican style hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel with the exemption that the room had a musty odor like it needed ventilation. I bought a spray deodorizer and it helps a bit. Another guest suggested that Maybe I should asked to change rooms. Waking to the malecón and to the beach was a plus. Street can get a bit noise but that's expected when you are on vacations 😊 Food and drinks were great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizonia

This hotel is close to the beach.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Allowing a friend to come sit on the balcony for a beer. We PAID for the room!!!!!!
We went to visit e friend who lives there. He was not allowed on the hotel property, because we did not have his name on our reservation. We had no idea we had to have his name on our reservation, JUST to VISIT us!!!! He had only wanted to come sit on our balcony when he finished work, to visit and drink a beer. They have very sad and unappealing rules regarding this!! We will not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Terrible service

Posted May 23, 2017
Our room smelt like mold, we had an adjoining door that you could see through the cracks into the next room, and we could hear everything. Woken by screaming kids at 6am. The pool was full of kids and the staff were downright rude. We left after 2 days and paid to go to another hotel. Also if you are LGBT DO NOT stay here. One positive it's in a great location central to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

Can't beat the location!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The location and Mexican ambiance.
Cons: Maybe the food included in the all-inclusive, although it is really quite good for the price.
We wanted to stay in the heart of old Puerto Vallarta, and Playa Los Arcos fills the bill perfectly. The hotel is in very good condition for a facility of its age. Where there are issues, the staff seems committed to fixing the problems. For example, the first room we checked into had a leaking toilet. We told the front desk and he said we could either change rooms or they would fix the problem. We knew the toilet would have to be removed, which can take some time, so we requested another room. He moved us down the hall to an equally good room, and by the time we had transferred our belongings, the toilet in the original room had been removed by workers and they were installing a replacement. I have never seen that kind of response in any hotel! PLA has a definite Mexican "family" feel. Probably 90% Mexican families and lots of children. Not a problem for us, but be aware that this is their charter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
It was also disappointing that we were never able to use the pool. The hotel sells wristbands to the public and the pool was overcrowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exactly what U need and no more

Posted May 17, 2017
All amenities in Original Puerto Vallarta with none of the things U don't need.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Antonio Robles Rojas Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear A.C. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such an excellent review. You can rest assure that I will let everybody know of your recognition. Our main goal is to give our entire guest the best experience ever. I am so happy to know that all of you enjoy your especial holidays with us. We are looking forward to be part of your adventure again soon Sincerely
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Intereacting with the community

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: I liked the old world charm and warmth of the staff and the food was good.
Cons: The wood furniture needs replaced. There was strong musty smell in room. Change the buffet menue! Food was about the same everyday
Location: Perfect location for being in old town!
I appreciated the charm of the hotel and the old town community. I felt safe and there was plenty to see within walking distance. I also experienced riding on the adventurous bus system in and oustide of town, and wished there was easy access to bus schedules for visiting near by towns.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Antonio Robles Rojas Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear ET We really appreciate the opportunity to send you a warm and in the same time we will like to thank you for staying in our hotel installations in your recent visit to our beautiful city, Puerto Vallarta. It is a big pleasure to know that you nicely enjoyed the hotel installations as well as all of the services offered by our company in accomplished with the staff that work with us. We will like to invite you to give us the opportunity to serve you as you deserve in your next visit to our beautiful city Puerto Vallarta. You’ll be attended as you deserve. Thanking you again for your preference, we reiterate our greetings and we’ll remind waiting for your next visit. Sincerely