Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus OH

Confusing reviews on Expedia regarding hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Staff was wonderful
Cons: Would be nice to know that at the Beach Club many Americans will not be found and it's basically for locals.
Location: Location was close to town and everything we did.
I dont believe the reviews that were listed on Expedia were for the resort specially that I stayed at. I believe the reviews covered all the Pelicanos resorts (sister resort). The Beach Club that I stayed at was basically know for where the locals stay. I wish that I would have know this prior to booking. I would have NEVER stayed there. The hotel staff was great...however...I felt that I was not able to communicate with any patrons that were also staying at the resort due to most not speaking English. Luckily, I meet a family from Canada and a family from SD...otherwise I would have been miserable. We all 6 ended up hanging together and having a great time. Major disappointment was reviews not specially for the resort I stayed in and that they did not advise this resort many Americans will not stay at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

No good night sleep, Hotel was Okay.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Food was okay, I like the fact that they have omelet station for breakfast. Restaurant employees are nice and very accommodating to our needs.
Cons: Front desk personnel needs to be more knowledgeable especially dealing with guest. Pool water should at least little colder, since its very hot humid.
Hotel is very noisy, a lot of teenagers staying when we were there all night long. You can hear housekeepers talking loud in the hallway, very early. I had put a DND sign outside the door, housekeepers still knocked early in the morning while still sleeping. 2nd day, gardener mowing the grass outside our room at 7:30am. The whole 5 nights that we were there, We never had a good night sleep. Our room was next to their Karaoke room, it was very noisy that I had to call at 1am at the Front desk to have security check it. Food was ok, I like the fact that they have a omelet station. Restaurant employees are nice and very accommodating to our needs. The Front desk personnel needs to be more knowledgeable especially dealing with guest. Sad to say I will not stay in this hotel again.The pool water is little hot, like the humid weather. So we did not enjoyed the pool, I think it should be little colder especially if its 95 and up degrees humid weather. Wifi is very expensive, for 1 day use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

nICE HOTEL WITH POTENTIAL BUT NEEDS MORE CARE TO D

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Proximity to beach
Cons: AAttention to detail such as reservation of lounge chairs and monitoring the red flag
Location: Some great little food shacks near by. We took the local bus to downtown and Old town.
We were disappointed that they did not enforce the rule that you could reserve a lounge chair for only an hour. Most armchairs were reserved with towels before 8:30am They stayed unoccupied all day. Many hotels do not tolerate this.Staff not guests should enforce this. For our entire stay the red flag stayed up for 24/7. Only at our second last day did we realize that they had not changed it. The sea was calm and safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel acorde a la tarifa

Posted May 5, 2015
Hotel sin grandes pretenciones es muy acorde la relacion calidad - precio, si buscas lujos y alimentos y bebidas de buena calidad busca otro hotel, este es cumplidor no esperes mucho pues recibes lo que pagas asi de simple, si esto esta ok contigo este es tu hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver BC

Pelicanos is great for real Mexico!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Great trip. Reviews were mixed .. But dont Beliefe them. The walk is simply across a hotel driveway to beach side. 50'. It's a round about. Just the way it's layed out. Staff is amazing. Mostly local to Mexico vacationers making the food amazing authentic :) Beach is nice. Loungers , beach volleyball. Incredible views!! Fresh fruit all day , great drinks. Did Riu Cabo 2x this year. It's not a Riu, it's a small more personal place. Enjoy ! Was there 10 days would do again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temple City, CA US

nice but noise

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: The property is close to everything, so you are able to explore Vallarta with ease
Cons: food quality and more variety. WiFi was only free in the lobby, and had to pay a premium for WiFi in the room. now a days the WiFi should be free
Location: the location is perfect to go exploring downtown Vallarta and the River Area
Most of the staff is nice and friendly, some issues with main dinning hall staff but minimal. The propertty is clean and up to date. The main issue i had that the beach was not on the main property, you had to cross the street and go to the beach club to access the beach. The other issue was the food, the quality was ok but it was the same thing everyday for breakfast and snacks, no variety. The property is loud, you can hear other guests in the hallway early in the morning or late at night with no regards to other guests already sleeping or trying to sleep in. The property is close to everything, so it is perfect if you want to explore Puerto Vallarta.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

City buses were handy.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: It was accessible to the things I wanted to do.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: We were able to reach the boardwalk via city bus, also the churches. We could have used the bus to go to the casino, but we ran out of time.
For the price this was a good deal. There was always a bell boy at the entryway to direct our questions to. The beach was easily accessible. I felt safe walking on the street to check out the market and use the bank. The restaurant experience was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso TX

all inclusive hotel close to beach and down town.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: the food and drinks like that they had entertainment for all family adults and children close to beach friendly staff.
Cons: it was perfect maybe a bigger kiddy pool for kids.
Location: down town boating port gift stores and restaurants.
Love the all inclusive eat and drink staff was excellent enjoy our vacation a must stay again with friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Decent stay by the beach.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cons: The rooms need update.
I was a little dissapointed when we got there, I don't think that is a 4star hotel but it is decent. The room was a little dated but it was clean and with a little porch right to the pool. Food was decent, they have a buffet and then 2 separate "restaurants" where you get couple reservations for your stay and the food there was much better. They also have couple snack bars by the pools (hot dogs, burguers and fries). The staff was very nice and the location of the hotel was pretty good. 15min ride by bus to the town. Definetely a good place for young people to go party but It was good for a relaxing week too.