Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Disappointing

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The food should be fresh, the rooms need to be remodeled, the gardens need to be finished, the staff could be friendlier, so much more...
Location: Walk to the beach and hang out at the beach all day because the resort stinks.
This is not a beachfront resort as advertised. This resort is located off of the busy main street in PV and from the resort you can walk across the street and down a sidewalk path to get to a beachfront pool area that is part of the resort. The resort was under construction when I was there. It looked like it shouldn't be open to the public because it was clearly not finished. My room was supposed to be a garden view; it was not. There was some grass out of the sliding door and an area that was under construction. The food there is buffet style and not good or fresh. We tried to eat breakfast there one day (it was all inclusive after all) but we never ate there again. The room smelled stale and was damp. My clothes were literally damp to the touch after being in the hotel room for one night. The beds were comparable to sleeping on plywood with blankets. The bathroom was tiny and dingy. The hotel staff was pleasant enough but not super friendly or accommodating. The sister resort, Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, is down the beach a little ways from the beachfront pool you walk to. It is very nice and actually beachfront. We asked to upgrade there because that was what we were actually expecting to get for accommodations when we booked this resort but they could not accommodate because the Grand Resort was booked. We ended up leaving, forfeiting all of the money we spent on the resort, and going to the Westin PV over by the marina which was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great all-inclusive for spring break

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: staff, food,closeness to beach, karaoke
Cons: pool bar open later/earlier, keys for safes in the room
Location: very close to the beach We also went to the main downtown area which is 15 minute cab ride for about 50 pesos and had a great time in the markets.
I went on a spring break trip with about 11 people with very low expectations due to the other reviews. To our surprise, this hotel was MUCH MORE than we expected! I was slightly confused online about how close the rooms were to the beach and they are VERY close. The club hotel has a pool with a bar and the main buffet place. The beach, which is less than 100 yards from the hotel has an additional pool with a bar, food, and beach access. The staff was also fantastic. The bartenders Alberto, Fernando, and Claudio made our experience exceptional. Additionally, the activities staff, mainly Raul, were inclusive and provided lots of poolside entertainment all day (beach volleyball, balloon games, aerobics, kayaking). The food was good. Some people drank the water and felt fine all trip while others were sick. The Italian restaurant was our favorite because we had amazing 4 course meal on the deck on the beach. Breakfast was our favorite meal. This resort had mostly families and a few other spring breakers, so it was not a rowdy crowd, but the general population in PV around March are spring breakers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Nice hotel close to beach. Friendly staff.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Friendly staff. Very clean room. I have stayed here before and really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, MN

Nice resort with friendly staff

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: We liked the fact that you could actually walk a short way to enjoy the amenities at another site that was connected to the resort we were staying at.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a small refrigerator in the room to keep beverages cold.
Location: The location was great and if you were wanting to leave the premises, it was a short bus ride to the boardwalk to do some shopping or eating.
From the moment we arrived until the day we departed, the staff at the resort never ceased to amaze me. They were all very pleasant and willing to help all the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff & service

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Resort is modern, clean & on the beach. Staff was very attentive, food was good (not spectacular) & we felt safe. The other people that stayed when we did were either families or older, not much of a young crowd. We were very pleased! Only complaint is the pillows are horrible. You get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by LUZ MARIA

Room was NOT THE SAME booked. Had to pay upgrade!

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room we got was NOT THE SAME that we booked. The pictures were misleading and we were forced to pay an upgrade when we got there. Not cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The hotel is extremely well kept. All the wait staff were great. However, you are provided with little information as far as how to obtain pool towels, where to book dinner reservations, where the dinner was held, etc. We only figured these things out by talking to other guests. The breakfast buffet is a little lacking (especially for vegetarians) but there were decent options for lunch and dinner. We loved the option to make a reservation for dinner (either for Italian or Sushi) on the beach - great food and atmosphere. This hotel had a lot of guest from within Mexico and very family oriented. I would not necessarily recommend this hotel for older couples or for students (on spring break). But, for the price we paid, we really cannot complain. Decent food, plenty of drinks, extremely clean and nice beach access.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Front desk staff should not be working with public

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Terrible front desk people. Not friendly , not nice. As a guest you're felt more as a burden to them. The whole front line should be fired . We come as tourist, excited to be there and they put a damper on your while vacation the minute you walk in. Those people greeting you should be pleasant and inviting and make the guests feel welcome ! Your front desk check in staff are rude!!!! Fernandos is the only nice one at check in. The other ones get rid of. Rest of the staff through out your resort are great !! Steve the bell hope; the best . That's how you want to be greeted !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Misleading Pictures

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Bar tenders and wait staff
Cons: the food. There were the same choices EVERY.DAY.
Location: The location was not ideal. You have to walk through an alley and through another hotel to get to the beach which isn't even a large portion.
I traveled here to this hotel for New Years and when you look at the pictures you think you have a beach front hotel, 2 pools, even 1 that over looks the ocean. When you get there you realize these are 2 different hotels and your staying at the smaller hotel behind an alley close to the street. It's the "sister" hotel to the beach front property. We weren't able to use the other hotel's pool either. I would NOT recommend staying here. It was overpriced. Thank goodness the bar tenders and waitstaff were SO friendly or this trip would have been a disaster.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

More of a family place with small kids

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: The food for an all inclusive was very good!
Cons: The pillows, it felt like a bunch of wadded up socks in a bag. The room chairs were very uncomfortable. The alacart dinners were served too cold.
The food was very good. The staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is Not located on the beach, but it's just a short walk away. The pillows were horrible. The views were blah. The music by the beach was horrendous. The music in the courtyard pool was okay. Lobby wifi only. A good hotel for someone or a family on a budget.