Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Apr 8, 2017
As many others said, this hotel is older and not huge. The rooms and resort are clean but not many frills. There were a few very nice staff members but for the most part, most of them would ignore us unless we made conversation or asked for something. They got a tad better when we tipped them. Could definitely use some work. A lot of locals use the south end resorts and this was no exception. They got a lot better treatment. The food isn't great by any means but we expected it so we made due.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Comfy, clean, pleasant experience in quiet resort.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, Food, Pool, Bar, Room, Beach
Cons: Bacon for breakfast?
Location: I didn't really venture outside the resort, but they had a lot of outings available for sign up.
The weather was great and the staff was very inviting. They were all exceptionally friendly and my room was perfectly cleaned and organized. A/C worked great. Pool is good, bar is nice. I found the premium alcohols were really good but some of the mixes for the typical fruity drinks one would order were a little lacking. Orange juice was my go to. Cesar was my guy for drinks, he was very friendly and often checked in to see how I was doing. Evening entertainment was interesting, represented Mexican culture very well as far as I know. Beach is great, sand is very nice. Lots of people stroll by trying to sell you things on the beach, but a simple shake of the head ends it for most of them. The water is a great temperature, but the ocean is rough. I'm not much of a swimmer, but I know how. If I got in past my waist I started to feel like I was taking my life in my hands. Food was excellent, ate a ton of fish. I was a little surprised that I didn't see any bacon during the breakfasts I had. A la carte meal was awesome, I messed up the time change and showed up an hour late and they still accommodated me. Very family friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Cons: The Food
If you are in your mid 20s I would not recommend this hotel. The food was horrible! Everything seems to be smothered in butter or oil. The room was alright, the bed was comfy but our balcony was dirty and our view was a dirty roof top of the buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Great beachfront resort close to downtown

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Comfort, not crowded, good food
Cons: Not cleaning the hallways that early in the morning
Location: Easy to get to downtown and Malecon. 60-70 pesos each way ($3).
Everything was great at this resort. It is a smaller resort, so it wasn't super packed with people, which was a plus for me. All staff was friendly and helpful. The food was mostly really good. A few meals were not good at all, but overall it was good. The reservation restaurants are better quality, so make sure to dine there. Pool was a good size for the property and the rooftop bar was great for watching the sunset. Air conditioning worked better than other Mexico locations I've visited. Room was a good size and comfortable. The only complaints I had was the lack of a view (just a wall) and staff is really noisy as early as 6 am cleaning the hallways. I would definitely stay here again on a return trip. If you want to book excursions, you can do so on the street outside of the resort and pay MUCH less.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs new management asap

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: better trained staff around pool area. get some bands that play music that (yes - older generation) can dance to - get rid of the idiot drug music.
this was our third stay - and probably the last. in years past - the stay was wonderful. then we went this year..... terrible. The hotel has 80% of older (over 50 year old residents). Knowing this - why does this place want to play LOUD THUMP THUMP crap over the loud speakers??? Then at night - they have these "bands" that play the same crap -= mind you starting at 9pm for 2 hours at LOUD Volume! We were on the back side rooms (not facing the stage) and I could not believe these older guest put up with this?? The food was ok - until we both are something that made us run to the pharmacy for ZPACKS. There is nothing worst than being sick - in a hotel already you are not liking more & more. Even my wifes favorite dining - their "special room" is run m y wonderful staff - but he menu was very disappointing. For the money we spent - I am going somewhere else next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Family Resort/No Hot Water

Posted Jan 28, 2017
This is a great resort for families with pre-school aged children, we had our 4-year old along. They even have pre-school friendly foods at the pool every afternoon (mac and cheese and cheese pizza). It seems to be the only resort downtown that caters to young families. Unfortunately, this room was without hot water the entire 4 days we were there. We notified the staff each day. They were friendly, but we never got hot water for a shower. If there had been hot (or even warm) water for a shower I would have given it a better rating. The water in the room was consistently cold all day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the water

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Check in was super easy! The staff was amazing from day 1 until the day I checked out. The wait staff and the bartenders were super friendly and attentive. I work in the service industry so for me that is very important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

What you get for your money.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location and beach
Cons: Buffet staff attention to drinks
Location: easy to catch a bus to old town. Can also take a taxi.
Overall the hotel is in a good location. The rooms are clean. Bathroom a little small especially the way the toilet is placed. As an inclusive, the food was average. Hot foods could have been a little warmer but selection was good. Buffet staff was ok but had a hard time getting drinks especially at breakfast. If you are known as a tipper you do get better service. Food area did seem clean. You will not go hungry but hope you like pork and fish. Lots of pork and fish. Fresh fruits were good. Beach area was fine and the food served around the beach was also decent and that staff was friendly and reasonably fast. Front desk staff a hit or miss. Some were friendly and a few just a little rude or cold. Bell staff was always nice but again tip and service seemed to be better. Overall, not a bad place for the money. Not a five star resort but somewhere between 3.5 o 4. You get what you pay for.t
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The hotel was clean and good for a 'medium' hotel. The food at the buffet and bar was underwhelming, but other restaurant (reservation required - dinner only) was great. Also- there are concerts of varying types every night starting at 9:30 pm till about 11 pm. It is very loud and you will hear it perfectly from your room- don't plan on getting any sleep until it is over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for the price

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Price for what we received was great. Food at dinner restaurant was beautifully prepared but taste was very bland on everything served while there.