Ratings based on 1,174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Really happy and trust on all the staff. and place

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The costumer services are really good and kind.
Cons: No I dint go no were better that this hotel definitely go back.
Location: All my trip are fantastic and relaxing are really happy.
All the Hotel and cleanliness perfect and all the staff are super good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel, close to the beach

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean and the grounds are immaculate. Our room was amazing and slept all five of us comfortably.
Cons: Possibly have a designated smoking section or no smoking at all.
Location: Right on the beach, must go to Vallarta Adventures and do the extreme dolphin adventure and the outdoor adventure.
From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like kings. The staff are amazing. Armando, Alberto and Vicky are the best servers. We had a table waiting for us at lunch and dinner, with our drinks already on the table. The entertainment staff are wonderful and interact with the guests, remembering you from the night before. they have a young kids show before the main show every night, so all ages are included. This was our first family trip to Puerto Vallarta and I could not imagine it any better. We are planning another trip already.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Disappointing service

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, location, great activities throughout the day, the spa, the taxi drivers
Cons: Stocked bars, better service
Location: Punta Mita was amazing! Check out the trips to the Marietta's islands and the restaurant Rocio. We also enjoyed the Vista Grill.
My mom and I took a long weekend trip to PV to celebrate my 35th birthday. We were very much looking forward to our stay at the Riu but found our experience to be disappointing. We had a late check-in due to a delay in our flight. Staff was unfriendly and unpleasant when we arrived. I had a requested a double bed when I made my reservation but they gave us a room with 1 king bed. When I requested a different room with 2 beds they seemed put-off by this. We were put in a room that was the furthest from the elevator and on one of the top floors which meant taking 5 flights of stairs anytime we wanted to leave our room. Ice machine never worked all weekend. We called about having it fixed twice and were told it would be taken care of but never was. I don't believe it has worked for months! Bars were always out of stock of various things. Towels were old, worn, torn and smelly One of the restaurants smelt so bad from what seemed like a moldy mop that had been used. The smell was so terrible we had to get up a leave. We could see other guest felt the same way and walked out. When checking out we requested a bell boy an hour before check-out. They never came nor called to say they were not coming. Maid came by and said we might as well check-out as one would likely not be coming and we would be charged additional charges if we did not check out on time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Awesome hotel right on the beach.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Everything! I especially enjoyed the food and the evening shows.
Cons: Make sure all of the ice machines on all of the floors are working. Get rid of the woman in the gift shop!
Location: The hotel is in Nuevo Vallarta -- right on the beach. There are plenty of activities around - parasailing, boating, kayaking, horseback riding
I love the Riu Jalisco. Right from check-in, the staff was welcoming and helpful. The first room we were assigned to had a broken ceiling fan and they moved us immediately to a new room. Each day our room was cleaned spotlessly. The food was excellent - especially in the Don Emeliano restaurant. Special kudos to our favorite waitress, Rosario (Rosie). She made every breakfast special. In the evenings, our waiter was Alberto and he was also wonderful. My only complaint about the whole hotel was the gift shop. The manager was rude and the prices were sky high. Also, don't expect any American dollars for change there (even though she does it for some people). But if you go next door to the other hotel, the gift shop is superb and the prices more reasonable. The beach was clean and beautiful. And, it's a very safe hotel. I don't think you'll be sorry if you go there!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kentucky

Pool and Restaurants

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pool dirty and old needs worked on restaurants by beach too hot to eat at at dinner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sonors

Hotel viejo

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Hotel viejo para el precio la playa estaba revuelta no tiene una playa bonita hay otros hoteles con mejores playas y mas baratos Todos las bebidas son malas con saborizantes en vez de jugos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Breckenridge, CO

Amazing beach!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
An absolute amazing experience as my first time getting to enjoy an all inclusive stay. The entire hotel is very well kept and maintained with very friendly staff. Most of the staff speak English at least the staff that need to do. Plenty of options of restaurants and bars to bounce around from and also the nicest beach around. I was able to rent a jet ski and got to see a lot of other beaches. Overall tons of fun and am definitely going back to la discoteca!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mansfield oh

5 night getaway for relaxation

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: size and location
Cons: somehow try to keep kids in pool without bar cant relax and they splash pool water in drinks
Location: went to buciearas only like $8 taxi ride for two close to other resorts so had vendors on beachwhich is awsome love bartering with them
overall had great time beach was great food was usual all inclusive food everything was close by not much walking taxis were very reasonable jesus at pool bar was the best as was barbara at buffet only drawback was way to many kids in pool with bar
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ciudad de mexico

Buena ubicacion buen ambiente

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Buena estancia , buena comida, mala recepcion para dispositivos moviles asi que si deseas descansar es lo ideal , eventos buenos al aire libre , comodidad en las habitaciones , sin wi fi en habitaciones , bonito hotel para ambiente joven
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agradable , ambiente juvenil

Posted Aug 28, 2016
En general gran hotel, excepto el servicio de internet en la habitacion , ya que es extra