Ratings based on 1,667 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, Great view!
Cons: Earlier breakfast.
Location: Beach
Amazing! It was the perfect getaway! I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to be pampered!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglas, Wy

Outstanding resort with exceptional service

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: Needs another restroom close to the pool
Location: Love the less crowded area on Nuevo Vallarta, beach is a wonderful walk in both directions. Small town of Bucerias very close for souvenirs
Fourth time to this resort, will continue coming back because staff and resort never disappoint me. Food is excellent at every restaurant and even the buffet is fantastic. Staff is exceptional and eager to please. Very clean-housekeeping is very thorough and grounds keepers keep the place spotless. Beach is clean and groomed. Plenty of chairs with the option of sun or shade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mn

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: the food, the staff, the beach, and the room
Cons: It would be nice to have the entertainment done by 9:30 or 10:00. pm
Location: we went to play with the dolphins and went on 2 tours
for all the people, I was impressed with how smoothly everything went on a daily basis. the buffet was marvelous and the staff friendly and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux City, IA

Wonderful hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Prefer reservations at the a la carte restaurants. Have to show up at least a half hour early before they open in order to get seated.
Wonderful hotel, had one of the rooms with the Jacuzzi on the lanai and loved it. The views were amazing and the staff outstanding! Would definitely go back again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

great view

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great staff and great view. Second time to stay at this Riu property and third time over all at another location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St.Louis Mo

great hotel & servuce

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: beautiful place
Cons: Never any open chairs at pools. The help were given tips to keep them reserved for them overnight & towels were not removed at night as promised
Location: Wonderful location
We had a great time.The weather was amazing in February and the employees were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Riu never lets you down

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Cons: I think the food quality for a Riu PALACE can be improved, the variety is great, however i think it should be more about quality than quantity.
Location: they have jet ski and parasailing available right in front of the resort at the beach. We negotiated the price of the jet ski down to $50 per 30min.
We have stayed at several other Riu resorts in Mexico and you know what to expect. As always the staff is nice and willing to go the extra mile to make you happy. When booking your trip DO NOT get the Grayline transportation to and from the hotel. It is a total rip off and a logistical nightmare. This is the second time I am having issues with this transportation company. When we arrived at the airport, their rep was easy to find and they got us the Van to take us to the hotel. Coming back from the hotel to the airport was not so smooth. They never called us to setup a pickup, the gentleman in the lobby who wore a Grayline shirt, told me that our trip was booked through another company which also has the name Gray.... something but not Grayline. It was confusing since the guy who helped us at the airport was wearing the same shirt as the guy in the hotel lobby. A Van for 5-6 people from the hotel to the airport will cost you 25$ one way, we got charged $150 for 6 people when booking through expedia, so skip the transportation offered by expedia and just get a local taxi/van at the fraction of the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Been staying here since it opened 8 years ago still one of the finest resorts in world
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Best Hotel in Vallarta

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Customer service, food, pools, rooms/suites
Cons: n/a
Went for my 30 Wedding anniversary and to my surprise the hotel is like a casino/palace, literally. We loved everything and the customer service was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Feb 9, 2017
We cannot wait to go back !! Clean friendly staff. Excellent services