Ratings based on 1,158 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
It's an ok resort. Beautiful beach. Only 2 pools. Bed is really hard. No top shelf liquor. Wouldn't suggest for a younger couple. Tends to be families or older couples. It is located close to airport. Did go on some great excursions. Downtown on the boardwalk is amazing and a ton of fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Loved the hotel but too much shade around the pool

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Had a great time. Hotel very clean. It could use some pool updates but all in all we loved it. A little too shady around the pool, but the beach always had available chairs. The shows were cute and the entertainment staff worked really hard. The food was pretty good, but they could use another specialty restaurant for the size of the hotel. Great value for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Cons: I had no light in my shower. I had no hot water for two days. They serve only Dos Equis beer. The food is bland. I would not recommend this place.
Location: Not much to do nearby.
Not all that great. Drinks are weak. Just one kind of beer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The food was good.
Cons: Educating the front staff to be more accomodating and less rude.
Location: Too far from the city where the activities are.
Instead of a 10 minute check in, the reception staff kept us for 1 hour 25 minutes, after the long flight and exhausted with the travel. Apparently, there was a problem with the type of room we had paid for with what the reception staff was offering us for our stay. We asked Ernesto the front reception manger to please contact Expedia to clarify the error. He was very hesitant and did not want to spend the time to do that so as soon as we got Expedia, Ernesto hung up on them on purpose, thus going through the process of calling Expedia again. He was not only rude in dealing with us, he purposefully made us wait a lot longer than we had to. The vacation started with needless aggravation at this hotel. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is in Nuevo Vallarta which is $20 away from the city. Next to the Hotel there is almost nothing, so when you go to this hotel, you are stock unless you spend $40 for a round trip to the city. The rooms are very aging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
My family got sick after eating dinner almost everyday. Food tasted great, but we were violently ill within an hour after eating. The beds were HORRIBLE!!! Hard, uncomfortable and could hear Springs popping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all-inclusive hotel but needs safety work.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Good price Great buffet
Cons: They could improve access to the balcony by putting in a light. Also, right now there is about an 18 inch sill on the balcony and then a step.
Location: Would not let me finish above. The sill and the step are the same color and at night they blend together. They should make them different colors.
The room and the facilities were great but we had a bad experience. On our second night there my wife fell while going out onto the balcony and broke her hip. She had to have surgery and had to spend three days in the hospital. After the hospital she was able to spend two days in the hotel but in a wheel chair. She also had to use a wheel chair on the trip home. I told members of the staff that the RIU should share the fault for her accident but I did not talk to Management. If you have access to the hotel Management maybe you could talk to them. Below I have made recommendations to improve access to the balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful Resort and Great Staff!!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, food choices, entertainment!!!
Beautiful Resort and Great Staff. First time traveling with a little one. The entire stay was smooth!! Staff very helpful and friendly. Food choices were amazing. Drinks were really on point. Just remember to tip for great drinks as at all resorts!! Beaches are public there. Not as clean as we have seen in the past, but very nice other than that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful beach!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Small for a Riu. Fewer dining options than expected. Friendly staff. Food was just okay. Very hard bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed and treated horribly!!!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, food choices all buffet items were cold
Went to celebrate my bff 50th bday Was given an "upgrade" which was not asked for and when we got to the room it looked at concrete.........asked to be given our original room they said they couldn't until tomorrow called the next day said it would be the next total run around! Food was all cold and so many birds Lots and lots of smokers and smoke right by where there was eating Just all in all not good at all We will never use a RIU again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago il

3 star low budget hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Older, low budget hotel, rooms ok, food ok, entertainment low to nothing, pretty much for the same money go to Riu Jalisco and enjoy your vacation