Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OKC, OK

5th Stay at this Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Great service, especially from Ramon (head waiter at Don Raphael Dinner Buffet).
Cons: The mattress in our room was in very poor condition. We also suspected bugs in the bed.
Location: Perfect spot for a lazy beach vacation
This was my fifth time at this hotel and I would have to say this one was the most disappointing. This is because the mattress in our room was in very poor condition (caused both of us back problems) and we suspected a bug infestation. We both woke up with bug bites on us almost every morning. Other than this, the stay was great, similar to past ones at this same hotel. Great service, especially from Ramon at dinner in the Don Raphael. We will return but hope the hotel changes the mattresses.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
overall my family had a great time. planing to go back next summer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel familiar en zona tranquila

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Las habitaciones cómodas, los bufettes muy completos y los eventos muy agradables.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Don't book it! There are many better options!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: I didn't like anything about this hotel.
Cons: The building needs a complete remodel. Need to hire additional staff for each bar. Stop serving alcohol to customers who are already intoxicated.
Location: If you are in this area, go to Bucerias and eat at Mark's bar and grill - the lobster was great.
Everything about this hotel was horrible. From Check-In, to our experience at the bar, to our experience at the buffet -- it was a nightmare. Nothing at this hotel appears to work right, the furnishings are out-of date, the beach is littered with all sorts of debris including used condoms, etc. The pool is disgusting without adequate filtration, nearby bathrooms, and includes people drinking non-stop, misbehaving without any policing by staff whatsoever. The area surrounding the pool frequently smelled of vomit. The buffets were like feeding time at your local kennel with guests shoulder-to-shoulder loading their plates full of very poor quality food. Most of the food is returned uneaten by all guests as the quality is so sub-par. Those who did eat their fill would wind up sick. They have converted all restaurants into buffets -- same terrible food at all of them. I've been to many other all inclusive hotels and would never return to Riu. It was horrible. They use the worst liquors available and only have ultra-cheap red / white wines in the $5 per bottle range. Not to mention that service at the bar will take quite some time as staff is overworked. This hotel is NOT a 3.5 star (it decreased from over 4 when I booked it.) It's maybe a 2 star and is just not worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
No me dieron lo que ofrecieron y el personal fue grosero, El cuarto olía a drenaje
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Hotel staff is very nice and attentive. Almost everyone has a smile on their face. Facility is very close to the beach. Shows were fun and enjoyable. Expedia rep. Was very nice, but he charged me for 2 extra people for our ride to the airport. I didn't catch it until bell hop pointed out that my receipt was for 6 not 4. But overall experience was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Not the best but good deal for price

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros- Friendly and attentive staff Very clean Great activities and entertainment Have access to Riu Jalisco hotel nearby All inclusive Great knowledge of drinks and great bartenders Small convenience store on location Quick and efficient movement throughout location Cons- The food wasn't very good only quality food you could get was in the restaurants and there were only 3 restaurants. Once the restaurant reached capacity you had to wait a long time for a table to open up or suck it up and eat at the buffet with bad food . Very few tables in the restaurants so it would fill quickly . - For a building that looked new there was quite a bit of leaks when it would rain. - Rooms were small and uninviting - toilet in room would clog easily - showers were dangerous very slippery , the tub wasn't flat on the bottom more rounded, wife and I almost fell a few times. - Not much to do after the night show which usually ended around 10 pm - Inflated taxi prices if you wanted to go in town, figured out you can take the bus across street for 7 pesos, hotel staff organized taxi rides and have their own drivers. - The food at the 24 Hr sports bar where you could get food after hours was HOrrible, they had burgers and hot dogs in a fridge you could heat up in a microwave and it tasted horrible - pools closed by 6pm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Close to the beach but building seems old

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Food was good including Asian food and bbq restaurant near beach. Warm water both pool and sea good for children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
We had a great time at Rui Vallarta. The staff was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Great staff, great entertainment, right on the beach, food was good. Perfect for families or couples.