Ratings based on 1,160 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Joe it's ok

Posted Apr 26, 2017
It ok I would not go back need to replace the mattress on room 1020
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very happy with everything except the night time entertainment was too loud while there and when in your room if not attending the event.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Disappointed

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Very disappointed with this hotel. Started going to the RIU chain about 11 years ago and sadly it has not gotten better with age. Service by the employees has gone down. The quality of the food and drinks has also gone down. They went from fresh juices to powder mix drinks. The hotel staff is rude and always argumentative. The guy at the beach signing out equipment just sits there on his phone, smoking, gives one word answers if at all. No more servers bringing out cocktails to you on the beach or at the pool. What ever happens to taking care of your guests? I had a credit for the spa which they wouldn't make valid unless I spent $189. None of that was diclosed at time of booking or purchase. I'll just have to find another all inclusive hotel chain that still cares about their customers and has high quality foods, drinks, and guest services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Disappointing stay-won't be back to this one again

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, nightly entertainment
Cons: Softer matresses (my hips started to hurt on the second night), better beer variety in the mini bar, more wait staff at swimming pools, buffet options
This is our second time at this hotel. Last time we visited 2 years ago. Since then, the hotel has been seemingly cutting corners in order to save money, I assume. MUCH less waiting staff, especially by the pools. The mini bar in the room is not what it used to be - 2 years ago we had 2-3 types of beer in the room fridge, this time it's only cans of Modelo (no more Corona and Dos Equis). The biggest complain is the room service (upon arrival, there was someone's unfinished yoghurt in the fridge. Also, the shower was not cleaned well as the wrappers from used shampoo samples remained untouched for days). Another complain is about the bell boy service. Upon check in, we had to sit in our room and wait for the luggage to be brought up to the 2nd floor for close to 20 minutes. Upon check-out, I called the front desk and asked to send someone to help me bring my luggage downstairs so I can check-out. They said they will send the bell boy in. I waited 20 minutes and when no one showed up I called the front desk again. This time he came in 5 minutes. Thank God I wasn't running late for my flight! The buffet options seem to have decreased since our last visit 2 years ago as well - before the food options would vary from night to night. This time around, we ate pretty much the same things for 5 days. One day, we arrived at the pool at 5pm and they were out of towels and did not have any towels till the pool closed at 7!! pm. So the kids couldn't swim that night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver

Easter Week

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The excellent staff really caters to the guests, from the time you enter the front lobby throughout your trip and departing they are terrific.
Cons: Consider allowing guess to make prior dinner reservations.
Location: Lots of activities including boating, jet skiing and water sports.
My wife and I stayed at the Riu Vallarta for 10 days over the Easter holiday. The staff was just fantastic and our room which was a suite on the six floor looks right out at the ocean, simply beautiful. The attention to cleanliness and replacing our towels each day was first class. My only complaint was that the hotel was very full and getting into restaurants at dinner was challenging. We learned how to work the system by arriving early and putting our name on a waiting list. This is a wonderful resort for families and children, with a large children's pool. There are lots of activities for first timers. The resort is rather noisy and since it is all inclusive the adult pool gets pretty rowdy around 3 PM. If you are looking for action, this is the place. If you are looking for sleepy relaxing days listening to the waves crash on the beach it is probably not for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Close to the beach, excellent staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The beach and the food were excellent.
Cons: Rooms cleanliness. They do not change bed covers and hand towels everyday.
Great resort for a large group of people. Modern rooms, and staff was very professional. Beach was excellent and clean. Pools are clean and plenty of space for adults and kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Beach area and amazing views
Cons: Update rooms, need new bed sheets and ventilation in bathrooms.
Location: location is great, 20-30 minutes from hotel. Also, was able to walk to a nearby town.
I booked this hotel because of the great deal I found. I have stayed at other Riu Resorts and had hoped that this one would be just as good. The hotel is a bit outdated and is in need of renovation. Our room was kept clean daily, although, the sheets were a bit old, ruff and had a few stains. The food at the restaurants was mediocre...just your average buffet items. The staff was always friendly and attentive. I got a 60 minute massage at the spa which was amazing but pricey. I did not hang out at the pool area because it got too crowded and the swim up bar filled up fast. The beach area is clean and there are plenty of chairs to relax in. Pro: The view from the hotel of the ocean is miraculous. I enjoyed my stay at this resort. I don't think I would be back. Not unless they renovate the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
A great price for a very nice resort! Staff is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great for families. Food okay.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Great family resort. Food was okay. Would have been better if there were more shrimp dish options. Excellent friendly staff. Overall we had a great time for our boys Spring break. There needs to be some improvement with the cleanliness of the rooms. Our shower had a musty odor and trash was left in the bathroom on occasion during our week long stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, food ok, bed uncomfortable

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Beautiful grounds and beach. Food was average. Hotel staff nice and pleasant. Mattress uncomfortable- had a plastic cover on it.