Ratings based on 1,175 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Riu Vallarta

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Very kid friendly. The staff was so good with the kids. Thank you!
Cons: The mattress is so hard its almost miserable. =-(
We stayed at the Riu Vallarta May of 2017 The one positive about this resort it is very kid friendly. I have stayed at many Riu resorts and this one was definitely my least favorite, other than they were great with the kids. So if you are taking kids this would be a good choice! My least favorite about this resort is the beds are so hard it's almost miserable. The staff and service was great. I just felt for instance the Palace a few hotels down was more elite in every way. -Hope this helps
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Plenty of entertainment for adults and kids

Posted May 14, 2017
Staff was very attentive and courteous.they provided a lot of entertainment for adults and children. Resort was nice. Food was just ok. Most of it was very bland which was disappointing. The rooms were good except that bed sheets/linen was old and had old stains on them. They need to update bed linen and towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Incredible Stay

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: RIU really extends a personal touch. We were called in our room for no other reason than if we needed anything.
Cons: Older hotel as evidence of the key used for entry to room as opposed to a card. Slightly dated but I loved it.
Location: We went to town in PV and found many changes. Puerto Vallarta town has really had a face lift. Went to Bucerias and ate at Marisol. Fantastic
I have never been to a RIU resort before and I can tell you for certain, I will be back. I can not tell you how incredibly accomadating this staff is. We felt so welcome and the resort is so easy to navigate. The weather was absolutely phenomenal which is typical for that region. The pool was kept immaculate as well as the beautiful beach. The bartenders were quick to serve which was no easy task due to the shear volume of people. They made a point of getting to know you and anticipating your order. The food was better than any resort I have been to in the past. We spent the days either lounging on the beach or by the pool which were in close proximity to each other. A range of food always accessible. The resort cooked something poolside every day. There was live music on the main square nightly. Walks on the beach and sunsets were to die for. Liquor dispenser in the room was a nice extra feature. Staff walked around pool/beach with trays of drinks, fruit, tacos and ice cream. Beautiful view of the ocean from our room. Housekeeping goes above and beyond.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w- Iowa

Great for the price!

Posted May 8, 2017
We had a great time at the RIU. The staff was courteous and attentive. The food was ok, we have had better at all-inclusive's but by means were we running off the resort everyday to eat. We had our 2 yr old daughter with us and the music from the courtyard (hotel entertainment) did keep us awake at night. Also, the kid's pool was just a 4ft pool with a few concrete slides. Wish there was a little more kid friendly amenities. Beach was great and well taken care of. Hotel was a little far away from everything in Puerto Vallarta, $20 us there and back by cab.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
It was good overall but the hotel needs some updating. The bed was so hard I couldn't sleep. The pool deck had some Mickey Mouse job done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great beach resort with great food

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Everything we wanted in an all inclusive! Room, food, location were all more than ok. Great value for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The maids only refiled the toiletries 3 of the 7 days. The "kitchen" items replaced even fewer. We requested bed toppers, it took 1 1/2 hours to get them and then we got a call every day after to see if we got them. And, the pool and bar waiters are perverts that thing they are "flirting" to get tips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Joe it's ok

Posted Apr 26, 2017
It ok I would not go back need to replace the mattress on room 1020
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Very happy with everything except the night time entertainment was too loud while there and when in your room if not attending the event.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Disappointed

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Very disappointed with this hotel. Started going to the RIU chain about 11 years ago and sadly it has not gotten better with age. Service by the employees has gone down. The quality of the food and drinks has also gone down. They went from fresh juices to powder mix drinks. The hotel staff is rude and always argumentative. The guy at the beach signing out equipment just sits there on his phone, smoking, gives one word answers if at all. No more servers bringing out cocktails to you on the beach or at the pool. What ever happens to taking care of your guests? I had a credit for the spa which they wouldn't make valid unless I spent $189. None of that was diclosed at time of booking or purchase. I'll just have to find another all inclusive hotel chain that still cares about their customers and has high quality foods, drinks, and guest services.