Ratings based on 1,314 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice beach and pools. Excellent food.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything . Good service, cleanliness, excellent food, Friendly staff, top quality shows, wonderful pools, Attractive beaches
Cons: More elevators and a beach lifeguard More mariache music. Also, a book swap library
Location: Bucerias has great bargains I loved the olive ridley turtle project on the beach
I enjoyed the nightly shows. As I have walking difficulties, more Elevators are needed. A lifeguard at The beach would increase safety. I will return next year as I had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Large complex with lots to do

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Mostly everything, except the ability to request a room in a specific block so all of your fellow travelers can be somewhat together.
Cons: Signing up for the specialty restaurants is very tedious. Not fun getting up so early and having to wait in line so long. Wi Fi could be improved.
Location: Great location. Easy to catch the local bus out on the main road if you want to visit downtown PV or Punta de Mita. A 20 min pleasant walk to Bucerias
Have been here many times before and found it just as enjoyable again. Staff are pleasant and very accommodating. Enjoyed the specialty restaurants, the beach, entertainment, the pools, and of course the free food and drinks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Great variety of food, drink, emenities. Close to vendors on the street. Great shows put on by the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Restaurant staff, clean,very helpful staff. Beautiful pools and tours were good.
Cons: Lighting in the rooms. Could use some updating. This was our third time there and we were disappointed with room and our location..
Our room location wasn't great. The room itself was dark. Two of the lights worked but were dull..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j

Drunk people

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Unfortunately many people go there only to get drunk and disturbing others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pleased with our stay at the Royal Decameron

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Affordable. Friendly staff. Theme nights. Daily activities. Lots of pools. Great beach.
Cons: In the past they served fresh pasta at the buffet restaurants and I certainly missed that. Please put it back on the menu.
Location: Golf, off resort tours, small town nearby (Bucerias) with vendors. Close to airport (20 minutes). Lots of restaurants if you want to go off resort.
Right from check in to check out, the staff and service was great. They have 5 or 6 pools and can accommodate adults only, families, etcetera. Free wifi in the lobbies and main bar. Can't beat the weather which is always consistent. We were there at the end of January. It is not a 5 star and the rooms are getting dated however it is affordable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, BC

Good value resort close to Bucerias.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: access to a la carte restaurants and access to softer beds (they were a bit hard for me)
Location: Close to Bucerias and Puerto Vallarta - see above.
Second trip to the Royal Decameron. We like the resort because it is well-laid out, has friendly staff, and is close to Bucerias. Bucerias is a nice half-day visit with lots of quaint art shops, dining, and a market similar to Puerta Vallarta which is a relatively short walk down the street in front of the resort. It also isn't too far from Puerto Vallarta (240 peso taxi) or Nuevo-Vallarta for day excursions through Vallarta Adventures (130 peso taxi although check with the company as there are sometimes resort transfers). Vallarta Adventures has a great selection of excursions ranging from cultural tours to extreme tours including everything in between (sailing, whale watching, diving, etc...). It isn't a 5-star resort so don't expect that. It is also a more mature crowd than some although there is a mix. We've stayed at a number of resorts on both coasts and find this resort a good deal with a relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. Like several Mexican resorts we've stayed at the a-la-carte resorts are not always easily accessible, tips do make a difference (10 or 20 pesos seemed to be well-received), wi-fi is often only good in centralized areas, there are louder areas (music, activities, kids) you might want to stay away from if you are not into that, the entertainment isn't always what you might expect, the table wines are really just table wines. All-in-all a good value resort to relax in and still close to activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great beach, super for kids,excellent choice

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Just about everything, Good rooms, well maintained grounds, good food, friendly staff.
Cons: Really can't think of anything!
Location: This is NOT the place for night life, it is north of Puerto Vallarta, near the small town of Bucerias. No discos, no wild night life.
We have been coming to the Royal Decameron for more than a decade and its still a great place for a Mexican vacation. The rooms and grounds are still very well maintained and I cannot say enough good things about the staff! From the maids and grounds staff all the way to middle management, they are great! Friendly, helpful, they just make you feel welcome. This hotel has about a quarter mile of good beach with numerous palapas for shade, as well as 5 pools. This is also a really good place for kids, lots to do, much is supervised. The food remains good to very good. We generally do not go to the ala cartes as the buffets are good. We prefer the Flamingos buffet, the northern most of he buffets. This year they went back to having regional Mexican foods as the themes for dinner rather than, say, Italian or French. I come to Mexico for Mexican food, not French! This is a solid 3 star resort, so give this place a try for your next Mexican adventure, you will love it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Cons: The buffet menu
Stayed here many times, the last being 2 years ago, but felt the buffets were not as good as before. The seafood buffet was disappointing. Most dishes had either the head,legs,or shell left on the shrimp or any combination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On a beautiful beach.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Rates for all inclusive are very good
Cons: Signing up for the specialty restaurants is very time intensive and requires waiting in line for over an hour.
Location: Walk to bucerias. Beach walks every morning.
There are 5 pools including an adult only pool and another pool area that has a very large pool for kids. Lots of food and drink with a good variety. 5 bars and also bar service in all the restaurants.