Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Complacent resort

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The daytime secutity guard had a good sense of humour
Cons: Needs a total reno and update
Location: The location was prefect . Why I rented there because it was close to all my favorite restaurants
I stayed at "Hotel Marino" wich I think should be renamed "San Marino Resort" for one night as after one sleepless night because of noise( I am hearing impaired and srtill could not sleep because of noise even with patio doors closed).Lack of internet in the rooms. No One is allowed past the lobby unless they are staying at the Hotel (Resort). The Hotels reaction was Sorry that is why we are cheap. So moved the next day to a condo I rented as I could not see myself spending my vacation there .They did not offer me any compensation and when I asked they just said sorry no refund, Hind site should have kept my for the lengthof the stay as they had my room re rented the next day. Oh and I had rented a one king bed and got two double beds not that important but should be mentioned
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kamloops

Great location, very clean, average food.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: Beds, pillows and blankets could be better
Location: Sports bar that plays Canadian games. Walking on the pier watching the boats coming and going. Plaza nearby that has farmers market on weekends.
You cannot beat the location, right behind the Los Arcos pier, lots of different chairs to sit in on the various decks to watch the comings and goings. It's very clean and very secure. The rooms are basic and the bed is a bit on the firm side with just a few sheets for cover. The food is very basic, pretty much the same every day. Breakfast is the highlight. Meals are really inexpensive in the restaurants in that area so even if you just eat one meal a day in the hotel and drink the booze, it's worth it. Lots of Mexican families come to this hotel especially on weekends so the pools get super busy with all the ninos but there is an adult pool that is a bit quieter. Great coffee shops nearby, a sports bar that plays hockey games across the street. I highly recommend it for couples and retirees.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Rude staff and dirty room

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The staff at check-in asked for 100 USD in cash for deposit even if it was explicitly not allowed by Expedia. After we refused it, the staff became very rude and uneducated. Then we called Expedia, the staff suddenly changed his attitudes and let us check-in without the deposit. I would imagine that I would not get the deposit back from these dishonest people. The room was very dirty as well. They didn't even change the soap and the one in our room was used by other people. Very poor experience. Don't book your room there or you can lose your reservation and 100 USD in cash.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, We appreciate the time you took to give us your review, we apologize for the bad experience you had with us, we will work on the things you mention, is important to us that you have a wonderful time here and enjoy of your vacations. Thank you for your comments, Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton N.B. Canada

Location, Location, Location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This hotel was such an easy walk to everything that I would definitely stay here again . A shout out to all the wait staff and bartenders. They did an awesome job ! We stayed in an oceanfront suite and would choose this again . The view was incredible. From the frond desk staff to the maintenance staff , everyone always greated you with a smile . Thank you San Marino !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, We appreciate the time you took to give us your review, regarding your stay at San Marino Hotel; we´ll wait for you always, this is your second home in PV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located in a great area

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Efficient check in and very nice staff. Great location for the many shops and beach life. Not too expensive. The view from the 6th floor was inspiring
Cons: Please make an agreement with the OXXO store to install a quiet fan. Please add WIFI to individual rooms.
Location: Lots of stuff to do and see close by. A great taste of culture everywhere you go.
We had a great time. All the nice little shops and restaurants in the "Romantic" zone are in very easy walking distance. The view from our 6th floor room was inspiring. The only downside was a fan outside on the ground floor at the OXXO store that produced a constant hum. I'm pretty sensitive to those kind of things. My wife didn't mind at all. I wore earplugs to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Hello, thank you for sharing with us your experience at San Marino Hotel! In addition, thank you for your preference, we like to know all of your opinions so we can see what we need to improve; we really appreciate your comments. We will work on the points you mentioned. We will be very happy to have you here again! Warm regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Convenient Old Vallarta Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Great location in the Romantic District and oceanside. You can sit up by the pool or go down to the beach.
Cons: Older hotel, but they keep it up. The bed was pretty hard
Location: The romantic district is classic old Puerto Vallarta. Many little shops and good restaurants nearby. Short walk to the start of the Malecon.
We have a one week time share in Viejo Vallarta and wanted to stay a couple of extra days. The San Marino is right on the beach and we had a terrific ocean view from our oceanside "mini suite" (basically a large room). There is an adult only pool, but chairs filled up fast on our Saturday. Lots of guests that weekend, but not surprising and everyone was having fun. The hotel is right in the romantic district and close to lots of great restaurants. We did not select all inclusive, because we like to pick our own places to eat. We did eat breakfast one morning and the food was good. Also modest priced drinks/beer at the outside bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Hello, thank you for giving us a review about your experience in San Marino Hotel, we appreciate your time and we will work on the points you had mention; to give you a better service. We hope we can serve you again here, in your second home in Puerto Vallarta.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location downtown on the beach
Cons: It needs a complete overall. They're talking about putting in an infinity pool, well, they need to remodel their rooms. Bathrooms are a disaster!
Location: Downtown area with many restaurants many tours you can take.
Hotel on the beach is all I can say. Never cater to the Canadians or States
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Shaaron: We appreciate the time you took to give us your review. Regarding your bad experience, we are working in the opportunity points, sorry for the inconveniences, we hope can serve you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Great vacation!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Kids friendly is great!
Cons: Cleaning of rooms could be improved.
Close to everything. Really happy! On the malecon! Amazing view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Birck, Hello, thank you for giving us a review about your experience in San Marino Hotel, we appreciate your time and we will work on the points you had mention; to give you a better service. We hope we can serve you again here, in your second home in PV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yellowknife NT

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Friendlly staff. Great security. Housekeeping was awesome. Right on the beach. Great location. Good value for what you paid for. Nice pools.
Cons: There were long lines to get beverages at the bar by the pool. They should have extra staff at the bar to provide drinks on a more timely basis.
Location: Great location. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Everything you need is right there. Convenience store right across the street for ciggs, etc.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I was able to get a free oceanview room for one night. The breakfast meal/buffet was really good but I didn't like the lunch buffet. I didn't pay for the almost all-inclusive but the breakfast was worth what was offered. The location was great. Hotel security was awesome. The housekeeping was awesome. The beds were rock hard though. The place was very clean. This is a very good place to stay for the amount of money you pay to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by San Marino Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Audrey, We appreciate the time you took to give us your review, we will work on the points you mention so we can offer you a great experience. Thank you and we hope we can serve you again . Warm regards, San Marino Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,MA

Nice hotel with a great staff.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location. Really really loved it.
Cons: I'd say to update the bathroom in some rooms, but still a great place.
Location: Lots to see around the hotel and very close to downtown area. Great shops and restaurants nearby.
I cannot say how pleased my friend and I were when we arrived at the hotel. We had no idea we were getting an all inclusive package when we booked it. The food and drinks were pretty good for someone who just want to relax and enjoy the beach and some sun. It's a great hotel to stay on a budget, you will get your money worth staying here. The only "complain" I have is the outdated bathrooms but it was very clean. This place is family and LGBT friendly, with an exclusive pool for adults over 21yo.