Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mazatlán, Sin.

Excelente comida, buen trato, buena ubicación

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Muy agusto, la combinación de playa y zona histórica hace de el hotel un lugar maravilloso, me gustaria q las habitaciones estubieran mas bonitas. Pero todo muy bien. En especial muy rica comida felicitaciones al chef
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

dirty hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: start again
rationed food, dirty hotel, kids urinating in the pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Alberca exageradamente sucia. Comida, poca variedad. Bebidas desconocidas. Limpieza de los baños: poco que desear. Comodidad en las camas, poco. Ubicación del hotel, muy bien. El personal en general bien.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Don't Do It.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
The best time I had on my vacation was at excursions that were FAR away from this hotel. It's old, dirty, run down, and crowded. It's a locals spot so the beach in front is ridiculously packed. We got "lucky" as the guy at the front desk said when he said we'd been upgraded to an ocean view room... there was a little pool outside our window where everyone was constantly screaming. The other tiny pool at the hotel was also loud and crowded. The entire place smelled like mold. The food was pretty bad too, there were a couple of items that were edible but it seemed that some of the food for lunch was dinner from the night before. Gross. Our "king" bed (actually 2 twins pushed together) was harder than the floor, we complained and got some foam for it. They provided shampoo but no conditioner. They give only 4 towels at a time: a hand towel, bathroom mat, and 2 full sized towels; not really an issue just annoying. Relaxing on the beach is totally unrealistic even if you go farther down the beach away from the hotel because, in one hour, you will have at least 15 people come try to sell you various food items, clothing, jewelry, drugs, music, massages, etc. Whatever can be sold in this world, they are trying to sell it. My advice to travelers from out of the country, leave this one for the locals and spend the extra couple hundred dollars and to stay somewhere more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
for Families
by Josué from monterrey

todo bien

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
todo muy bien de acuerdo al precio del hotel..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Garcia

Deteriorado antiguo comida muy fea.personal amable

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Hotel demasiado deteriorado, baños muy antiguos, alberca sucia y la comida fea y sin variedad... deberían de clasificar nuevamente ese hotel por que no es un hotel 4 estrellas como lo ponen... si mucho llega a 2... si puedes pagar un poquito mas y buscar un buen hotel que valga la pena
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel, food got me sick, rude service

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Wouldn't recommend to no one, dirty, construction all morning, dirty pool, nasty food
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Eric from Santa Rosa, CA

Another great stay

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Love staying at San Marino. Paying the extra few pesos to be on the ocean side is well worth the money. Luis at the front desk is great and has always been able to meet our needs. Can not speak for the all inclusive side of the hotel, because there are to many good places eat and drink nearby.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location on the Boardwalk and old Town

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Location and Value
Cons: Rooms could use some updating. Designate a pool for adults.
Location: Great Location on the boardwalk in the romantic zone in old Puerto Vallarta
Overall we had a great vacation. The hotel is very family oriented and not oriented towards couples. The pools were always full with families as was the beach. It is an older hotel but fairly clean. Food was good but basic. The hotel is in a great location on the boardwalk (at the pier), close to the historic downtown with plenty of bars and restaurants. Overall a good stay at a very good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Won't Go Back!!!

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Bring back the adult pool!!!!
Location: The location is in the middle of Old Town. There is a lot to do in the area and some great Taco stands and restaurants!
First of all, I want to say that the staff is outstanding!! We want to mention Felix the waiter, Luis at the front desk, Luis and Cesar the entertainment staff, just to mention a few. They all work very hard and are very friendly. My biggest complaint is that there is no longer an adult pool (which is one of the reasons we booked there). It got to be ridiculous with hundreds of screaming kids, diving into 4 feet of water etc. The pool was clean only one day while we were there and that didn't last very long. You never saw the kids getting out of the pool to go to the bathroom!! It was disgusting!!! The food was okay. The room was clean, except there was a huge cockroach one day! Ugh!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by San Marino Mangement, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We appreciate the time you took to give us your review regarding to your stay with us and we thank you chose this place for vacation. Regarding your good memories from our staff we will make it extensive to them, sorry for the inconveniences about the adult pool closing the thing is when we are full one pool is not enought for all of our guests. We apologize for the cockroach in the room, we are working to avoid any type of bugs; which is a little big hard due to the humidity of Puerto Vallarta. We hope you come back soon. Warm regards,