Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FRANCISCO JAVIER

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

good location, huge rooms, No swimming pool

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location - close to the beach, huge room
Cons: Add a swimming Pool and air conditioner in the rooms, this just has a ceiling fan.
Location: good location, close to the market and the beach
Good rooms, although no TV on the bedrooms, just 1 TV, Ok for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Seasoned Travellers

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: improve cleanliness, add air conditioning
Location: lots...perfect location
The Suites Plaza Del Rio is ideally located right behind Hotel Encino, next to the Cuale River and within easy walking distance to all of the restaurants and shops and happenings on the Maleon. Though it is close to the market, it was adequately quiet. Though there was no air conditioning, the space was great. Would suggest getting one of the corner units (as we had), as they have a narrow but long wraparound balcony and the corner units let it more light. The kitchen/living area was spacious as was the bedroom and had two bathrooms which was very convenient. The fans worked if you were directly beneath them (one over bed and one in dining/kitchen area) but towards the end of our stay it was quite warm and humid, and when you moved away from the fans, it was uncomfortable. Regarding cleanliness, the maid came every day with clean towels and changed the sheets. Though she swept and mopped every day, additional attention needs to be paid to tabletops, counter area and showers. Staff were accommodating. Most importantly to know is that there is no signage for this hotel, and our driver had not heard of it and could not locate it. He finally did so by calling the phone number on our documentation. All guests must check in at Hotel Encino, next door. THERE IS NO REFERENCE TO THIS IN THE DOCUMENTATION. Suites Plaza Del Rio does not have a swimming pool BUT does have one small child's pool (1 foot deep) and two small circular sitting pools.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super leuk hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: grote kamers. Mooi balkon en prettig dat er een zwembad aanwezig was.
Location: Op loopafstand van het strand, old town en de malecon. Geweldige locatie met alles binnen handbereik.
Heel erg leuk hotel. Op loopafstand van het strand en de Malecon. Alles binnen handbereik. Geweldig genoten. Grote kamers en een groot balkon. Erg prettig dat er een klein zwembad aanwezig was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TO, Ont.

The Suites Plaza del Rio is very well located.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
I arrived early and basically sat around for a few hours waiting for a room. About 2pm I was offered a room in another location, at the Iguana de Oro. This turned out to be a disaster, located as it was between a men-only club and another nightclub. The room itself, while obviously newish, was cramped, dismal, dark and boom-boom noisy until well after 2am. On the following morning I went to the Suites to complain in no uncertain terms. They gave me one of their suites that afternoon and the difference is livability was enormous. The Suites room was bright, spacious yet cosy, and equipped with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two closets. Moreover, the other people staying in the Suites proved to be long-term, multi-year renters who were most welcoming and helpful, making my stay there a true delight. In short, stay at the Suites and avoid the Iguana.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, CA

wonderful location by the river

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: My corner room with a view of the flowing river and bridge , corner balcony around the room outside.
Cons: the morning coffee set up only had coffee and sugar , no cream or milk.
Location: great location , in walking distance to all shopping alleyways,stores, restaurants, beaches, nice pool area on the rooftop.
the staff was very accommodating to my needs, the hotel is located in a very nice and quiet location, the river view is comforting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara

Camas incomoda

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
La única observación es que los colchones o son muy viejos pq no descansas nada estaba muyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy incomodo no podíamos dormir hasta que le pusimos los cojines de la sala que eso amortiguaba un poco, es el único inconveniente que le veo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Encino Suites great for non-Resort people

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: Location and Kitchens in the Suites and affordable
Cons: I don't have any least favorite
We love this hotel for it's location in the Central area of Puerto Vallarta. Since it is located next to the Rio Caule and only a couple blocks from the Ocean, it is easy to walk to the beaches in the Romantic Zone, easy to walk to the Malecon, easy to shop, all of it. It is an old style Hotel but in good condition for it's age. The Suites are like small apartments and are very comfortable. We don't like staying in Resorts. For people who prefer that, they may want more amenities than Encino provides.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pequena

Family Trip Dec 2011

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Orbitz
It was our first time in P.V. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, spacious. No need to stay in a super fancy five star hotel. With so much to do, we were hardly in the room. The location was great, reception personnel were friendly & helpful. Beds were a little hard, but no big deal. No A/C, but the ceiling fans were fine (temp. was around 82', no humidity). Overall, we had a great time. The zip-line was great fun ( Nogalito). We would go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C.

great hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2011
Pros: location
Cons: hard bed
The hotel and staff were very nice but the location was perfect! So close to so much and easy access to the buses and taxis if you want to go farther. We never actually ate in our room because we were so close to so many great places to eat. The bed, typical of Mexico was extremely hard, but we had a foamy for on top. Check in and check out were fast and easy. We would definitely stay here again.