Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HAYWARD,CA

In the Spirit of the city.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Spacious room and location are unbeatable. Better that I expected.
Cons: This is a no frill hotel. The basic needs are met. Hall way at night are dark corridor, that leave you wondering what down there. The utensil are old and can't say they're stainless steel.
Location: True Mexican living. Woke up with real working people getting ready for real work, from Truck deliver to children beating on buckets. IT GOT FLAVOR
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from British Columbia

Great Location!

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great corner unit with a huge wrap around balcony. There was a spacious bedroom, a very clean & useful kitchen with a nice sitting area. There is no a/c, but I am fine with that, the ceiling fans were good enough. As usual the bed was hard but I expected that. There were also 2 bathrooms, the only issue was the one hall bathroom. There was a horrible sewer odor coming from the shower drain which permeated out into the living areas. I ended up putting the bathmat and garbage can on top of the drain, then shut the door and opened up the patio doors. This helped but still the bathroom was left unused because the odor was still so strong inside the bathroom. I did show this to the maid & she poured some bleach down the drain which kind of helped for awhile. I didn't hear of anyone else complaining of this problem and none of the reviews here have any complaints about this, so I guess it was just this room? Anyways lucky for me it was just a 2 night stay. Most of my time was spent out and about and when I got back to the room I spent most of my time on the balcony which I loved & once in the bedroom I just kept that door closed too. Either way this hotel is in a great, quiet location & the kitchen would be handy for a long stay. Most of the staff is very cheerful and helpful which is also a plus. I also liked the dipping pools on the roof that I pretty much had to myself too! For these reasons I will try this hotel again and hope for the best!
3 out of 5
by Alfred from Portland, Oregon

Friendly family hotel.

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had no view and really considered leaving after the first night. So glad we didn't. This was the most relaxing vacation we have ever had, and the most unique places to stay. Seemed everyone I talked to there was from Canada and usually pretty friendly. They were eager to help with directions. The lady across the hall brought us fresh baked banana bread, soup and carrot cake. The employees were friendly also. It was a very unique experience.
4 out of 5
by Frank P. from N/A.

Very Pleasant People.

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
An overall pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
by FRANCISCO JAVIER

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

good location, huge rooms, No swimming pool

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Location - close to the beach, huge room
Cons: Add a swimming Pool and air conditioner in the rooms, this just has a ceiling fan.
Location: good location, close to the market and the beach
Good rooms, although no TV on the bedrooms, just 1 TV, Ok for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Seasoned Travellers

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: improve cleanliness, add air conditioning
Location: lots...perfect location
The Suites Plaza Del Rio is ideally located right behind Hotel Encino, next to the Cuale River and within easy walking distance to all of the restaurants and shops and happenings on the Maleon. Though it is close to the market, it was adequately quiet. Though there was no air conditioning, the space was great. Would suggest getting one of the corner units (as we had), as they have a narrow but long wraparound balcony and the corner units let it more light. The kitchen/living area was spacious as was the bedroom and had two bathrooms which was very convenient. The fans worked if you were directly beneath them (one over bed and one in dining/kitchen area) but towards the end of our stay it was quite warm and humid, and when you moved away from the fans, it was uncomfortable. Regarding cleanliness, the maid came every day with clean towels and changed the sheets. Though she swept and mopped every day, additional attention needs to be paid to tabletops, counter area and showers. Staff were accommodating. Most importantly to know is that there is no signage for this hotel, and our driver had not heard of it and could not locate it. He finally did so by calling the phone number on our documentation. All guests must check in at Hotel Encino, next door. THERE IS NO REFERENCE TO THIS IN THE DOCUMENTATION. Suites Plaza Del Rio does not have a swimming pool BUT does have one small child's pool (1 foot deep) and two small circular sitting pools.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super leuk hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: grote kamers. Mooi balkon en prettig dat er een zwembad aanwezig was.
Location: Op loopafstand van het strand, old town en de malecon. Geweldige locatie met alles binnen handbereik.
Heel erg leuk hotel. Op loopafstand van het strand en de Malecon. Alles binnen handbereik. Geweldig genoten. Grote kamers en een groot balkon. Erg prettig dat er een klein zwembad aanwezig was.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TO, Ont.

The Suites Plaza del Rio is very well located.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
I arrived early and basically sat around for a few hours waiting for a room. About 2pm I was offered a room in another location, at the Iguana de Oro. This turned out to be a disaster, located as it was between a men-only club and another nightclub. The room itself, while obviously newish, was cramped, dismal, dark and boom-boom noisy until well after 2am. On the following morning I went to the Suites to complain in no uncertain terms. They gave me one of their suites that afternoon and the difference is livability was enormous. The Suites room was bright, spacious yet cosy, and equipped with two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two closets. Moreover, the other people staying in the Suites proved to be long-term, multi-year renters who were most welcoming and helpful, making my stay there a true delight. In short, stay at the Suites and avoid the Iguana.