Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Good food and beverages. Friendly staff. Nice pool setting. LOW KEY environment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Small hotel, Location OK

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable. Every room has ocean view with beautiful sunset
Cons: Their restaurant menu. Food quality. Wifi connection.
We just came back from PVR and stayed at Sunset for a week. The hotel was clean and comfortable, but it is small with a ok size pool and only 2 restaurants. One of the restaurants - Luciano - just opens for dinner only. So basically you just have one restaurant to go to for breakfast and lunch. Well, there is a deli cafe for sandwiches and coffee but I won't call it a restaurant. The restaurant menu is limited and the food is just OK compared with other all-inclusive resorts that I had stayed. We all feel a bit tired of the food after 2-3 days. The WiFi doesn't work for the entire time we stayed there. We couldn't book any activity or plan for our trip on line. When I reported the problem to the hotel, they simply said there might be too many people using it (first I don't think that is true by seeing how many people in the hotel, and second, it is not acceptable reason for a 4+ star hotel). On the other hand, the service is good. It is close to Malecon with a short taxi ride. But I would not rate this a 4+ star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zacatecas

Hotel 4 diamantes cubrio mis expectativas

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hotel cerca de la playa y del pueblo de Vallarta, comida excelente, empleados atentos al Servicio, bebidas de Calidad. Amplia recomendación para los amantes del descanso y de la buena comida.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring, Texas

Wonderful trip

Posted Jul 26, 2016
All services crews from the manager down to everyone are so nice, the resort little bit small ,only 100 rooms, but the room so comfortable, we are group about 45 people and they let us have the whole dining room for 1 night and half of the outside restaurant, thank you so much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hospitality is most important for me.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: hospitality
there is a hospitality room where I can take shawer and chenge closes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedarburg, WI

Would love to visit again!!

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean. New. On the beach.
Cons: Skip the All-inclusive plan. Too many good local options!!
The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. You're treated like royalty!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel nice and clean, staff is very good.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Clean, no annoying timeshare offers, very strong WI-fi even on the beech.
Cons: food
Location: perfect location.
Food can be better and , because it is no buffet you have to spent a lot of time waiting to be served.
4 out of 5
by Deanna from Houston, TX

Great stay! We would stay here again.

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay. Staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was great with a phenomenal view. It was relaxing and convenient. I would stay here again and recommend it for anyone. One thing I wasn't impressed with was the food. BUT would still stay again because we thought it was a great place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Best trip ever! We've never been to Mexico before . Staff was friendly and our butler Juan gave great customer service he went above and beyond to make our trip special. We enjoyed server in all inclusive Alberto , gab and victor were excellent with food and drinks. Juanita maid did a great job cleaning n bringing additional coffee n blankets for bed. We will definately only stay at sunset plaza beach resort if we ever visit again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Cons: the staff need to be more friendly and professional
Location: location was ok
the food was no good, we can't go to the beach was very small play and have a somebody fishing was very terrible to be dear and enjoy