Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice modern hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The staff made the hotel. The grounds were nearly perfect.
Cons: Have all the planters planted with flowers. Somehow clean the beach water as it appears that the water was dirty.
Location: Location was nice. Enjoy the malecon walkway. Would have liked it more if the street vendors were kept from soliciting on the beach
Very nice amenities. Staff are outstanding and we enjoyed our time there immensely. Food was a solid A! A few meals were A+.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great suite, excellent service all around

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff, the room, breakfast, the lobby bar is great at night and of course the late night tacos!
Cons: Stop trying to sell the timeshares. Almost everyone complained that 90 min turned into 4 hours and the staff were rude when told no
Location: The location is perfect. You can walk to La Leche for dinner, it's a short cab to El Malecon, plenty to do
The hotel was really fantastic. Our suite was huge and beautiful, as was the view obviously. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. The food at the restaurants was above average. Breakfast and lunch were excellent, dinner was not as good, but tacos from midnight to 4am??? Those were amazing!! Maybe the best food at the whole hotel.There are also some great local restaurants nearby as well (Cafe des Artistes and La Leche were amazing). Small cons were that there isn't much of a beach and the hotel next door (Las Palmas) was like a club blasting music all day, etc. But there's nothing Sunset can do about either of these things. And frankly, with the pool views and wait staff, we really didn't have anything to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location for a nice boutique sized hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: The hotel is right on the beach and very close to the boardwalk. We will definitely visit again.
Everyone at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa was wonderful. The food was delicious and the service was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel was very clean the breakfasts were great dinner was a little weak we went downtown to eat.Bar service around the pool was poor we always had to get our own drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating and friendly staff.

Posted May 11, 2017
Everyone of the staff members that we encountered throughout our stay went above and beyond our expectations. We had a terrific experience at this hotel and highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver washington

Newer small hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Has a great time. Richard in restaurant for breakfast and lunch fulfilled your every need. Drinks were excellent and used too shelf liquor. Italian restaurant was good and never a problem getting reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and on the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Smaller, simple and very clean
Cons: Pool was heated all the time, even when it was 80+ degrees outside. Water was very warm
Balcony was very large and beautiful view. All inclusive was nice as well, and you could order off the menu or they would fix anything you asked for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

One of the best hotels in PV

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Everything: location, staff, organization, simple and yet elegant design, food portions :-)
Cons: Internet is not really working well, it would be nice to upgrade, on most days I could not even load my e-mail.
Location: In a walking distance (40 min) from Puerto Vallarta downtown, beach, not far from Marina.
I stayed in PV for the first time at Sunset Plaza. It was a wonderful experience, and I'll certainly come back again. The hotel is nice, modern, sleek, simple yet comfortable, it is not super luxurious in looks, but has just the right amount of interest, detail, and comfort. All rooms face the ocean, so you fall asleep listening to the waves crushing on the shore. My room was cozy, functional, and simple: a/c worked well and quietly, the bed's mattress was firm enough and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating; they can even change your pillows to make you more comfy :-). I spend most of the my time on the beach and enjoyed warm waters of the Pacific; the beach access is quite nice here, but there are pools, Jacuzzis, and the usual other activities available. The food was good, and I liked that it was cooked to order. I'm a vegetarian, so I was missing a bit more of tofu/vegetarian protein options, but nevertheless it was sufficient, and delicious. I appreciated the small-to-medium portions of the food. Also you could come an eat at any time. What I liked the most is that the hotel has an uncrowded feel to it, and it felt relaxed and cozy. I came alone and just simply had a nice time on my own. A very enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

The perfect get away!.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Overall the perfect get away. The hotel staff were friendly and made you feel welcome and taken care of. The hotel was simply perfect, our room was taken care of daily and check on twice a day thanks Juanita, beautiful ocean view in love. The food was made upon order, Humberto took excellent care of us. Drinks were on point!. Only suggestion I would have for this resort is to have activities throughout the day and little music for the pool area!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Experience all around!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Location: Great location. Very short cab ride to the Malecon, Marina Terminal, and the Airport
Everything was wonderful. Had a great stay and will definitely be back!