Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Experience!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Everything. Especially the wonderful staff.
Cons: I would not suggest changing a thing. Seriously, I had no complaints whatsoever.
Location: 80 peso cab ride or 45 minute walk to Malecon downtown. Perfect location to walk, shop, etc.
Just stayed 7 nights at Sunset Plaza Puerto Vallarta. Wonderful room, view, staff, food, facilities. We didn't want to leave! The manager, Javier, sits right where you come out of the elevator and is available to help with any concerns. I could not have been happier with anything. Worth every penny!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Excellent Facilities & Staff

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff is great. You are assigned a personal butler. This butler will assist you with everything.
Cons: The food selection and quality has gone down considerably. There is a new chef and menu I was told. Some items are literally inedible. Go non AI
Location: In the Hotel Zone. 60 peso cab ride to down town. Good location overall.
Stayed here 02/05 through 02/11. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Last time was 05/2015. As we have experienced in the past; the staff goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The facilities are spot on! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. Huge room with a full kitchen. The balconies are huge and all rooms look out to the ocean. Very updated by Mexico standards. There are only 100 rooms, so quite small by resort standards which is part of what we enjoy about this hotel. You get quick personal service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Lovely view, wonderful staff, A+

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Everything!!!!
Cons: The wine. They served name brand liquors but the wine was terrible.
Location: We walked to town or took the bus in. There are more things to do than days there.
Loved my stay, better than good. The staff was terrific. My sister and I plan on going every year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Great PV resort.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities.
Cons: Food choices at dinner are not great.
Location: Close to downtown and right on the beach.
Our third stay at this property, this time for 10 days and still not long enough. The rooms are beautiful, staff attentive and the spa is delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado

First all-inclusive

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Everything. I think the staff was the best part. It is not a huge hotel so you see the same people almost everyday.
Cons: Not much
Location: You can book tours in the lobby and we walked downtown one day. It was a good hike but worth it. There is a lot to see in the area.
Truthfully this was the best family vacation we have had. The hotel was updated and very clean. It is not the biggest hotel there, and I think that is what made it so great. The staff was great and knew your name. We felt very secure there. The food was incredible with multiple places to eat. The room was very comfortable and the only complaint, if it is one, is the person cleaning our room kept turning down the AC and making it too cold. I felt the staff was the best part of the whole vacation. They were very sincere and wanted you to enjoy the hotel and the area. We plan on returning and for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Amazing experience

Posted Dec 13, 2016
We loved our stay at Sunset Plaza. From the moment we walked in through the doors, there was a sense of feeling welcomed by everyone. The staff was eager to be helpful. The restaurants on site had delicious food. Our go to person Juan, was always ready to give his recommendations and assist us. Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel...amazing staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
I don't have any complaints about this hotel. Beautiful hotel, amazing suite. .the staff were amazing, they treated me like family. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Beautiful resort

Posted Nov 19, 2016
We had a fantastic stay. I would recommend dinner at Luciano every night. The food and service were spectacular. Our bultler Alfredo was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, USA

Nice place to stay.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The room was amazing. Staff were really friendly. Great food and great views.
Cons: I didn't like that the adult pool had no bar on it, but the kid friendly pool had the swim up bar. Didn't make any sense.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second visit this year!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located. Able to walk to the Malecon of you like, Close to bus and taxis available. All activities close to get to.
We visited the Sunset Plaza in Feb. and returned last week. Beautiful small resort with the friendliest staff and great food. The view is amazing with all rooms facing the ocean. Meals are off a menu, no buffets here. Enjoy a extensive menu to enjoy a variety of food no matter how long you stay. Adult only pool and large pool for more activity and children. Will go back again as soon as we can.