Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location for a nice boutique sized hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: The hotel is right on the beach and very close to the boardwalk. We will definitely visit again.
Everyone at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa was wonderful. The food was delicious and the service was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel was very clean the breakfasts were great dinner was a little weak we went downtown to eat.Bar service around the pool was poor we always had to get our own drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating and friendly staff.

Posted May 11, 2017
Everyone of the staff members that we encountered throughout our stay went above and beyond our expectations. We had a terrific experience at this hotel and highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver washington

Newer small hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Has a great time. Richard in restaurant for breakfast and lunch fulfilled your every need. Drinks were excellent and used too shelf liquor. Italian restaurant was good and never a problem getting reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and on the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Smaller, simple and very clean
Cons: Pool was heated all the time, even when it was 80+ degrees outside. Water was very warm
Balcony was very large and beautiful view. All inclusive was nice as well, and you could order off the menu or they would fix anything you asked for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

One of the best hotels in PV

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Everything: location, staff, organization, simple and yet elegant design, food portions :-)
Cons: Internet is not really working well, it would be nice to upgrade, on most days I could not even load my e-mail.
Location: In a walking distance (40 min) from Puerto Vallarta downtown, beach, not far from Marina.
I stayed in PV for the first time at Sunset Plaza. It was a wonderful experience, and I'll certainly come back again. The hotel is nice, modern, sleek, simple yet comfortable, it is not super luxurious in looks, but has just the right amount of interest, detail, and comfort. All rooms face the ocean, so you fall asleep listening to the waves crushing on the shore. My room was cozy, functional, and simple: a/c worked well and quietly, the bed's mattress was firm enough and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating; they can even change your pillows to make you more comfy :-). I spend most of the my time on the beach and enjoyed warm waters of the Pacific; the beach access is quite nice here, but there are pools, Jacuzzis, and the usual other activities available. The food was good, and I liked that it was cooked to order. I'm a vegetarian, so I was missing a bit more of tofu/vegetarian protein options, but nevertheless it was sufficient, and delicious. I appreciated the small-to-medium portions of the food. Also you could come an eat at any time. What I liked the most is that the hotel has an uncrowded feel to it, and it felt relaxed and cozy. I came alone and just simply had a nice time on my own. A very enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

The perfect get away!.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Overall the perfect get away. The hotel staff were friendly and made you feel welcome and taken care of. The hotel was simply perfect, our room was taken care of daily and check on twice a day thanks Juanita, beautiful ocean view in love. The food was made upon order, Humberto took excellent care of us. Drinks were on point!. Only suggestion I would have for this resort is to have activities throughout the day and little music for the pool area!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Experience all around!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Location: Great location. Very short cab ride to the Malecon, Marina Terminal, and the Airport
Everything was wonderful. Had a great stay and will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, great ocean views

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Ocean views, cleanliness.
Cons: More food options
Location: Close to airport and downtown boardwalk
Nice family resort. Smaller than other all inclusive, but was nice. Clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

I will be back.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Great food and premium liquors.
Cons: Not much, I really enjoyed my stay.
Location: Downtown, 4 dollar cab ride.
Not too many rooms so the pool chairs were aplenty and the staff were able to get to know you by your first name. Clean, quiet, there were kids but there is an adult pool. Food was way above average and the choices were numerous for drink and food.