Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Amazing hotel with excellent staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
First off, let me start by saying that the staff here is incredible. Very hospitable and nice, greeting you upon your arrival and showing you the hotel, assisting you with anything that you need. Food and drinks are always available (like beer and tacos at 3 AM). All of the rooms face the ocean so there's no fear from losing that. Rooms quality is very high (we opted to upgrade to the suite upon arrival). Downtown is only a 10 minute ride away by taxi (70 MXN) or bus (~10MXN). The marine port is also nearby if you want to take a cruise (Yelapa - recommended). No wonder this hotel is ranked so high. My girlfriend and I spent an amazing weekend here and we will definitely come back again! Thank you sunset plaza!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novi, Mi

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Beautiful place. Very private and reclusive perfect for a getaway to enjoy a deserved vacation. Food is good, friendly stuff who are there to ensure a great stay. Safe and most of all friendly people everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PACIFIC PALISADES

Posted Sep 7, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Beautiful view

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The staff are very attentive and friendly. The food is excellent. Don't be afraid to go in August. It's hot as expected, but the rain only occurred at night and brought beautiful days. My only negative was that our room was not ready at check in time and it was actually an hour and a half later.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downwy CA


Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: ocean view room and the food
Cons: friendly and helpful staff. entertainment and music
Location: not much to do.
Juan and Jose were friendly and always helpful. the rest of the employees it seems like they were having a bad day that was everyday including the manager never smile or said hi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Good food and beverages. Friendly staff. Nice pool setting. LOW KEY environment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Small hotel, Location OK

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable. Every room has ocean view with beautiful sunset
Cons: Their restaurant menu. Food quality. Wifi connection.
We just came back from PVR and stayed at Sunset for a week. The hotel was clean and comfortable, but it is small with a ok size pool and only 2 restaurants. One of the restaurants - Luciano - just opens for dinner only. So basically you just have one restaurant to go to for breakfast and lunch. Well, there is a deli cafe for sandwiches and coffee but I won't call it a restaurant. The restaurant menu is limited and the food is just OK compared with other all-inclusive resorts that I had stayed. We all feel a bit tired of the food after 2-3 days. The WiFi doesn't work for the entire time we stayed there. We couldn't book any activity or plan for our trip on line. When I reported the problem to the hotel, they simply said there might be too many people using it (first I don't think that is true by seeing how many people in the hotel, and second, it is not acceptable reason for a 4+ star hotel). On the other hand, the service is good. It is close to Malecon with a short taxi ride. But I would not rate this a 4+ star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zacatecas

Hotel 4 diamantes cubrio mis expectativas

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hotel cerca de la playa y del pueblo de Vallarta, comida excelente, empleados atentos al Servicio, bebidas de Calidad. Amplia recomendación para los amantes del descanso y de la buena comida.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spring, Texas

Wonderful trip

Posted Jul 26, 2016
All services crews from the manager down to everyone are so nice, the resort little bit small ,only 100 rooms, but the room so comfortable, we are group about 45 people and they let us have the whole dining room for 1 night and half of the outside restaurant, thank you so much.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hospitality is most important for me.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: hospitality
there is a hospitality room where I can take shawer and chenge closes.