Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great staff, very good section of food. Everything is taken care of. Wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granada Hills, CA

Nice surprise

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great experience indeed... We will be back there for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great staffs friendly people nice place to stay for family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice modern hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The staff made the hotel. The grounds were nearly perfect.
Cons: Have all the planters planted with flowers. Somehow clean the beach water as it appears that the water was dirty.
Location: Location was nice. Enjoy the malecon walkway. Would have liked it more if the street vendors were kept from soliciting on the beach
Very nice amenities. Staff are outstanding and we enjoyed our time there immensely. Food was a solid A! A few meals were A+.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great suite, excellent service all around

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff, the room, breakfast, the lobby bar is great at night and of course the late night tacos!
Cons: Stop trying to sell the timeshares. Almost everyone complained that 90 min turned into 4 hours and the staff were rude when told no
Location: The location is perfect. You can walk to La Leche for dinner, it's a short cab to El Malecon, plenty to do
The hotel was really fantastic. Our suite was huge and beautiful, as was the view obviously. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive. The food at the restaurants was above average. Breakfast and lunch were excellent, dinner was not as good, but tacos from midnight to 4am??? Those were amazing!! Maybe the best food at the whole hotel.There are also some great local restaurants nearby as well (Cafe des Artistes and La Leche were amazing). Small cons were that there isn't much of a beach and the hotel next door (Las Palmas) was like a club blasting music all day, etc. But there's nothing Sunset can do about either of these things. And frankly, with the pool views and wait staff, we really didn't have anything to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location for a nice boutique sized hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: The hotel is right on the beach and very close to the boardwalk. We will definitely visit again.
Everyone at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa was wonderful. The food was delicious and the service was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted May 15, 2017
Hotel was very clean the breakfasts were great dinner was a little weak we went downtown to eat.Bar service around the pool was poor we always had to get our own drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating and friendly staff.

Posted May 11, 2017
Everyone of the staff members that we encountered throughout our stay went above and beyond our expectations. We had a terrific experience at this hotel and highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver washington

Newer small hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Has a great time. Richard in restaurant for breakfast and lunch fulfilled your every need. Drinks were excellent and used too shelf liquor. Italian restaurant was good and never a problem getting reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and on the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Smaller, simple and very clean
Cons: Pool was heated all the time, even when it was 80+ degrees outside. Water was very warm
Balcony was very large and beautiful view. All inclusive was nice as well, and you could order off the menu or they would fix anything you asked for.