Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Hotel and staff were nice but the area where it's located is not that great. Beware families because it is a gay male area. It would be ok if the had families but it's a pick up area for them and some may be vulgar. We went around Christmas and New Years and it was calmer after New Years. Ok for adults but no so for teens and children
5 out of 5
by Jon

Must stay here!

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
GREAT staff, especially Daniel, and a great quiet getaway on a nice stretch of beach. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and will tell all of my friends about this place. The rooms have a quaint feel to them, and are very nicely updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice suites right on the beach---but

Posted Dec 6, 2016
This is absolutely beautiful location right on the ocean and is ideal for walks along the beachand steep stairs for exercise. The only fly in the ointment is that it is quite a busy location.....thumping techno beat music almost 24/7 from busy gay beach club next door, taxis coming and going, garbage truck next door at 7am, end of street and public beach access right there, hotels maintenance guys know everybody and seem to chatter loudly with all their buddies, etc etc. Granted this would be less of an issue on the higher floors, but we were ground floor ....eye and ear level with all the comings and goings. I would recommend this place, but with cautions to make sure you are ok with "the area" and with the unit you are actually booking.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Philadelphia

I'd come back again and again

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel pretty quickly without doing much research (like I usually do) because it was sold as a "boutique hotel on the beach." It very much is a boutique hotel on the beach, but it really has so much more to offer. Each unit is actually a condo (I assume owned by someone) so it has a fully stocked kitchen and living space in addition to your bedroom. We stayed in the Sky Suite B, which had 3 rooms each with a private bath and then a shared space (separate from other hotel guests though) with a gorgeous pool, kitchen and living space. The hotel is situated on a hill so that every single room has a sweeping view of the ocean (and the sunset). It's also at the very end of Playa de los Muertos, so although the hotel has a blocked off private beach area with your own palapas,it tends to be quieter there anyway. Even so, you're in easy walking distance to bars, ATMs, restaurants, stores etc... Check in and check out was very easy and the staff was very helpful and attentive throughout our stay. Our housekeeper Lucia was wonderful and even cleaned a few of my husbands shirts during our stay. You could stay in one of the large resorts in the busy part of town and I'm sure you'd have a great time, but for a truly relaxing vacation experience, I would only stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fran but a Brit

Great location, minor things needed to be A+

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great location, friendly staff, we would go back.. So first impressions were great, nice big room,important as we have 2 grown boys (late teens) and a 9 yr old. We had 2 bedrooms and a sofabed in the lounge. Rooms were great everything you would need but the sofa bed i wouldnt have let my dog sleep on it. Very rusty due to water and humidity which is understandable, but needs changing. We were provided with another sofa bed but the old one needs to be removed. Weirdly the Wifi on the 3rd floor is very spotty, was having to move rooms when wanting to work or kids wanted to go online which was rare but still you want it to work. On the second night we got upgraded to the sky suite with pool and i have to say this really made our holiday. Kids loved it and was ideal in the evenings to chill out pool side with no other disturbances. Wifi worked faultlessly on the 6th floor, no issues at all. Location is bang on, yes you're in the romantic zone but in all honestly would prefer to be there than with the masses in the built up holiday locations. The old town is great and we got to sample real mexican food and spend time getting to know the locals and culture. the gay community is great and never had any issues, felt very safe all of the time. Beach was great and not crowded and the small zone we had was perfect for relaxing. No rush for seats and umbrellas in the morning. We will be back for sure... and a little shout out to Fabio, great guy and helped us out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Clean Friendly staff Great location Excellent facilities in the room
Cons: Hard bed Very noisy Not enough beach chairs
Location: Right on a good swimming beach. Many excellent restaurants and bars within 2-10 min walk. The bank ATM is within 5 min.
This hotel is right on the beach, a close walk to some of the best restaurants and beach clubs. A pleasant 20-30 minute walk to the main shopping part of the malecon and the Cathedral. The beach out your front door is very nice for swimming and the hotel has a small, private pool with nice views. The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. My room was spotlessly clean every day - I don't know how considering how much sand I seemed to track in from the beach but it was kept in outstanding condition daily. My only complaint would be about the noise, especially on week-ends and the bed which was so hard that it was like sleeping on a plank. Definitely not comfortable. I had room #8 which is on street level and it was ALWAYS noisy, every car coming or going, every verbal exchange, music from the beach club next door would keep me awake/wake me up. Not a big deal if you a heavy sleeper but a big deal if you aren't. Rooms higher up might be quieter. Also, there aren't enough beach chairs for all guests. On the plus side, the staff really do a great job of making sure that you enjoy your stay and keep the rooms, the pool, and the beach adjoining the property in excellent condition. They work hard and do a wonderful job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The sky suites are amazing!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Overall, great stay. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is great. The room was incredible and the view is breaking!
4 out of 5
by Mark from Canada

Nice relaxing place

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I spent only one night at Vallarta Shores. They are owned condos in a nice location in front of the beach. This place is in the frienly zone, most couples are gay/lesbian couples, so if this bothers you then I would not suggest this place. For my wife and I this has never been something that bothered us so we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a one bedroom, with balcony in living area and balcony off the bedroom. It was a nice Mexican feel to the place with brick walls and nice wood frame doors. You can hear the waves crashing down all night long, very relaxing. It was a HUGE space one bedroom, with filtered water, full kitchen with all the things you need for cooking. In front was a private beach that had nice sand and good swimming connditions. It was suggested to us the next time we stay to rent one of the sky units, they have private juccuzzi's and small pool in all suites, also comes with your own private chef. So havin maybe two families sharing a 3 or 4 bedroom is affordable with a movie star experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Vallerta Shores

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: It was very authentic and it had a great balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Condos are quite large.
Cons: AIR CONDITIONING!!! Updated appliances
Location: Good restaurants and shopping near by. Gay-friendly beach with a lot of activity and things to do.
The staff were quite accommodating and the location to the beach was great. However, it was so far away from the airport. I mean it was at the very end of the city in the opposite direction from the airport. Very nice condo, but limited air conditioning. Even in the room with air conditioning (I said ROOM, not rooms), it didn't work great and it didn't really have a chance since there were huge gaps in the doors heading out to the balcony. So be prepared to sweat or go when it is not July or August! We were told as we were leaving they have nicer, larger condos. We paid a premium for our room so I was a bit disappointed when I heard they had better. Overall, it was a good experience, but there were hotels/condos near by that were in better condition and cheaper (and with air conditioning in the entire place).
5 out of 5
by Jason from Dallas Texas

Perfect!

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful smaller hotel with exquisite service and cleanliness. The beachfront balcony is lovely. There is ample space here with a large bedroom, a living room, and kitchen. Room cleaning was always immaculate and front desk was always helpful. Would definitely stay here again.