Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Canada

Nice relaxing place

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I spent only one night at Vallarta Shores. They are owned condos in a nice location in front of the beach. This place is in the frienly zone, most couples are gay/lesbian couples, so if this bothers you then I would not suggest this place. For my wife and I this has never been something that bothered us so we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a one bedroom, with balcony in living area and balcony off the bedroom. It was a nice Mexican feel to the place with brick walls and nice wood frame doors. You can hear the waves crashing down all night long, very relaxing. It was a HUGE space one bedroom, with filtered water, full kitchen with all the things you need for cooking. In front was a private beach that had nice sand and good swimming connditions. It was suggested to us the next time we stay to rent one of the sky units, they have private juccuzzi's and small pool in all suites, also comes with your own private chef. So havin maybe two families sharing a 3 or 4 bedroom is affordable with a movie star experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hector jose from guadalajqra

bien, pero casi sin estacionamiento

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Bien, pero carece de restaurante, muy poco espacio de estacionamiento y una alberca demasiado pequeña. Costo beneficio adecuado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Vallerta Shores

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: It was very authentic and it had a great balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Condos are quite large.
Cons: AIR CONDITIONING!!! Updated appliances
Location: Good restaurants and shopping near by. Gay-friendly beach with a lot of activity and things to do.
The staff were quite accommodating and the location to the beach was great. However, it was so far away from the airport. I mean it was at the very end of the city in the opposite direction from the airport. Very nice condo, but limited air conditioning. Even in the room with air conditioning (I said ROOM, not rooms), it didn't work great and it didn't really have a chance since there were huge gaps in the doors heading out to the balcony. So be prepared to sweat or go when it is not July or August! We were told as we were leaving they have nicer, larger condos. We paid a premium for our room so I was a bit disappointed when I heard they had better. Overall, it was a good experience, but there were hotels/condos near by that were in better condition and cheaper (and with air conditioning in the entire place).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason from Dallas Texas

Perfect!

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful smaller hotel with exquisite service and cleanliness. The beachfront balcony is lovely. There is ample space here with a large bedroom, a living room, and kitchen. Room cleaning was always immaculate and front desk was always helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel under major construction

Posted Jul 12, 2015
So we get to check in and room was not ready till 4:30 pm. After checking in, I find out they are doing a major renovation and have large construction crew still there... I was woken up at 9 am to the sound of hammering and yelling by crew. I made the best of it by leaving premises early and getting back to room late. Even then they were there sometimes after 7 pm. I am sure this place is okay once the work is done but I should have been informed of the excessive noise, dust, and inconvenience beforehand... I would've booked somewhere else if I'd known. So just beware and maybe call ahead to confirm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Great hotel, great location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Our apartment at Vallarta Shores was very spacious and clean. The staff was excellent, especially Lola and Daniel.
Location: There are several beach activities like paragliding and jet-skiing. Walk through Old Town, and visit Los Muertos Brewing for craft beers.
We stayed at Vallarta Shores for a week and we were very happy with everything. The location is great! We had a fabulous sea view, the beach is only steps away, it was within walking distance to several great restaurants, and we wouldn't have wanted to stay in any other part of Puerto Vallarta other than Old Town, which is the prettiest and most quaint in our opinion. This is also a LGBT friendly area. Whenever you don't feel like eating out, you can always buy local produce at the Saturday market, at several grocery stores, or at the meat shop on Constitution.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to town canter, 25 yards to beach

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location, kitchen, view
Cons: Was told they plan to put a large pool in this summer. It is very much a "winter" hotel - there being no way to A/C the open areas in the apartment
Location: Good as long as you don't mind the walk into town along the irregular sidewalks. Will be much quieter when the building next door is complete
Was not sure what to expect but this apartment block in which apartments were individually owned but the block run by an agency. It is about a 10 minute walk from the town center - which means you can get to just about any of the good places to eat within a 5 minute walk (La Palapa right along the beach) - 30 minute (Cafe des Artistes) walk. The walk into town is on the usual cobbled, step over the small streams in the road (i.e. quaint), but having the beach view right out off the window was great. The main problem is that right next door they are renovating an old appurtenant block and converting it into time shares, so there was sporadic noise from large equipment. Rooms were cleaned daily and having a full kitchen was useful although we never used the stove. However microwave, fridge sink etc all useful to have. One of our bathroom lights worked sporadically. Staff were all very friendly and helped whenever needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jason from Denver

Great Penthouse

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
The penthouses were amazing. The personal chef was restaurant quality and very accommodating. Ready to book for next year!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew from Los Angeles

Greatly Disappointed

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel location was great, but the rooms are in desperate need of upgrading. Considering we paid $425 a night I expected something in a little better condition. The appliances in the kitchen were rusting and from the 1970's, the faucet handles in the bathroom were so old that the metal was deteriorating, the doors to the balcony didn't fully close properly. The photo's on the website were far from the reality.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ronen from Vejle

Not unless you're there to party

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel itself is lovely, although way over priced to my opinion. The real disturbance was the LOUD music from the clubs near by. The music was playing throughout the day nonstop. Really ruined the romantic atmosphere we were looking for. I will not stay there again.