Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Fran but a Brit

Great location, minor things needed to be A+

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great location, friendly staff, we would go back.. So first impressions were great, nice big room,important as we have 2 grown boys (late teens) and a 9 yr old. We had 2 bedrooms and a sofabed in the lounge. Rooms were great everything you would need but the sofa bed i wouldnt have let my dog sleep on it. Very rusty due to water and humidity which is understandable, but needs changing. We were provided with another sofa bed but the old one needs to be removed. Weirdly the Wifi on the 3rd floor is very spotty, was having to move rooms when wanting to work or kids wanted to go online which was rare but still you want it to work. On the second night we got upgraded to the sky suite with pool and i have to say this really made our holiday. Kids loved it and was ideal in the evenings to chill out pool side with no other disturbances. Wifi worked faultlessly on the 6th floor, no issues at all. Location is bang on, yes you're in the romantic zone but in all honestly would prefer to be there than with the masses in the built up holiday locations. The old town is great and we got to sample real mexican food and spend time getting to know the locals and culture. the gay community is great and never had any issues, felt very safe all of the time. Beach was great and not crowded and the small zone we had was perfect for relaxing. No rush for seats and umbrellas in the morning. We will be back for sure... and a little shout out to Fabio, great guy and helped us out
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Clean Friendly staff Great location Excellent facilities in the room
Cons: Hard bed Very noisy Not enough beach chairs
Location: Right on a good swimming beach. Many excellent restaurants and bars within 2-10 min walk. The bank ATM is within 5 min.
This hotel is right on the beach, a close walk to some of the best restaurants and beach clubs. A pleasant 20-30 minute walk to the main shopping part of the malecon and the Cathedral. The beach out your front door is very nice for swimming and the hotel has a small, private pool with nice views. The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. My room was spotlessly clean every day - I don't know how considering how much sand I seemed to track in from the beach but it was kept in outstanding condition daily. My only complaint would be about the noise, especially on week-ends and the bed which was so hard that it was like sleeping on a plank. Definitely not comfortable. I had room #8 which is on street level and it was ALWAYS noisy, every car coming or going, every verbal exchange, music from the beach club next door would keep me awake/wake me up. Not a big deal if you a heavy sleeper but a big deal if you aren't. Rooms higher up might be quieter. Also, there aren't enough beach chairs for all guests. On the plus side, the staff really do a great job of making sure that you enjoy your stay and keep the rooms, the pool, and the beach adjoining the property in excellent condition. They work hard and do a wonderful job!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The sky suites are amazing!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Overall, great stay. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is great. The room was incredible and the view is breaking!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toluca, Estado de México

Inconvenientes en mi estancia

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: La cercanía de la playa
Cons: La atención del personal y mantener en buenas condiciones el hotel.
Location: Hay de todo, spa, restaurantes, lugares para visitar como el museo naval y mucha diversión.
Falta de estacionamiento, agua y servicio de cable de TV durante la estancia. Control de ruido nulo, huéspedes o personas en la zona ruidosas. Se suscito incidente de caída de una persona por el techo a la altura de baño de recamará principal, así como caída de enjarre de techo en terraza sin riesgo para mi familia. Si efectivamente arribamos al hotel a las 10 horas para saber su ubicación, nos citaron a las 2:30 pm para ingreso pero después de las 15:00 horas estaban reparando el aire acondicionado y limpiado la habitación aún, eso sí a la hora de salida 12:00 horas nos estaban presionando para dejar la habitación. Además el hotel se encuentra en la zona gay, sería bueno comentarlo a las familias con niños y jóvenes de bajo criterio. Quizá como lo mencione fueron incidentes pero todo ello paso en mi estancia familiar.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Canada

Nice relaxing place

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I spent only one night at Vallarta Shores. They are owned condos in a nice location in front of the beach. This place is in the frienly zone, most couples are gay/lesbian couples, so if this bothers you then I would not suggest this place. For my wife and I this has never been something that bothered us so we enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a one bedroom, with balcony in living area and balcony off the bedroom. It was a nice Mexican feel to the place with brick walls and nice wood frame doors. You can hear the waves crashing down all night long, very relaxing. It was a HUGE space one bedroom, with filtered water, full kitchen with all the things you need for cooking. In front was a private beach that had nice sand and good swimming connditions. It was suggested to us the next time we stay to rent one of the sky units, they have private juccuzzi's and small pool in all suites, also comes with your own private chef. So havin maybe two families sharing a 3 or 4 bedroom is affordable with a movie star experience
3 out of 5
by hector jose from guadalajqra

bien, pero casi sin estacionamiento

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
Bien, pero carece de restaurante, muy poco espacio de estacionamiento y una alberca demasiado pequeña. Costo beneficio adecuado.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Vallerta Shores

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: It was very authentic and it had a great balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Condos are quite large.
Cons: AIR CONDITIONING!!! Updated appliances
Location: Good restaurants and shopping near by. Gay-friendly beach with a lot of activity and things to do.
The staff were quite accommodating and the location to the beach was great. However, it was so far away from the airport. I mean it was at the very end of the city in the opposite direction from the airport. Very nice condo, but limited air conditioning. Even in the room with air conditioning (I said ROOM, not rooms), it didn't work great and it didn't really have a chance since there were huge gaps in the doors heading out to the balcony. So be prepared to sweat or go when it is not July or August! We were told as we were leaving they have nicer, larger condos. We paid a premium for our room so I was a bit disappointed when I heard they had better. Overall, it was a good experience, but there were hotels/condos near by that were in better condition and cheaper (and with air conditioning in the entire place).
5 out of 5
by Jason from Dallas Texas


Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful smaller hotel with exquisite service and cleanliness. The beachfront balcony is lovely. There is ample space here with a large bedroom, a living room, and kitchen. Room cleaning was always immaculate and front desk was always helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel under major construction

Posted Jul 12, 2015
So we get to check in and room was not ready till 4:30 pm. After checking in, I find out they are doing a major renovation and have large construction crew still there... I was woken up at 9 am to the sound of hammering and yelling by crew. I made the best of it by leaving premises early and getting back to room late. Even then they were there sometimes after 7 pm. I am sure this place is okay once the work is done but I should have been informed of the excessive noise, dust, and inconvenience beforehand... I would've booked somewhere else if I'd known. So just beware and maybe call ahead to confirm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Great hotel, great location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Our apartment at Vallarta Shores was very spacious and clean. The staff was excellent, especially Lola and Daniel.
Location: There are several beach activities like paragliding and jet-skiing. Walk through Old Town, and visit Los Muertos Brewing for craft beers.
We stayed at Vallarta Shores for a week and we were very happy with everything. The location is great! We had a fabulous sea view, the beach is only steps away, it was within walking distance to several great restaurants, and we wouldn't have wanted to stay in any other part of Puerto Vallarta other than Old Town, which is the prettiest and most quaint in our opinion. This is also a LGBT friendly area. Whenever you don't feel like eating out, you can always buy local produce at the Saturday market, at several grocery stores, or at the meat shop on Constitution.