Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Hotel and staff were nice but the area where it's located is not that great. Beware families because it is a gay male area. It would be ok if the had families but it's a pick up area for them and some may be vulgar. We went around Christmas and New Years and it was calmer after New Years. Ok for adults but no so for teens and children
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice suites right on the beach---but

Posted Dec 6, 2016
This is absolutely beautiful location right on the ocean and is ideal for walks along the beachand steep stairs for exercise. The only fly in the ointment is that it is quite a busy location.....thumping techno beat music almost 24/7 from busy gay beach club next door, taxis coming and going, garbage truck next door at 7am, end of street and public beach access right there, hotels maintenance guys know everybody and seem to chatter loudly with all their buddies, etc etc. Granted this would be less of an issue on the higher floors, but we were ground floor ....eye and ear level with all the comings and goings. I would recommend this place, but with cautions to make sure you are ok with "the area" and with the unit you are actually booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fran but a Brit

Great location, minor things needed to be A+

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great location, friendly staff, we would go back.. So first impressions were great, nice big room,important as we have 2 grown boys (late teens) and a 9 yr old. We had 2 bedrooms and a sofabed in the lounge. Rooms were great everything you would need but the sofa bed i wouldnt have let my dog sleep on it. Very rusty due to water and humidity which is understandable, but needs changing. We were provided with another sofa bed but the old one needs to be removed. Weirdly the Wifi on the 3rd floor is very spotty, was having to move rooms when wanting to work or kids wanted to go online which was rare but still you want it to work. On the second night we got upgraded to the sky suite with pool and i have to say this really made our holiday. Kids loved it and was ideal in the evenings to chill out pool side with no other disturbances. Wifi worked faultlessly on the 6th floor, no issues at all. Location is bang on, yes you're in the romantic zone but in all honestly would prefer to be there than with the masses in the built up holiday locations. The old town is great and we got to sample real mexican food and spend time getting to know the locals and culture. the gay community is great and never had any issues, felt very safe all of the time. Beach was great and not crowded and the small zone we had was perfect for relaxing. No rush for seats and umbrellas in the morning. We will be back for sure... and a little shout out to Fabio, great guy and helped us out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Clean Friendly staff Great location Excellent facilities in the room
Cons: Hard bed Very noisy Not enough beach chairs
Location: Right on a good swimming beach. Many excellent restaurants and bars within 2-10 min walk. The bank ATM is within 5 min.
This hotel is right on the beach, a close walk to some of the best restaurants and beach clubs. A pleasant 20-30 minute walk to the main shopping part of the malecon and the Cathedral. The beach out your front door is very nice for swimming and the hotel has a small, private pool with nice views. The staff were pleasant and very accommodating. My room was spotlessly clean every day - I don't know how considering how much sand I seemed to track in from the beach but it was kept in outstanding condition daily. My only complaint would be about the noise, especially on week-ends and the bed which was so hard that it was like sleeping on a plank. Definitely not comfortable. I had room #8 which is on street level and it was ALWAYS noisy, every car coming or going, every verbal exchange, music from the beach club next door would keep me awake/wake me up. Not a big deal if you a heavy sleeper but a big deal if you aren't. Rooms higher up might be quieter. Also, there aren't enough beach chairs for all guests. On the plus side, the staff really do a great job of making sure that you enjoy your stay and keep the rooms, the pool, and the beach adjoining the property in excellent condition. They work hard and do a wonderful job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The sky suites are amazing!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Overall, great stay. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is great. The room was incredible and the view is breaking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Vallerta Shores

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: It was very authentic and it had a great balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. Condos are quite large.
Cons: AIR CONDITIONING!!! Updated appliances
Location: Good restaurants and shopping near by. Gay-friendly beach with a lot of activity and things to do.
The staff were quite accommodating and the location to the beach was great. However, it was so far away from the airport. I mean it was at the very end of the city in the opposite direction from the airport. Very nice condo, but limited air conditioning. Even in the room with air conditioning (I said ROOM, not rooms), it didn't work great and it didn't really have a chance since there were huge gaps in the doors heading out to the balcony. So be prepared to sweat or go when it is not July or August! We were told as we were leaving they have nicer, larger condos. We paid a premium for our room so I was a bit disappointed when I heard they had better. Overall, it was a good experience, but there were hotels/condos near by that were in better condition and cheaper (and with air conditioning in the entire place).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel under major construction

Posted Jul 12, 2015
So we get to check in and room was not ready till 4:30 pm. After checking in, I find out they are doing a major renovation and have large construction crew still there... I was woken up at 9 am to the sound of hammering and yelling by crew. I made the best of it by leaving premises early and getting back to room late. Even then they were there sometimes after 7 pm. I am sure this place is okay once the work is done but I should have been informed of the excessive noise, dust, and inconvenience beforehand... I would've booked somewhere else if I'd known. So just beware and maybe call ahead to confirm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Great hotel, great location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Our apartment at Vallarta Shores was very spacious and clean. The staff was excellent, especially Lola and Daniel.
Location: There are several beach activities like paragliding and jet-skiing. Walk through Old Town, and visit Los Muertos Brewing for craft beers.
We stayed at Vallarta Shores for a week and we were very happy with everything. The location is great! We had a fabulous sea view, the beach is only steps away, it was within walking distance to several great restaurants, and we wouldn't have wanted to stay in any other part of Puerto Vallarta other than Old Town, which is the prettiest and most quaint in our opinion. This is also a LGBT friendly area. Whenever you don't feel like eating out, you can always buy local produce at the Saturday market, at several grocery stores, or at the meat shop on Constitution.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to town canter, 25 yards to beach

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location, kitchen, view
Cons: Was told they plan to put a large pool in this summer. It is very much a "winter" hotel - there being no way to A/C the open areas in the apartment
Location: Good as long as you don't mind the walk into town along the irregular sidewalks. Will be much quieter when the building next door is complete
Was not sure what to expect but this apartment block in which apartments were individually owned but the block run by an agency. It is about a 10 minute walk from the town center - which means you can get to just about any of the good places to eat within a 5 minute walk (La Palapa right along the beach) - 30 minute (Cafe des Artistes) walk. The walk into town is on the usual cobbled, step over the small streams in the road (i.e. quaint), but having the beach view right out off the window was great. The main problem is that right next door they are renovating an old appurtenant block and converting it into time shares, so there was sporadic noise from large equipment. Rooms were cleaned daily and having a full kitchen was useful although we never used the stove. However microwave, fridge sink etc all useful to have. One of our bathroom lights worked sporadically. Staff were all very friendly and helped whenever needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Great location and view. Much nicer rooms than we'd expected. Really good alternative to the soul-sucking resorts in PV. The staff were REALLY nice and helpful.