Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugee OR

Nice hotel by the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Pools, convenience, right across the street from some food carts that were pretty good!
Cons: We REALLY didn't like the hard sell we received when we arrived of visiting their newer condo-style hotel in Neuvo Vallarta.
Location: It's on the main strip of hotels in Puerto Vallarta, The marina is nearby, it's right on the beach, walking distance to a mall with big grocery store.
We had a nice time here, although we normally prefer a smaller, more local place to stay. Every evening they set up for a big buffet and entertainment. Pools are great, beach is nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Quiet side of a bigger hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2016
The villa del mar is the smaller, older side of the villa del palmar. For myself, my friend and her 8 yr old daughter if was definitely the preferred spot to be. We were able to partake in the activities and enjoy the pools at the larger resort but preferred the quiet pool at our part of the resort. We passed at doing the all inclusive which turned out to be smart, the food wasn't very tasty at the resort. At out side of the resort there's an outdoor bbb and we cooked in our rooms(stocking up from a close supermarket) and ate across the street at an excellent site that featured food trucks and shipping containers used as little take out restaurants which surround a court yard of dining tables. The food was excellent and way cheaper than the resort. Sushi was amazing! Stand out for our stay at villa deal mar was our cleaning lady Martina who went out of her way to make towel toys and give us ideas for our daily outings. She was like having our own personal consierge. Awesome! At villa deal mar you could either talk to people or do your own thing without the hastle of all the never ending goings on at the villa deal palmar next door .. By far the nicer place to stay. Would def do it again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Clean hotel, good location

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: clean, layout, pools/Jacuzzi, location
Location: 7.5 pesos bus to Centro/Malecon until 11:30pm
Stayed 4 nights beginning Apr 2016. We really enjoyed our stay and could not find fault. Good mix of people (Mexican and foreign) families, older etc.We didn't do all inclusive so we could enjoy eating a different place. It's on the beach, large grounds and full use of both del Mar and villa del Palmar with daily activities around the pool. Drinks around the pool are a bit expensive but they have a couple of happy hours daily. Room was well equipped, clean and everything worked. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Alfred from Fairbanks, Alaska

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
We've been staying at this property since the early 1990's. I think soon after it opened. We were surprised to see that the facility was only half full since we've stayed during the month of March before. If I had the chance, I could fill the remaining rooms with Alaskan's alone if properly advertised. I think you maybe priced to high in the open market and I would think that cash flow is more important than empty rooms. This would and could create brand/location loyalty and exposure to a vast market because like us, we first came on a special promotional offer and have reviewed pricing of this property and others for travel plans since it costs so much to travel here from Alaska plus almost a day to get here. We love the Villa Del Mar Beach Resort and its long term employees. And it the price is right at the time we want to travel, we'll be back to visit this wonderful city of Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 25, 2016
I was there with my wife and our 11 month old daughter. Very safe area. Rite at the beach. 3 pools. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Nice gardens. The only thing that we didn't like was that they talked us into seeing another hotel for a free breakfast which ended up beeing a sales event to sell timeshares. Over all I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Everything was fine I only used the room and took in no other services
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Decent pools. Close to the beach.
Cons: Hot tub is right beside the restaurant, not overlooking the ocean. @ warm pools at the pool closer to the beach that aren't jetted.
Location: PV town is great. Lots of things to see and do. Across the street is a taco restaurant which is fresh and tasty.
Good hotel, nice staff. A few drawbacks - it's an older hotel, no free wifi, no 'office services' to check in for your flight out. They have tennis courts open until 9 or 10pm but they turn the lights out when its dark (around 7ish). They won't turn them on because it will bother other suites that look out on to the courts - however they will turn them upon for a fee..... not sure how paying for them to turn on lights on a 'free to use' tennis court won't bother the suites just because you are paying.....really???!!! The biggest drawback is that when you charge drinks or food to your room you will automatically be charged a service fee (tip), that they don't tell you about. It will show up on your bill when you check out and they won't remove it. That's fraud. You are going to charge me for items and you won't tell me you are going to charge me. So I tip the waiter and then you charge me again on the back-end as well. On principle alone due to that I won't stay there again. You are completely taking advantage of everyone. Whether it turns out to be a lot of $$ or a little, that isn't the point. You need to advise your guest of what the 'hidden' charges are that will show up and what they are for. Doesn't much matter in the end as they will tell you that you are right and that they should have advised you (and everyone else), but they still won't remove the charges. Cash grab. they are taking advantage of everyone who stays there. Sad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

fantastic location, on the beach!

Posted Mar 15, 2016
3 beautiful pools, unbelievably beautifully maintained gardens/grounds. Sports bar and deli round out the restaurant offerings. Great place for seniors or for families with kids. Very attentive staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice hotel service was slow at times.

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Location to downtown.
Cons: Service at beach and pools. could of used additional staff.
Location: Location was central to the tours we decided on.
Very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leth ab canada

nice resort great staff

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: 3 pools gymn nice dining clean room friendly helpful staff good service
Cons: DONT PUT PEOPLE hotel room with bed tiny fridge when they booked suite at villa del mar. need Wi-Fi all rooms for FREE. We book suite to cook.
Location: close to marina and malacon-board walk and big groc stores mall
First day put me hotel room with bed small fridge 8th floor in the back far from elevator. I wasnt happy, next day after complaining put me villa del mar in 1 bdr with 2 bathrooms kit and living room close to relax pool and gymn. Bit of distance to ocean. I paid for suite, than I wasn't stressed. One gentleman had told me few days later, paid for one bdr suite, stuck him hotel room. Hotel said suites all booked up? I felt bad for him. Rest of the trip was good.