Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DF

Excelente ubicación en Vallarta y de la playa.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Muy buena ubicación del hotel. No tenían la habitación que reservé y me cambiaron a una mejor! Excelente atención por parte del personal del hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from qualicum beach

Great location...well tended to.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The people.
Cons: Free internet.
Location: Excellent location...close bus ride to town...grocery stores and very good restaurants near by.
We have been coming to this hotel for 20 years. It is well managed and very well situated. Great people at the hotel..and regulars who return again and again. This is not five star..but very adequate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pictures are deceiving

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: Too noisy.
The pictures are not a true representation of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Perfectly adequate

Posted Nov 30, 2016
It was nice to be so close to the beach. For an All Inclusive there was a lot that was not included. Certain food and drinks, activities. Also it says tips are included but every waiter mentioned that we could tip extra if we wanted. So it put an added pressure. But overall it was a great location. Food was descent. Staff were friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Watch out if you stay at Villa del Mar

Posted Nov 23, 2016
First some good points: The room was large, the appliances worked, the décor and furnishings were very dated but serviceable, and grounds are well kept. OK, now the bad: check-in took 30 minutes and the room was not ready until after 4PM. Don't get stuck in building C, next to the main street. The entrance to this building is a dark corridor and there is no elevator. The street noise cannot be shut out. The water was never hot, barely warm. Other parts of the complex looked much better. So, watch out!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Great location close to everything. Only drawback is there wi-fi policy which either requires you to purchase Wi-Fi services for about $10 a day or to purchase something in their Market.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura, CA

Very acceptable. Central city location.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, excellent restaurants, and friendly staff.
Location: Close to airport, marina, shopping, bank, and downtown area.
Villa del Mar is the older section of Villa del Palmar. You get the best of both worlds as they are connected and you can use all the amenities of the newer facility. No view of ocean. Facility was very clean and comfortable and staff were excellent. We selected the location for the low rate and you get what you pay for. The central city location is convenient for getting to destinations but crowded, noisy streets at your entrance. If you are looking for low rates and central location, this is perfect. If you want a more secluded upscale property, look a little further.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice facility, nice staff overall.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, staff friendly, lots of poolside activities planned
Cons: All staff didn't speak English which was sometimes challenging when you needed something. Had a problem with the room the last night and they wouldn't take off the charge from my bill, VERY DISAPPOINTED with that outcome. There was night time grounds work being done by the staff a few nights after 11pm that was too noisy to be doing at that time when people are trying to sleep.
Location: Lots of excursions to do, Rhythms of the Night was so ferrum, local vendor shopping, boardwalk, mountains nearby, tequila distillery tour free tasting
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colima

de las mejores vacaciones

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: sol playa alberca yacusi entretenimiento juegos de playa spa sauna etc todo secas y en el mismo lugar
desde que se llega al lugar tienes una cálida bienvenida con su personal sus habitaciones en la mejor vista con sus albercas y todo la verdad todo muy bonito cien por ciento recomendado
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, B. C.

DO NOT RECOMMEND

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: There is nothing nearby either walk a distance/taxi or bus
After 33 yrs of annually staying @ this resort I no longer recommend it. From the minute you enter the lobby they are after every cent in your pocket. Without any notice they add each day a room service charge of $ 35.00U.S. plus a 20% tip in all restaurants and pool services. Young women pretending to give "welcome packages" front for time share sales. Guests checking out including ourselves were threatened with security holding our luggage if we didn't pay the surcharge,,,,even if we tipped our maid each day...eventually after meeting with management they waived it...no way to spend a holiday Just a note: they claim this surcharge is divided amoung the maids & gardeners annually...NOT TRUE