Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet , friendly resort.

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: The resort staff and management provide numerous / daily activities to entertain the guests and residents.
Cons: The WIFI / internet charges are extremely high / expensive , why not include in room rate .
Location: Good restaurants , Malecon walks , tours to small villages ( San Sebastion) , fishing , beach walks.
The Del Mar resort part of the larger Del Palmar time share complex is much quieter with all the amenities of the larger complex. The large pool , sundecks with ample lounge chairs and tables, shuffle board , boccie ball , tennis courts,health club / gym ,barbecue facility all within feet of your door make this the ideal location to spend weeks under the sun. The grounds , decks and rooms are very clean and resort staff are friendly and pleasant. We enjoyed all the above and with the help and advice from the friendly concierge staff took several all day excursions to the outbacks of Puerto Vallarta to experience the culture ,history and beauty of the country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Wonderful Resort

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Staff; cleanliness of grounds and room; Mexican ambiance of hotel; size of room; quality of food and drinks; location.
Location: Stores/restaurants within walking distance; Marina District, El Centro and the Malecon are only a 5 minute taxi or bus ride.
Just came back from a week stay at the Villa del Mar and as a frequent traveller to PV, this was the best resort I have stayed at. From check-in to check-out, and in between, everything was quick and all staff - front desk, waiters, busboys, bartenders, bellboys, maids, you name it - were extremely courteous, professional and helpful. Yes, you get the time-share pitch at check-in, but a firm - but pleasant - "No thank you" did the trick. We booked a studio room and were pleasantly surprised at how roomy it was. The kitchenette was stocked with everything we needed and our room was always spotlessly clean. The resort also has a Sports Bar and Mini Mart The grounds are beautiful, food and drinks from the restaurants/bars fabulous and with 3 pools or the beach to choose from, the hardest decision of the day was "beach or pool?" Favourite day was on the beach watching whales breach the water among all the Whale Watching Tour boats ... yes, they were that close off shore. Future trips to PV will be booked at the Villa del Mar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HORRIBLE

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: location was good
Cons: stated above
Check in/out took 30-40 minutes, they didn't have the room I booked and when they said they were upgrading me at no additional cost I was given a room that had a wonderful view of garbage cans, so I couldn't sit on terrace...nothing in the room matches, it need a major update...they do not give free wi-fi even in the lobby....their location in Cabo is much nicer, I will never return to this hotel...when checking out there were 2 separate couples that weren't getting the rooms that they booked
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Stayed at the Del Mar part of the Hotel Villa Del Palmar. Much older section. Accommodations ok. Stayed on fourth floor, no elevator. Had access to all the new, modern Villa Del Palmer. Made the experience great. Still don't like the sales pitch to do the tour for the Time Share. Especially, when I'm held captive to listen to the spill prior to getting my keys to my room. Not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
The hotel staff is fantastic and the location is good; the only issue we had was with other hotel patrons claiming lounge chairs by throwing towels over them and not showing up to the beach until hours later in many cases. The hotel has tried to manage this lack of manners and consideration by posting signs advising against the practice. However, people simply ignore the hotel's request. The hotel does seem to be keeping an eye out for patrons in search of a chair and will do their best to find you a spot on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Very clean and nice rooms

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Our stay at Villa del Mar was remarkable. Although we only stayed 2 nights I have nothing to complain about. The rooms were always kept clean and all the staff was always helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg,Mb

Very Good Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The Beach for great walks and location.
Villa del Mar is co-located with the Villa del Palmar resort which is the more luxurious. Villa del Mar is the older complex and still quite nice. Beware though that Bldg C of del Mar is adjacent to a busy highway and is quite noisy for most of the day. The location is great as it is close to many older and newer restaurants, grocery stores, Starbucks, and a Bus stop. The beach and pool areas are excellent and the service is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, property kept very clean

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Great vacation spot. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orizaba ver.

muy bien !

Posted Jan 29, 2016
El hotel es agradable, las instalaciones muy amplias, acogedoras y completamente equipadas, el trato es muy bueno en especial de la señorita nubia, como recomendación deberían poner mas empeño y calidad en sus shows. de todo lo demás muy bien.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Big and quiet hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Big and quiet hotel everybody was super friendly and the food was very good .they have three beautiful pools.The rooms were super clean and for the price we paid you could not be it. My wife and I would definitely go back .