Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Second time staying here for a 6 day trip to PV..

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Can't say enough good things about this place. sure the room is dated but we used it to sleep. Hotel is in a good area and can get to the malecón in less than 15 minutes. Beach is nice too. Would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: During the 17 days of our stay the bathroom mirror was not once cleaned. I cleaned it myself several times.
Front desk and concierge staff seem unable to field questions about the hotel, direct you to another person who directs you to another and the question never DID get resolved. Pillows very uncomfortable. Chairs uncomfortable after sitting on for any period of time. Microwave heats VERY unevenly. Nice to see you have upgraded the TV's to flat screens but unable to find ANY English speaking programs. The fan above the bed was not operational and the Air Conditioning was sporadic with the remote being difficult to use. Bathroom lighting very difficult. Impossible to apply makeup. Please consider the installation of a lighted (and preferably magnified) mirror. In prior years - we had Olga as our housekeeper. She was absolutely wonderful. Can't even tell you the name of the one this year. We asked her repeatedly to please NOT Put the duvet on the bed as it was too heavy and too hot especially given the inefficiency of the AC. Toiletries not replenished unless we caught up to her and asked for them. We usually give very generous tips to our housekeeping staff but this year we didn't feel the service was worth giving anything at all. We are VERY clean people - the way the floors are cleaned is archaic. All they do is push a wet DIRTY mop around the floor so it is never actually cleaned. On one day - I wore my socks around the room and I am STILL unable to get them clean - they were disgustingly BLACK. The hallway mirror dirty and uncleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Great pools, gym, activities and very clean.
Cons: Availability of affordable wifi...
Location: Right on the ocean, close to buses that go just about anywhere. Taxis are also close by.
The resort was clean and well taken care of. Our room had a kitchenette that was very well stocked with all the necessary utensils, pots, toaster, blender, coffee maker. Pools were clean and lots of available lounge chairs. Gym was very clean and had lots of different types of equipment. My only complaint was that they charge $10 U.S. a day for wifi and there is no where on the resort you can go to get it for free. That is a ridiculous amount to pay for something that is so common nowadays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Lori Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best of both worlds

Posted Mar 14, 2017
If you like the beach grab a chair at the pool by the beach. If you need peace and quiet get a chair at the other pool. Both are beautiful. Nice to have a choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel, close to the beach

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The option of the 2 different pool areas as well as the option to grill.
Cons: The rooms we stayed in the past 3 years could be updated with newer televisions and refrigerators.
Location: We enjoyed the new food truck park across the street with the live band.
We have been coming to this hotel for several years now. Although this is an older hotel it is kept up quite nicely. The rooms are just okay. We really like the new addition of the sports bar! The staff is EXCELLENT! Easy check in and easy check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Do NOT book this hotel!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: only good thing was it was close to downtown and beach but on a very busy main street so loud
Cons: Everything could be improved... just a horrible experience.
Where to start. We arrived excited about our stay which quickly turned to disappointment and anger. The check in staff did not act like they had any sense of urgency to get people checked in. We waited a long time to get served. When we got to the front desk finally, THEY HAD NO ROOM FOR US. We had booked and paid for our room 2 months prior through Expedia and all they said to us was "this is just how it goes - Expedia doesn't know what availability we have when you book"!!! WHAT?!? They didn't care and basically shrugged their shoulders. I was not standing for it and asked to speak to Management. Management was nowhere to be found - shocking. I refused to budge until we spoke to someone else. Finally they got someone on the phone and they told them to get us a room. They found one suddenly?? When they took us to it as soon as the door opened it stunk of mold!!! It was terrible. The beds were hard and had springs poking up. I just wanted to cry at that point. He suggested we talk to them about sending us to Neuvo Vallarta instead to their more upscale resort. We had no idea what that meant or how far away it was. We went back to the front desk and I said there was no way we were staying in that room. There were now 3 couples at the desk without rooms! At the end we all got sent to another resort which was very far from downtown which changed our whole trip. I will NEVER book with the Villa Del Mar group again!!! Booker beware....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Shelley We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: Internet cost is prohibitive 100:00 US for 14 days, most hotels are free
Great except for internet, cost way out of line Lots to do, close to downtown price is extra good for what you get
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Don Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago Area

You cannot ask for more for the money!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: Better TV reception and include internet.
Location: Next to the hotel is a new Mall, very beautiful. Across the street is an outdoor food court as well as 4 new restaurants. Town and Marina easy by bus
It is geared for older people, has pool, beach, tennis court, restaurant and exercise room, all within easy walking at the resort. Our room had very poor TV reception and we wish Internet were included in the price. All in all, a very convenient place and very nice for the money paid. We take local bus into town as well as to the Marina for dinners at night. Puerto Vallarta has many good restaurants and has improved immensely in the last 5 years. We have been going off and on for the last 20 years and hope to do so again next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Johanna Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Very nice accommodation. Appeared that all guests were enjoying the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by rcobos, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review. Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel easy access to many emmenities

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Good would stay again if wifi provided free of chatg
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
As RDM of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa, I really appreciate your comments as they assist us in providing the high level of service our guests have come to expect. We will pass your comment to the owners for review. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta