Ratings based on 1,008 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina

Great Hotel in Great Location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, this hotel offered all inclusive packages which we purchased. It was great to order off the menus ( no ala cartes)!
Location: Right on the beach this location is close to airport, shopping & town.
We stayed at Villa del Palmar for a family get together. Everyone in our group of 12 stayed here. We had kids from 9-85 in the group & everyone totally had a great experience! From the always friendly staff to the grounds, rooms & food we thoroughly enjoyed Villa eel Palmar!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
When we arrived, they told us that they were overbooked, so that we could not stay there as planned. They offered us a room at another resort outside of Nuevo Vallarta, miles away, in the middle of nowhere. We stayed at the ESTANSIA, which turned out to be a lovely, new resort. We still had to taxi into town, to the stores and restaurants and places to eat. * Could rate the resort, since after hours on the phone, sitting in the lobby, they sent us someplace else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Horrible front desk!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Everybody in the front desk are unprofessional! Won't do anything to help you. They will lie about reservations and mess up your reservation. Worst experience ever. And i'm always staying at different hotels. They will pick and choose, who is worth their time. Horrible reception. The room keepers do a good job though. Clean rooms. Thats about the only good thing about the hotel honestly. I suggest you try to book other hotels before this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo ND

Great Place

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The location.
Location: walking distance to the mall/stores, 4 mile walk to the Malecon. Amusement part right across the street.
nice place, great location, walking distance to the mall/stores. The staff is very courteous, our maid wasn't that great, left hair on the bathroom floor all week, the toilet took 3 flushes to flush. Breakfast buffet was to expensive, the french toast was cold. The Cartel was always present on the beach selling their products. Seems to be an older crowd that stays here, an old peoples home more or less. Oh and no free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, clean, attractive hotel. Close to beach!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Unless you are an owner, you don't have access to free wifi, and the fee is very unreasonable.
Everything was great. The view was awesome & the beach is very close access. There are enough pools to accommodate all wings of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna

Hotel right on a nice walking beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly
Location: Close to downtown
Enjoyed the activities at the hotel close to downtown
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Laid Back Hotel in Hotel Zone

Posted Feb 8, 2017
This hotel has a nice private beach, good restaurants, and friendly, helpful staff. It is a very long walk (45 minutes through a not so nice part of town) to the downtown part of Puerto Vallarta, where all of the restaurants and shopping are, so I recommend not staying here if you plan to spend most of your time downtown. We liked the hotel overall, but there were two major downsides- the beds are quite hard and uncomfortable, and the beach chairs are old and uncomfortable. The poolside chairs are much nicer, but the beach chairs should be replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Close to the beach

Posted Feb 8, 2017
It's a nice hotel for how old it is. Very well maintained. There are some restaurants within walking distance outside of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Beware this is not a hotel but a timeshare

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location. Beach. Cleanliness. Good restaurants nearby.
Cons: Expedia should be clear in the hotel description what type of property this is and that you will be pushed to sit through their marketing presentation
This is presented in Expedia as a regular hotel but it is not. It is a marketing location for a series of properties this company owns. Once you arrive they try to sell you on buying into their properties so you can stay at their locations at much reduced rates after you buy in as a member, which is not cheap. They are very aggressive in their sales pitch and keep bugging you to come to one of their 90 minute sales pitches. If you can ignore all that, the property itself is nice. A good location with a nice beach. The room was clean and well equipped. However, all the rooms available to us as non-members of their property association were on the street side which is quite noisy all day long. And there was a carnival with rides right across the street that played music until 11 or 12 at night. I would not stay here unless you are already a member of their property association.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice place to stay and enjoy a pleasant vacation

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and easy to get to location
Cons: not much
Location: Beach, Board walk, shopping, Marina and plenty of restaurants near by
Villa del Palmar is a very nice place to spend a vacation. The hotel offers 4 restaurants on site each with it's own specialty...sea food, Italian, Mexican and sports bar. I tried the sea food, pasta and mexican food and was pleased with each. There are two pools and jacuzzi on site and the beach is just steps away. The concierge, front desk staff, bar tenders, housekeepers, waiters and activity personnel are all really friendly and helpful. As is most often the case, this facility is part of a larger hotel group. Therefore, you'll likely be pressed to listen to a sales pitch for their time share options. Whether you decide to listen is up to you. I've politely declined and continue on with my vacation. If you decide to go into downtown Puerto Vallarta, you can catch a taxi at the hotel entrance or walk out to the main street and hail your own ride or take a bus into town. The hotel is a 15 minute ride from the airport depending on traffic. I booked a small studio and was pleased with the accommodations. The room was clean and well maintained. There were plenty of towels and the bed was very comfortable. My room had a kitchenette that come with a microwave, small frig and utensils, which came in handy. I stayed in the main tower which offers ocean and mountain view. I opted for the mountain/city view; still pleased with that choice. Overall, it's a nice, safe and inviting local. Some sites offer "once in a life time" deals for this hotel. Beware...you get what you pay for.