Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R.S., Laguna Niguel

The beach is your backyard!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Very clean, friendly staff and amazing location. The food is not the greatest, stick with finger food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and the views. The people were very friendly, too.
Cons: More options for food and more flexible hours.
Location: There is a lot to do within taxi distance. Walking distance didn't afford us much other than some vendor shopping and restaurants.
We stayed in two separate suites. The main suite was perfect. The air in the second suite did not work. It was humid and very hot. The sliding shower door in the second suite shattered into a million pieces when we slid it to climb in. The hotel itself is beautiful. The grounds are kept very clean. The pool was comfortable, although the swim-up bar hours weren't great. The pool closes early too so don't anticipate a late night swim. Our only real complaint was the all-inclusive food options. There are 2 restaurants on site. A week of the same menu gets very old. We were entitled to use the restaurants at the adjoining resort, but they, too got old. We found ourselves eating off the resort even though we had paid for all we could eat and drink.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best all inclusive we have visited by far!

Posted Jun 25, 2016
I'll start by saying I don't like all inclusives. Actually I think it's I've never found one to satisfy me until this hotel. I'll start my review on the food. Food: The restaurants are few and the menu is good. What seperates this vacation to all others is the staffs willingness to please you! Victor the Chef took great pride in taking special orders and truly making them special. The food was great and the presentation equally wonderful. Look at the pictures. I will say we tipped well for custom meals so I'm not sure if that helped. In room chef: Victor and his assistants Roberto and Bernardo cooked dinner in our suite. Worth it and would do again. They allowed us to feel at home with great conversations. They explained the meal, ingrediants and the presentation. I like to cook so this was fun and educational. Room service: Again anything you wanted and served with a smile. Beaches, cruises, Atlantis, other all inclusives don't hold a candle to these people. Read my reviews to see I hated all inclusives before this. Room: penthouse suite. Wow wow wow and what a view. Doors that open completely to allow in the fresh air. The waves so loud you need to close the doors a bit. Space and comfort like home. You want more info let me know. I'm Busy but these people deserve it!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Perfect beach hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
I wanted to take my family to a nice beach front hotel and this place was more than what I expected. Friendly staff, very helpful and they recomended the best restaurants on the towns nearby. I forgot my US passport on the safe and they mailed it to me. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016
This hotel was very clean! The staff was very friendly and helpful! We had a group of 7 and none of us had anything bad to say about our vacation!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Surprised by Expedia

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: We liked the views, the servers and hotel staff.
Cons: The beach sand is hard to walk on - very grainy They only had 1 restaurant open during our visit. Get rid of all the fake orchids! Ugly!
We were at the Villa La Estancia for a wedding. The grounds were beautiful as were the facilities and the ocean views. We were surprised when we checked into the resort that Expedia had upgraded our room to a suite. Nice touch! They have a sister resort that is next door and all facilities are inter-changeable. The wedding events were all very well done. We usually stay at another resort in PV which we like better, but for the price it was a great alternative and we were able to be with all the wedding guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

not for me.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
It was ok. But it's not the kind of place I would come back to or tell my friends and family to come to. The food was horrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was in a good location.

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Food, service, comfort of rooms, check out procedures, etc.
Location: Sayulita 30 min drive Punta Mita 40 min drive
Hotel location was great. Wedding was amazing. Hotel food was horrible. Price for food was reasonable. Room was small and disappointed we were not upgraded to suite as hotel was 30% occupied at the time of our stay. Pool was nice and suitable for both adults and kids. Staff was very kind but slow to serve and constantly either did not understand our request or forgot. Service was horrible when compared to Four Seasons or St. Regis. Front desk staff was not very accommodating and check out process was a nightmare. Come on hotel staff, when you are operating below 30% occupancy and demand 12PM check out with no exceptions, that is ridiculous. Overall I would definitely not return at the nightly rate of $275 for studio. Check out options in Sayulita (30 minute drive but more secluded).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: My family really enjoyed the pool area, activities for the kids and the great staff.
Cons: Security and safety, my watch went missing from our room. Only the cleaning staff has access to the rooms.
Beautiful resort with a very friendly and helpful staff. From the moment we arrive to the time of our departure everyone in the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful. The staff in the pool area, works very hard to provide prompt and curteous service. Unfortunately on the day before our departure, I left my watch in the room before we went to the pool. I did not notice it missing until we were at the airport, I immediately contacted the hotel but it was never returned.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice All Inclusive

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Size, views, nice beach, cleanliness, staff, food, kid friendly. No staff running pool activities and trying to get you up to partake. Quiet.
Cons: Enforcing the "no reserving lounge chairs poolside" policy so people can relax and sleep in and not stress about not having a chair for the day.
Location: Great location. Quiet. Great beach. 20-30 minutes from Sayulita (although, so crowded it wasn't really worth it), 15 mins from PV.
Take all of this info. in while considering we were there during spring break (one of the busiest times)... My family really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean with great views. The resort didn't feel too big. The food was good (restaurants and poolside), but it was hard to get into the restaurants without making a reservation a day or 2 ahead. The drinks were tasty, but we usually ordered doubles, as they usually seemed on the weaker side (but better than the other resorts I've been too). There are a couple of things that weren't ideal: 1) The "free use" of the water equipment (kayaks, paddle boards, boogie boards), was a pain. They only had 2 or 3 paddle boards, a couple double kayaks and a couple single kayaks (shared bw La Estancia and the resort next door). Also, they never opened the rental hut at the same time, so you were always waiting and then may not even get a boat. They also opened later in the morning when the water starts to get more rough. 2) It was next to impossible to get a lounge chair poolside. The hotel has a "policy" that you can't reserve chairs, but it isn't enforced, so you had to wake up before 7am to get down there and grab a chair. Good luck getting several together. That took away from the "relaxation" aspect, somewhat. It was maddening to see that chairs had towels and 1 personal item on them, to reserve, but no one would sit in them almost all day, often. I won't go back during this time of year, again.