Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would stay again!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Great buffet breakfast
Cons: As with many hotels in mexico the attention to detail in the rooms just doesn't get fixed. Like how is the plumbing really working well or not.
Location: the RV tour and Mr Solution that right around the corner. we always go to him for any questions we have about anything. this should be your go guy
Great location, cant ask for a friendlier staff no matter who they are. Loved the buffet breakfast that you get if not the all inclusive. There is just nothing not to like. We would be more than happy to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Leandro, United States of America

Bad old rundown hotel. Major renovation needed

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Old antiquated hotel. In need of a major upgrade. Walls were dirty, AC was to loud, seemed as balcony hadn't been cleaned in a while, lounge chairs old and ripped, some light fixtures didn't work. Won't be staying here anymore.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not what we expected.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Location is good for shopping and downtown.
Cons: Very poor suite amenities. Update this and it would be much better. The only knife we had was a large bread knife. Nothing else. Furniture needs help.
Location: Close to Mega and downtown.
Hotel is very dated. They are working on it. But it will be a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from anywhere, U.S.

Fantastic staff and very clean!

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and tremendously nice, caring, helpful staff.
Cons: This hotel probably struggled like most in recent years and is a bit run down in some areas, however, they were working on improvements top down.
Location: Not much but positioned about midway between the marina and the downtown Boardwalk where all the action is. 5 minute taxi ride 70 pesos = about $4.
If you're looking for an inexpensive, no frills stay, this is a great option. The staff in every area were extremely helpful, positive, nice and always had a greeting with a smile on their face. The front desk helped us get an appointment with a really great local dentist, a trip to a beautiful grand cathedral and to several exceptional restaurants. Everything was very clean and well kept. We were only in our room long enough to shower and sleep for a 5 day stay. If this is the type of getaway you're looking for, I don't think you can go wrong for the price. Pool was small but clean and just fine for a quick dip to cool off. Almost everyone we met were Canadian and they really enjoyed hanging at the pool for the day. I preferred to get out and walk the soles off my shoes until it was time to stop for a cold Corona for 20 to 25 pesos. Current exchange rate is about 18 pesos to $1., do the math on that! By the way, we ate everything from burgers to seafood soup. No problems and delicious all the way around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, amenities close

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, could speak English checking in
Cons: Our friends room was not a kitchen suite, the room was dark & old
Location: Easy bus access
Liked our room, was a kitchen suite, overlooked pool & could sneak a small peek at the ocean! Staff great! Used pool at Canto del Sol, nice to access sister resort which is ocean front
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice location but room needed updating. Dark, old

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Good location and friendly
Cons: Our room could have been updated but another room we visited was fine
Location: Old PV, shopping, beaches were good
Helpful staff and clean - good breakfast that came with the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Cons: Reduced rates for construction. Drinking water station. Coffee or coffee filters for the room. Too expensive for such simple accommodations.
Reduced rates for construction. Drinking water station. Coffee or coffee filters for the room. Too expensive for such simple accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Good location but....

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Clean, nice staff, good location.
Cons: Weed out the timeshare BS. Reflects terribly on the staff and facility.
Location: Close to downtown. Vallarta is jam packed with stuff to do which is why I like it.
Good location and price point but the hotel does not include anything, not even a drink of water. Seriously. Also, beware that the "Concierge" downstairs is not really a concierge but a timeshare agent. They will sell you up the river if you let them. Very inappropriate. Bought the all inclusive next door at Canto del Sol. Not really worth it for $50 per person. Food pretty mediocre. Can do much better in the neighborhoods for a lot less money. Also, one of their employees ripped us off for $400 in overpriced tours. Hotel management admitted the robbery, said they fired the employee, but in the end not much they could do. Also, pool staff could be overhead talking about the "pinche gringos" if you dared asked for something special (like a fresh piece of bread).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from british columbia,canada

no beach

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: the airconditioning was awesome and the beds were comfy!
Cons: the ac was constantly running and the fan was loud!
Location: the plaza had some good shops! And only half hour to go walking down to the town to shop only payed 6 bucks for a taxi back!
well to begin with we were under the impression that you could go next door to canto del sol and use there beach and we thought it was inclusive but we had no choice when we got there. In order to have a good vacation we had to pay extra, but had to sit through 2 hours listening to a pushy guy reguarding timeshare in order to get our gift( which was to use amenities over at canto) and they were trying to real in suckers) we were so upset one thing though at the villa.s they had awesome A/C. I am warning people to make sure you know what you are getting before booking . We had to pay to canto 500 more to use exclusive and after that we had a great vacation! But be careful when you book especially when it's on line! We had fantastic weather and met lots of great people! No elevator but was good to walk upstairs!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice location

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Not a good customer service in front desk lady in charge not helpful doing arranchments with reservations . Not a good experience staying there.!!!