Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Nice hotel. Beach beautiful. Near Puerto Viejo town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carleton place ontario canada

Very nice hotel a stones throw away from the ocean

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel cariblue was probably the nicest hotel there we first stayed in a standard room. There ok but we upgraded and moved to the back close to the pool room with a tv are much nicer i would recommend them. The only thing this hotel should do is invest and install minifridges in all rooms other than that its a great place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Staff and Very Secure

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The staff was extremely helpful! From making sure that we were able to check in and get a good room, to assistant with booking excursions and calling Taxis, they were so kind through the entire stay. The bungalow was beautiful - it was super clean, very "authentic" looking/feeling, and it even had a hammock! In the hotel (and the city in general) we felt very safe and comfortable. Very excited to come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Not as described

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly and put forth reasonable effort. Food was above average and well presented.
Cons: Many needed upgrades on infrastructure.
Location: Dumpy, drug ridden beach town with a lot of slob tourist and unsavory locals that feed off them. Very impoverished area. Lots of rain.
While this facility is exotic and sizable in design and layout, it needs a lot of upgrades. Looks neglected and tired. A.C. would keep shutting off. T.V. had no reception. Bedding really cheap. Bed squeaked with the slightest movement. Lots of outside noise. Had a very poor sleep experience. That being said, not a lot of choice in this dump of a town. Visit was business driven. Would never come here for pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Peaceful resting place

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Orbitz
We arrived to cool washcloths to cool ourselves followed by refreshing juice before we were escorted to our room. the room was very pleasant and the hammock and table and chairs outside was a nice touch. Also the refreshing pool and showers after the beach time was very peaceful!! Very friendly and accommodating staff for all our questions, and willingness to call our taxis. We would love to stay longer next time!
5 out of 5
by Roberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

It's got pluses and minuses....

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The grounds, and the action off the front porch over looking the ocean.
Cons: The room needs a massive upgrade. All of the rooms of the upper floor of the ocean front building need work. The lower rooms were much nicer.
Location: Cocales beach, Manzanilla, jaguar sanctuary, Bri Bri tours, the main strip in Puerto Viejo, Panama border.
Without a doubt, the grounds are spectacular. You could literally spend an entire day just walking around and marvelling at the beauty of the miniature rainforest that the hotel is situated within. It is surrounded by exquisite trees, and flowers, gardens and pools. Hummingbirds constantly dart about, as do may other species of birds. Sloths can be seen in the trees, howler monkeys occasionally prowl the upper branches of the tallest trees and poison dart frogs as well as a variety of lizards can be found throughout the grounds. That is the plus. Our room, which was room 406, on the second floor of the ocean facing building, needs a lot of work. The sink was nearly falling off the wall, and the "vanity" that it was contained in was a mess. The lights in the room are white bright, compact florescent bulbs that give the suite a clinical feeling. We left them off almost all of the time. The doors to the room are extremely loud when opening, and especially when closing as there is no weather stripping to insulate the wood on wood contact. There is also a large plum tree tat continuously dropped plums on the metal overhang covering the deck. It dropped them all night long, creating a very loud bang each time one dropped. There were no dressers, but rather bamboo open shelves, leaving the clothes exposed to the dampness all day and night. There is also no coffee maker in any of the rooms, aside from the apartment, which we never saw.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SAN JOSE, COSTA RICA

Nice hotel, one of the best in Cocles/Puerto Viejo

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Naturaleza, jardines, piscina, staff
Very nice hotel, great location in front of the beach. Oceanbeach rooms are very large and comfortables.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Luis S., Hotel Management
Thanks for your opinión, we always try to improve our selves, and this is a motivation to keep going at that way.
5 out of 5
by Christian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but...

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The facility is pretty nice. Rooms are good.
Cons: Wifi coverage inside the room. Beach and pool towel availability.
Location: Visit Manzanillo Beach, Cocles or Punta Uva. Tamara restaurant in Puerto Viejo is a must. Try Cahuita National Park; wonderful beach
No TV inside the room. Wifi coverage in our room was poor; I had to get outside the room to connect to wifi network. One thing that is displeasing in a hotel in front of the beach is that they don't provide beach or pool towels and they direct you to purchase some at the souvenir store. My experience in general was good however I feel the hotel is a bit overpriced given the negative facts I just highlighted.