Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quite, right on beach, away from bustle of town

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The hotel has a very rustic and chill vibe. The hotel staff are very nice and helpful. Black sand beach right at the property. Nice pool. Decent breakfast. Would have been happier with a room on the second floor for view and more privacy. The whole town has a rustic and chill vibe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

New meaning of "rustic" !

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Hotel was advertised as beach hotel with ocean views, neither was true, and I even question the "hotel" part. We arrived late (we did let them know), they e-mailed us room number and left key in room, but nobody waited for us. English is troublesome, communication was almost impossible, we were communicating through e-mails sent to only person (Bridgette) knowing English. The room was outdated rundown condition kept under primitive conditions. Cockroach infestation was so bad, we couldn't sleep from the noise they were making ! Their size was huge (were talking 2 inches or more). If you could imagine: there were sticky roach catching pads under every furniture/bed legs. After complaining staff said it was normal around this part of country. After first night we wanted to leave, only reason we stayed that the nice hotel close by (on the beach with ocean views) we pick was sold out. We didn't want better room, we wanted to leave ! They bagged us to stay (no refund and their best room, and no other lodging options around) we stayed. This place is a joke (if you noticed I didn't call it hotel), would not book it ever again. By the way: the room "upgrade" had lot fewer roaches, so infestation is not "normal". Food was mostly rice and beans, no dinning options ( we had all our meals in hotel close by). Changes needed in this place, Expedia should not embarrass themselves by offering this place as a lodging option. We do not recommend this place !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Holden Beach, NC

Rustic for certain.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Positives: Beautiful views, clean pool, convient to Puerto Viejo, banana azul is close by and has a nice restaurant bar and facilities. Negatives: No restaurant or bar on site, breakfast is minimal (no coffee avail until 8:00), wifi is not very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

rustic but the feel of old Costa Rica

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: the location
Location: all the tours in the area will pick you up and drop you off. Downtown is less then a mile and reminded me of an old world bazaar on the water-
If you are looking for a fancy resort-don't go here! To me this place was awesome! This is what you expect to find back in the 60's- no air conditioning, no TV, no fridge,coffee pot or microwave. All you get is bed(s), shower, sink, toilet and a ceiling fan- what was most amazing is there were no bugs or mosquitoes. We slept every night with the double doors to the balcony open and it was very comfortable! The beach was probably one of the best I have ever been to- no one hardly ever there and nothing but sand and cool water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila pa

Posted Feb 25, 2017
It is called rustic because the buildings are all dark lumber and looks like a mountain retreat. The location is great on the beach. Room nice with a porch with a view of the ocean. It's not the ritz but in all a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX, USA

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Nice tranquil location on the beach just north of Puerto Veijo. Close to bike into town but away from all the noise, and they have a pool!
Location: Nice beach just 50 yards from the room to sunbath, swim or surf. Puerto Veijo is just a slight bike ride away for shopping or nightlife.
The staff Was great and wentout of thier way to make you feel welcomed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Why you shouldn't stay here!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The vibe...it's friendly and away from the town.
Cons: The wifi and some kitchen facilities.
Got your attention! This place is amazing. Don't stay here if you are looking for a Hilton stay It's not that type of accomodations It's a quaint, 24 room hotel with basic amenities, clean room, right across from the beach and a POOL! there isn't to many. The staff here make the stay so comfortable. Juan (the manager) is very helpful, speaks good english and is always around to answer questions. A few points to note. Their is limited or NO wifi in the rooms, so you will need to hangout in the lobby and commune with the other people. There are no kitchen facilities for guests, but they do serve up a really nice Costa Rica style breakfast from 8-10am. The Point restaurant up the road (5 min walk) has good prices and food as well. The Banana Azul down the road has a lovely restaurant and happy hour 2-1 drinks from 3-8pm, but it is a bit pricey. The Rooms: basic and comfortable. There were no bugs to be found and I stayed in two different rooms. There is no AC but the rooms are fairly comfortable with the 0cean breeze and fans. The pool - well there isn't to many hotels in the area that have one, so this was a huge PLUS. quite and well maintained. The beach - it's a beautiful black sand beach. Personally I didn't swim as I found the seas to rough, but saw lots of locals out there swimming and surfing. The weather - Its February. There was rain usually in the morning and evenings and sun during the day...so don't let the weather forecast fool you. It's worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Very clean hotel with excellent breakfast.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Large room, great breakfast, nice people.
Cons: there is not TV and no AC but none were needed
Location: close to Puerto Viejo, great walks on the beach, right with nature. not overly crowded
Facilities were well kept, rooms were large and clean. Great walks on deserted beach to one side and to town on the other.
2 out of 5
by Karen

Disappointing and pricey!

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Well, lets start with the positive: the room was very large......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Next to the Caribbean

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Nice breakfast included, hotel walking distance to good eats and beach.