Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, front of the beach

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Really nice hotel, quite and clean Excellent food The only bad thing is that the parking lot es too small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale beach

A Disappointing experience

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Systems of operation
Location: Sold as Puerto Viejo, but is in Cocles...a bit of a far walk into town. Restaurant next door..La Pecora Nera, best meal and service in Costa Rica!
Starting with check-in, where we had to move twice to find satisfactory accommodations...TV not properly working nor air conditioning, distressed "upgraded replacement, finally achieved success. Went to restaurant to await 3PM check-in time, event though restaurant was empty, still took more than 45-minutes to be served lunch. One dish was a Cesar salad and roasted corn...not too complicated. Next day's breakfast was almost as slow, both hot meals came cold, etc. Beach club was unkempt and less than pleasing. Detoured through someone's lawn due to construction at entrance-way. Little to no service at the beach. Allowed guests to park in off-site parking lot, blocking our exit on day of departure and not having knowledge of the owners of both vehicles that were blocking mine, which was supposed to be hotel policy, causing more than half-hour delay, until they called a "driving expert" who extracted the vehicle from the lot, thankfully. Beautiful Jacuzzi pool was very cold and not heated (service person told us it was "natural temperature?" Location was excellent; however, execution was flawed...this is a work in progress that should be improved before I would recommend to anyone. We will NOT return there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Wonderful staff, and very nice room and accommodations. Wish I would have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with Jungle Vibe

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel right across the street from the beach. Breakfast was included and was delicious. Room was a nice size, always kept clean, and air conditioning was a nice feature. Bathroom could use a little updating, just a few minor issues. Shower did not drain too well, some new caulking needed, just minor things. Bedsheets had a couple stains but were otherwise clean. Overall one of the best hotels in the area. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. The hotel restaurant at the beach is very nice also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

best boutique hotel in costa rica. really friendly

Posted Oct 20, 2017
everything was perfect and nothing a problem. really friendly staff and helpful in organising day trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel is great, wonderful location, peaceful, but close to vibrant town night life too. The staff are outstanding. From the moment you arrive until you depart. Thank you Diego and Anna Maria, you are 2 of the best ambassadors ever, and you are a great asset to Le Cameleon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Lovely air conditioned hotel with fab pool

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: About a mile and a half from the main hub of restaurants, easily cycled,but it has its own bar and restaurant so you can dine in.
This hotel is wonderful! Opposite Cocles beach, with its own beach club, it has a wonderful tranquil pool where you can just chill out. ALL the staff are wonderful, and can't do enough for their guests. The food is great - breakfast around the carp pool is spectacular. Our rooms were cleaned every day by the wonderful friendly staff and with the unique twist of the room colours being changed every day. I really recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay in Puerto Viejo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bixby, Oklahoma

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Cons: In my previous stay I left a review asking for coffee makers in the rooms, this stay they did just that. They listened and improved their rooms.
Location: The location is further towards the back of town, but quiet, peaceful and very pretty. There is lots of eateries, ride bikes, the beach, and tours
#1 Welcoming and Check-in rating- 5 rating We arrived late to Le Cameleon, but it was not a problem. We were offered 2 pretty and refreshing welcome drinks while we got checked in. #2 Room Accommodations/Amenities/Alcohol- 5 rating I like the fact that all rooms at Le Cameleon have a white overtone, it shows that the hotel is proud of its cleanliness policy and is willing to show it. The room is sexy and comfortable, the wi-fi is very good, the bathroom is spacious and just as sexy as the room itself. I left a review suggesting that they include coffee makers in their rooms, this time around there were coffee makers in room. #4 Grounds/Pool and Security- 5 rating Security is in effect at Le Cameleon. Upon checkin they will take down your auto information and they will watch it for You, although the area is extremely safe and worry of theft is an after thought. The grounds are absolutely among the top of places I’ve stayed, the pool area is very attractive and will call your name. #5 Dining Options/Restaurant(s) and Quality- 3 rating The restaurant for Le Cameleon is across the street from the hotel, it is a pretty setting and the beach is a great place to hang out and relax, they provide chairs but no umbrellas. The beach is fun and it is very clean. #6 Hospitality and Customer Guest Service- 5 rating Mr. Diego, the ambassador for the Le Cameleon was the brightest star of our stay. Made all the necessary arrangements and was instrumental in our 2night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Amersham UK

Tropical Paradise

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The beach and NOA beach club is typical of the area - basic and not very appealing.
Location: Tons to do! Puerto Viejo is a lively, funky and rustic place - loads of great restaurants. Cauhita National Park has great snorkelling/rainforest
A beautiful hotel, set in a truly tropical location. Lovely pool, excellent staff and great food and drinks. We booked a junior suite - literally 30 seconds from the pool. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, excellent bathroom, robes, power shower, top class amenities and quiet. Breakfast was serves at the market place restaurant - in the midst of a separate and beautiful area in the hotel grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Little piece of paradise

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This hotel is set in amongst the forest, but also right across from a beautiful stretch of beach, peaceful and romantic, no crowds of people. Staff are lovely, feeling of being part of a small family. We will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Le Caméléon Staff.., Hotel Management
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy with your experience and we feel very fortunate that soon we will see you again.