Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San José, Costa Rica.

Overpriced, needs mayor fixing and updates.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Overpriced hotel. None knew our two families were coming. Not very organized. Very basic kitchen, stove didn't work, TV didn't work, only one bathroom for two bedrooms, water flow extremely low, tasted and smelled extremely unpleasant, no lighting to walk from parking area to room ( we had to use our flashlights), gym was non operational, old, rusty, no A/C and windows broken. Pool was very nice but lights were loose (not safe). Pool beds were old and dirty (can't be used). WiFi worked randomly. Refrigerator, coffee maker and blender were nice. A/C in each room worked well. Place needs some mayor fixing up. Maintenance guy was very pleasant and nice, he came to show us a sloth that was crossing the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Mariam, Hotel Management
Querida huésped,lamentamos mucho su descontento,tal vez se debe mas al hecho de que usted reservo para dos personas y llego con cuatro,que pena que no recuerde que a pesar de ese fallo suyo tuvimos la amabilidad de darle una suite de dos cuartos,que usted no la pago alegando no tener dinero,que consentimos que nos pagara días después de marchar del hotel. También olvido que la salida del hotel era a las doce y que usted seguía jugando en la piscina con su familia ,tuvo que ser reprendida por estar el hotel lleno y necesitar la suite que usted ocupaba .Lamentamos que todos estos errores suyos tengamos que pagarlos nosotros ...la tv ,cocina,piscina,gim...todos estaban funcionando con usted...gracias por su visita,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
This "hotel" was the worst we took in our trip in Costa Rica. For that amount of money go to another hotel, DO NOT STAY HERE. It's away of beach, away of Puerto Viejo center, dark street, no signs to recognize there is a hotel. Is not a hotel, is a group of cabinas..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by VIP Hotel , Hotel Management
We can only say that you were never here. It is confused of place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice place. Quiet place. We saw monkeys and frogs every day. Need car to get to the town. Yoga is relatively closed by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San José, Costa Rica

Expected more

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: surrounded by nature, wildlife and pure air. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, with full kitchens. The owner is generally nice and very involved in community and environmental affairs. Cons: the hotel is rather isolated and the road isn't very good. The beach is about 700 meters away. No air conditioning. Not very accessible to the elderly or disabled due to walkways covered with loose stones and slippery bathroom floors. Has no restaurant. Offers only breakfast which is individually prepared and then taken in turn to each room, which makes it a lengthy process. The staff is minimal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by VIP Hotel , Hotel Management
We thought that making breakfast for 14 people, taking it to your room and everything in less than half an hour was something to be grateful for, unfortunately for you it is not so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not close to the Beach, You have to pay for.....

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: You are in a jungle...
Cons: Laundry and bed confort
Location: nothing around 6 milles
Not bad at all, but not like the pictures and we have to pay for the laundry
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by VIP Hotel , Hotel Management
Really the photos do not do it justice, the houses are bigger, bright and comfortable, the pool is fantastic, the garden has half a hectare full of beautiful plants and animals. It's a joke about a free laundry ...?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accesability: VERY POOR

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: no comment
Cons: the road to it and clear signage to find it quickly and easily.
Location: The town is filled with caribbean flavor. Very realxing. Lots to do for those who love adventure, nice food and lovely people.
After 25 minutes of searching for the hotel, due to the lack of clear signage, I went through A flooded creek(small) as it was pouring with rain. If you dont have a car or own transport, everytime you want to go to town, you have to get a cab at $7 for a 5 minute ride, each way. For this reason, I didnt stay. I want a refund
2 out of 5
by Geoff from UK

Not really a hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
The VIP 'Hotel' is not really a hotel. It has no reception, bar or restaurant. It is two sets of three apartments either side of a good pool which was the best feature of the accommodation and a gym. Each apartment has a kitchenette so you're are really in self catering accommodation. It is poorly located being 1.5km down a poor quality dirt track road and quite difficult to find and realise that you have arrived when you get there. Breakfast was brought to your apartment at 8am and was not particularly good quality or the cooked part hot. We were glad to leave as this accommodation was very poor value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of no where and too noisy!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
I feel that the hotel is overpriced and breakfast is the worst I've had in Costa Rica, we skipped it after 2 mornings, eggs, or an omelette and some fruit served with dry bread on the side. We travel all around the world and for the money we paid, I would honestly say that it's the least value place I have ever stayed. It's situated down a very long dirt track at least 2km from civilisation. The nearest beach and hotel is the beautiful!!! banana azure hotel where he stopped for cocktails whilst watching a sloth in there tree's. The staff and owner do try to make you feel welcome and if it wasn't so remote and half the price I would not be writing this negative review. Also I have come to Costa Rica to see the wildlife, however the howling money's screamed at 4.50am every morning without fail- funny on the first morning- also just to add we never saw them!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
Really nice outside of town. The owners are really nice and helped us with everything. The rooms were huge and had a full kitchen. Overall great experience just wish it was on the beach or in town.