Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by JOSHUA from London

Lovely family run hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The family running this hotel are lovely. They helped us with everything; from booking tours to doing our laundry! The room was very spacious and clean and the water was hot. The breakfasts are nice and substantial. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A perfect family run hostal

Posted Aug 5, 2015
The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast is great, and the family who runs La Gran Tortuga takes care of their guests.
3 out of 5
by Nicholas from Minnetonka.

Jose and Juanita Helpful Hosts

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
We were met at ferry when boat arrived. Jose very helpful with luggage--from dock to room. Relaxed and easy-going hosts. Room clean and staff kept it so. No chairs TV very poor quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, MD

Great place to stay on Isabela Island!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly owner whose lived in Isabela all her life, very helpful! Great accommodations, nice location, quiet, clean.
Cons: There were a lot of flies in the breakfast room, even though it is screened in. Not sure if it was just the time of year; close & put AC on.
Location: 2 blocks from the beach, nearby restaurants, tour operators come to get you. You can rent bikes to go nearby and get around the town on foot.
My husband, 17 and 15 year old sons and I stayed at La Gran Tortuga for 4 nights last week. We were touring Isabela island. We were so impressed with the owner, Juana Valladares! Before our trip, she set up several tours for us and even answered our questions about what shoes to bring via e-mail! She was incredibly friendly and helpful for our entire stay, treating us to fresh watermelon grown on her organic farm one afternoon, going out of her way to buy us a special breakfast of "balones," a local dish made of plaintains, and even letting us use our room to shower and change after check out. The 4 of us were very comfortable in the one large room; the beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The breakfasts were generous and delicious - lots of fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, omelettes, etc. It helped that we spoke Spanish so could easily communicate with her.
4 out of 5
by Constance from Goshen, NY

Enjoyable stay on Isla Isabela

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Close to beach and restaurants. Room was comfortable. Hostel caters to many young adult groups. Breakfast was ample with delicious fresh juices. Not a five star hotel but was fine considering the price.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Very comfortable with AC

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: AC, breakfast and our hosts.
Cons: We had no complaints
Location: Close to the beach and main square with a general store two buildings away
The owners have limted english but try hard to understand and are extremely helpful. The breakfast is very good with decent coffee, yogurt, granola, fruit, eggs and toast. The owner Jose also drives a taxi which is very handy and he is working on his english. Nice roof deck to watch the sun set. Also comfortable beds and large private showers with lots of hot water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Ok hostal

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, efficient air conditioning, hot showers
Cons: Outside area to relax, chair in the room.
Perfectly adequate in terms of cleanliness and location. Breakfast was simple but had all the right ingredients like eggs fruit ,granola and yoghurt. The hostal is located on a dusty road, and the only outside space to sit in was on a bench on the pavement next to the road. Rooms did not include a chair so you always had to sit on the bed. There was a fridge in the room. The roof space was used for drying washing. The hostal was listed as including taxes which it did not. Your option is to pay in cash or if you want to pay by credit card they added 22 percent. If you turned up on spec the price was lower. Everyone on the island including the owner of this hostal can arrange tours for you. The owner arranges lift to the ferry, but then surprises you with a charge. We gave her too much but she didnt give back the excess. Would I stay here again, no. There are so many new hostals going up, which have better facilities and are cheaper. Those who turned up on spec found some great deals, however a lot of these are so new they dont even have websites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2014
It was overall very nice. The room was comfortable, and the staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
by Jay from Boston

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
This location is cash only so remember to bring lots of it! Our group of 7 was down to $.60 when we got back to isabella because we assumed the hotel would take a credit card.