Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice front desk staff--very helpful.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: We felt very comfortable here. The restaurant just down the street that was recommended was not the greatest. Poor service and not the best food.
Cons: Toilet ran. had to cut off water supply at night to it so it wouldn't run. It was a little pricey.
Location: We walked to everything. The beach area is beautiful. The cemetery near by is full of history of the early days of immigrants.
Nice breakfast in the morning with plenty of time to get there and enjoy it. Good location. Nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Away from the busier waterfront

Posted Feb 26, 2017
This small efficient hotel is in a residential area near the Salesian church and museum. Punta Arenas is easily walkable from here to nearby restaurants. The staff is helpful. This was a good overnight spot enroute from Peurto Natales to Santiago.
1 out of 5
by Dustin from blountville

overbooked

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
I arrived at the Hotel Carpa Manzano after a long 20 hours of flying exhausted and ready to relax. When I arrived, they didnt have a room for me. Im not sure if they overbooked or what but they simply said they did not have a room for me, even though i had multiple emails and confirmation numbers from both hotels.com and the hotel itself. The guy at the front desk was very nice and spoke english and found me a room in another hotel across town and even paid for the cab for me. Maybe it was just an honest mix up but still be aware that even though they are good people and the place is nice, they are some what disorganized.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
Small hotel in a small town. Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Over night in Punta Arenas

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: It was good for one night.
Location: Only spent the night on our way to Torres de Paine.
The hotel is okay for one night. The rooms are very small, worn out and the area is dreary. The rooms were clean and breakfast was good. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Darlene from East Marion NY

Economical accomidations

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed two night prior to our hiking adventure and two nights after. The rooms required a little more attention to cleaning bathroom floor as there was dust and hair on the floor under the sink area. Our first two night stay breakfast included scrambled eggs but at the end of our trip breakfast was minimal and no eggs were offered. The staff was helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not the best in town

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
Little to eat for breakfast. No help carrying luggage up stairs only. Hard to find.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but would not recommend.

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
Room had a bad smell. Cigarette butt floated up when I used the sink. Problem with the hot water when I was there. Free internet -- but the system crashed and it was available for only a short time during my stay.
2 out of 5
by Nishal from London

Not great.

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
The rooms are very small and the whole place feels old and outdated. Two out of the four towels we were given had dirt stains on them. The only power sockets in the room are under the bed and used for the bedside lamps, so if you want to charge your phone or camera, you will have to physically move the bed. The unlock key for the safe was nowhere to be found, so we couldn't use it. The breakfast was very average with basic items missing such as cold (only hot available) milk and large spoons. The staff were reasonably helpful but didn't seem too bothered. Unless you can't find anything else available, I would give this one a miss.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kailua Kona, HI

Paid way too much for a disappointment

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was good enough. Locations was good too, with lots of shops a few blocks away and downtown a short 15-20 minute walk.
Cons: Staff, beds, parking situation
Location: From this location you can take the ferry from Tres Puentes to Isla Magdalena or drive to Otway Sound (both are Penguin destinations).
Staff was not the friendliest or very helpful. Small room, and tiny bed. Bathroom was cramped too, and the tub was a weird, inconvenient half-tub I haven't seen before. "Free Parking" is street parking and when I showed up to the hotel, there wasn't any! I had to illegally park in someone's driveway.