Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So much potential, but gross

Posted Dec 21, 2016
I wanted to love this place. The rooms are nicely sized and laid out. It's old and could have a lot of charm. However, the paint in our room was peeling in large areas, which I can normally overlook. But in addition, the room wasn't clean. The tub and toilet were spotless but the shower and bathroom walls and the bathroom mirror were all dirty. The dust on the bathroom door was clearly visible and had been growing for months. The room door could be seen through. . With just a little love, this place could be great, but it seems like no one cares.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Excellent location and friendly staff! Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Todd from Salt Lake City

Value Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
This is a value based hotel good nightly rate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Cons: Staff was uninterested in being helpful.
Nice room, big bathroom. Hotel is a little run down, but not bad. Mostly the staff just seemed uncaring and uninterested in being helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Logan, Utah

Great Location

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Location: The location is great, right on the corner of the city plaza, and close to restaurants
The Hotel Plaza is in a great location, very close to a number of the main attractions of Punta Arenas. It is in an older historic building and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and made arrangements for us for a tour. The staff knew enough english to be of assistance to our very modest spanish.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Dec 8, 2015 on Hotels
The town didn't have water supply in the early morning. The hotel provided reserved water upon request.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location, helpful staff

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
This is a nice local hotel with a great location off the main square. The staff was most helpful arranging excursions and early morning transport to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Posted Jan 8, 2015
This is a very beautiful colonial building. Located in the center of Punta Arenas. I definitely recommend a night or 2 here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron and Helen from New Zealand

Great place to stay. Central.

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Quaint, old world feel, but modern. Very quiest and VERY warm.
Cons: Smelly bathroom sewer
Location: Excellent location right in the centre of town. On one corner of the Plaza, cant get more central than that.
This is a brilliant hotel with fantastic staff. They helped us plan aditional sightseeing even when that meant we would check out early. Highly recommended. We would have given 5 stars in all categories except we drew the straw for a room where the bathroom sewer was very smelly. Old hotel perhaps, faulty gully trap perhaps.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Not very nice at all.

Posted Dec 3, 2009
The hotel is in shoddy condition, it looks like a room from 1970. Not enough towels, no shampoo in the bathrooms, tiny tube TV sitting on an end table. Overall, definitely not worth what we paid.