Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Beautiful resort, poor services

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Stayed Saturday to Monday. Poor check in, very slow, staff appeared to lack interest in customers. An hour to get a room. On Sunday WiFi not available in our room all day. No solution given. In the early evening,no hot water. Callling to request help, we were told our building was not having hot water until Monday. Nobody informed us, maintenance never appeared and no solution given. PdelE has many options. Why bother returning to Solanas?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Option For Area

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice option for the need to be in the area. The accommodations were sufficient. The restaurant was a highlight. The staff was quite friendly and we really appreciated their attentiveness. The resort is a 20 minute drive to Punta del Este. We spent a considerable amount of time there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Orbitz
It appears that this "hotel" is undergoing some construction and renovations and may be improved once the lagoon and other updates are completed. Until then, I would not recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
First thing the key didn't work in the lock, the toilet didn't flush and that was after they asked me to pay again. Then they wanted my receipt sent to me. This seems like a destination resort because there isn't much around. Taxi cabs are very expensive. The restaurant had very limited hours. The gentleman at the front desk was very patient and helpful as I don't speak Spanish
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place for families

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Royal, one of the oldest buildings of the resort. Rooms are roomy and clean, have updated furnishings and are well equipped. It is a great place for families with kids, the entertainment crew keeps them active and engaged. Very nice gardens surround all the buildings and there are several pools. The hotel is a 5 minute drive to the beach and they also offer a bus shuttle to and from. Highlights of our trip included a visit to nearby Lapataya farm, where we had delicious cappuccinos with dulce de leche crepes and my daughter got to milk a cow and bottle feed goats and calves. We enjoyed strolling the beautiful gardens at Lussich Arboretum and visited Casa Pueblo (Carlos Paez Vilaro Museum). All are nearby, just a 10 min drive from the resort. Punta del Este is also a short drive from Solanas. We did not have time to go to Isla de Lobos, but that is a must for our next visit!
4 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

Not for business travel nor congresses

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Their staff is fantastic, typical of Uruguayan people, friendly and capable.
Cons: Internet access everywhere including pool side
Location: No need to leave the Resort. If you want to you can rent a car (cheap) and go to Punta del Este proper. Or take a bus, very safe.
Assisted to a congress at Solanas, stayed at the Green Park area within the complex. The place is beautiful and great for vacations. Not suited for congresses or business travellers in general. Weak wi-fi and break=downs in their internet access network are the main concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
The room was not upto the mark. We expected to have a kitchen in the room. Also, the size of the room was too small.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY, USA

Do not stay here if you are out of college

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Great staff, hotel is a dump. Rooms and bathroom were shoddy. Terrible grounds keeping and signage. Walls are paper thin.
5 out of 5
by Alejandro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels