Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large resort, not too many people around

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Where were all the people? Pool was always empty, streets empty, restaurants empty. I stayed at the Luxury for 5 days with my best friend and it felt like we were on a deserted island. Security is good, and saw many officers and staff. Food is ok, but the inclusive package is 90$ a day extra. Rip off if you don't get it cause meals will run you 120$ each meal. Overall, it's a perfect getaway for someone with a crazy lifestyle from a city. Bring snorkel gear!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Not A Place for Singles

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The Staff, the setting, and the room.
Cons: The Food. Please improve on the food.
Location: See my experience.
Also Luxury Village is just that - a scenic village made to cater to your every need. The ambiance was perfect. From my arrival I felt like I had just entered a small Spanish village in the middle of nowhere. It's a gated community which means it's an exclusive resort for GUESTS ONLY. As a single man who enjoys spending time with locals and being close to where the action is (i.e. sites, downtown, town square) it was far too secluded for my needs. The staff was friendly and very warm, though the front desk didn't feel as approachable as the rest. There are a lot of activities, but as there are families expect to see lots of kids, not to mention retirees, and elderly. The resort was close to Juanillo Beach where I spent two glorious afternoons. There are also some ningtly activities but they vary in how interesting they can be. My biggest gripe was the food. Aside from breakfast and their personal Alsol Burger, the food was subpar. NO matter where I ate, it all tasted half-done. I once ordered an assorted wraps plate. It tasted like it looked - horrible. I love Dominican food but all the slop they had on hand was second-rate American rip-offs. I didn't fly thousands of miles to eat Mexican-Ameircan and Italian-American food. In short, this is a great place if you're a family man or want to spend a peaceful honeymoon with your wife. For the single traveler, this place was far too removed from everything (outside there's nothing but road and trees) and too exclusive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Lack luster vacation

Posted Feb 24, 2017
From the reception lobby to the room service, the cleanliness and attention to service and detail is less than desireable. If you get the "all inclusive" package, you will remember this trip as: the most money you've ever wasted on food and drinks. The bell-staff is very friendly but it stops there. Although I may visit Punta Cana again, AL Sol will NEVER get another dime from me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and superb staff

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Rooms and staff
Cons: Maintenance and food.
Location: did not do much since it was a business trip.
The hotel is large but easy to get around. The rooms are large and excellent for large parties. Food is decent and they are various options. The staff is what makes this hotel great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The six of us only stayed one night. The staff were warm, friendly,helpful. We chose the all inclusive meal and drink package for $100 which proved an excellent value. Transport to the beach was easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

The food is the deal breaker.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff are wonderful. They're always happy to see you. If you just look around you'll always find someone singing, dancing and joking around.
Cons: THE FOOD! and the music. If you have mobility issues, not all the pools have railings to get in and out of.
Location: We only did the free cigar/coffee/chocolate/rum tour. 2 - 3 hours and it had free samples, and a huge souvenir store with decent prices.
Because of a mobility issue we spent most of our time at the resort so we got the all-inclusive and ate there all the time, which is the problem because our main complaint is the food. For the most part the food from the menus and room service were OK but there are 2 breakfast buffets and they were ALWAYS cold. The dinner buffets were also always cold, and the beef is consistently like shoe leather. Having said that, the steaks off the menus are good, and the hamburgers are big and delicious but you need to check to make sure they're cooked enough. Overall it's mediocre. Our room was nice, it was clean but lacking in some things. Three light bulbs were burnt out, 2 lamps in the livingroom were apparently placed for decoration because we didn't see any outlets for them, we couldn't use the tub because the plug didn't stay closed, the t.p. holder was broken..It was just little things but they should have been taken care of. Miscommunication between housekeeping and maintenance? Anyway, no big deal but it better explains my rating. And finally, there is always music going everywhere. Louder at the activities pool, but even at the 'quiet' pool there is club techno pop music playing. You get tired of hearing boom boom boom all the time - they need to swap it out with other music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice resort, friendly staff!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: it was very clean and spacious, with balcony and the view
Cons: choices in menu at bar by the pool. maybe have a real authentic dominican food special
Location: the thing about this resort is that it is kind of secluded so you cant really walk to anywhere nearby. but at least there is another resort nxt door
first time in Punta Cana and my boyfriend and I had a great time. hotel staff was super nice, always. We did excursions which were great because they included hotel pick up and drop off. they were so fun. There's always something going on in the lobby from dancing to kids night. There is also a club, we went one night and there was a dancing show and it was fun to watch. also shuttle for the beach nearby. overall our experience was great, would def. go back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Amanda (Guest Satisfaction), Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for choosing AlSol Luxury Village and leaving us your comments. It was a pleasure to be your host during your first visit to Punta Cana. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience many of the amenities we are more than happy to offer our guests, and that you had an enjoyable time. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Mill

Thieves /bad Wifi

Posted Jan 31, 2017
I left my tablet at the room charging and I checked out, once I realized I left my device I called and they said it was not in the room while my app to track my device showed that it was still there. I also bought Wifi since they don't offer free internet and it never worked I will not recommend this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Amanda (Guest Satisfaction), Hotel Management
Dear Msdoralys, This matter is being resolved privately and we have been in touch with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great roomy condo!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
My husband and I took our two young boys to ALSOL resort over the holidays. The staff could not have been any nicer to my family. They were ALL amazing! The resort was nice and the sister hotel next door was even better. The other hotel had a small beach area as well and the ALSOL village did not, which was fine for us. We enjoyed going to both hotels to swim and eat. Our only concern was the food was not quite as 4 star as I would have thought. It was fine for breakfast and lunch, but was hoping for a bit more of elegance for dinner. Overall though we highly recommend this resort. It was also a perfect stay for a family!! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Amanda (Guest Satisfaction), Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Taiguey! We thank you for choosing AlSol Luxury Village on your family trip, and we happy that the whole family enjoyed the stay, we appreciate your feedback on food and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place but would not recommend to younger

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Pools, rooms are very clean, food was fine
Cons: wifi access
Location: Super close to the airport which was great. We didn't really wander off from the resort besides to the beach which we were able to shuttle over to!
My sister and I stayed in this resort for a few days recently and it is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are extremely clean and incredible and we had a great balcony. The pool areas are amazing and the food is decent. I had two major complaints, though. First, the wifi is not great even though they make you pay for it per day and was in and out constantly and didn't really reach all areas of the resort. My biggest complaint, though, is about the staff. While everyone was generally helpful and friendly, one staff member made very inappropriate comments to my sister while we were there and called our room about 5 times a day, making us generally uncomfortable and feel kind of unsafe. This dampened our experience and was kind of sad because otherwise this was a great stay. There is also not much to do for young people so don't go expecting parties or a crazy night life!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by AlSol Luxury Village Team , Hotel Management
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your stay, we are glad you enjoyed your time and we appreciate your feedback. However, we take the claims about harassment by staff very seriously and would like to ask you to private message us and provide us with more details. Sincerely,