Ratings based on 2,247 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Huge Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The food was good, nothing amazing, but a great selection! The pools and bars were wonderful. The beach is absolutely amazing!!!
Cons: not given very much information at check in. No one told us that we had to make dinner reservations for the nicer restaurants and then it was too late
Location: Scape park is awesome! We went zip lining. dancing and drinks at DrinkPoint down town.
This hotel is so big there's a little train to take you around to all the different places! There's of course the spa and gym, a bunch of restaurants, a water park for kids, a water park for everyone, an entire section that is adults only, etc. Our room was nice, however, since I was traveling with friends, there was no privacy to change clothes and the bathroom had an opaque glass door so everyone can hear you going to the bathroom! I was a bit disappointed one day that we left at 7:30am and came back at 4pm only to find the room had not been cleaned, despite having the sign out to clean it. But, not that big of a deal, I was given fresh towels, so that's all that mattered! The pools were big and nice and there were many activities going on, dancing lessons, bingo, nightly shows, etc. The staff was amazingly happy and nice, everyone always dancing and happy. Plus, when leaving the hotel to go on excursions, we were the last to be picked up, so less travel time to get there! We were not given very much information upon check in and since the hotel is so huge, that would have been helpful. We were not told that we could have up to three dinners at a nicer restaurant on site and when we figured it out, it was difficult to get reservations. We finally ate at La Dolce Vita, an Italian restaurant. My friend and I ordered pasta dishes and were very excited about them, they were terrible and we couldn't eat them. My other friend ordered some steak and loved it, but was not full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee,WI

Very nice hotel!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
For all those that said the food was horrible, I'd like to know what they compared it too, or if this was their first trip. The buffets were great, the dinner reservations were fine too. Adult only areas are boring (go figure) but they have an area for just kids, so the middle ground was great, especially the swim up bar. Do not forget, please, don't forget to TIP!!! $1 each drink goes along ways and they remember you! You want fantastic service, drop a buck or two each time.... Our building (6) and room was on the end which was great so we were close to the ocean but was not a long walk to restaurants or the pool. The only thing I would change is get some presidente in the room fridge and quit using Coors light (barf).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima Peru

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Best experience! Loved the environment, specially the beach. We practised kayak, participated in bachata and zumba clasess. Both were really good. The food was great too, and the main restaurants have nice views of the swimming pool and the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bartlesville, OK

Best beach ever!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Hotel and facilities superb. Food good. Golf course good. Pools great. Beach spectacular. Room real nice. It is a ginormous resort with lots of everything. Our only displeasure was the service while eating. Yes it was all inclusive but the waiters and waitresses though plenty were just lazy. Some evening restaurant waiters were better. No shorts for dinner so pack some jeans. Overall very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from potomac maryland

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Great location and all the staff was very friendly and efficient. Could not find any negatives in our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Nice resort

Posted Mar 21, 2017
I visited DR twice,this hotel is the best ever.If there is more than 5 stars I would give. I would say the only thing I did not like was the internet service. It should better and free of charges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great trip!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Pools, beach, activities, rooms, beds,
Cons: Food, dinner reservation system
We took a large group of high school seniors and parents for Spring Break 2017, and had a wonderful time! The beach and pool areas are beautiful! The resort is so large, and accommodated all different types of travelers (families, teens, college students, couples, older travelers, etc). Rooms were nice, beds comfortable. Food was what I'd expect from an all inclusive...not spectacular, but lots of variety and not terrible. I would recommend this hotel to friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities. Average service and terrible food

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Food was absolutely atrocious. Dinner reservations were much later than wanted....after 10 pm. Dinner was 2 decent meals, 4 terrible ones. Breakfast and lunch buffets were bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel with amazing beach, loved it!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Amazing beach, awesome room and view, free snorkeling kayaking right off beach, beautiful grounds, plenty to do and see on the resort
Cons: Food at the buffet and sports bar could be improved.
Location: We did not go off the resort, but there was plenty of shopping within the resort, and a nightclub/casino also on resort.
I stayed here in June of 2016, it was mine and my boyfriend's first all inclusive and we loved it here. Hotel itself and grounds are stunning, clean and well maintained. Checkin was a breeze. We got the oceanfront premium suite, well worth it. Room was enormous, clean, stunning view. 2 bathrooms, 1 had huge closet/vanity area and giant jacuzzi tub (best/biggest bathroom I've ever seen!). Balcony was huge, loungers and another jacuzzi tub. Big living/dining area, free bottle of rum, great bed/pillows, and I did not see one single bug my entire stay. We had a small problem first day, our door was stuck shut and maid got locked in with us (lol), but maintenance came and fixed it almost immediately, which I was very happy with. Beach was gorgeous, staff raked away seaweed every morning. PLENTY of loungers/beach space. No beach bar but pool bars were close enough. Pools were amazing. Upgrade to Premium to have access to the pool on the adults only side of the resort, it was awesome. Drinks were good, plenty of alcohol. Food was okay, not amazing. French restaurant was great, it seems the restaurants may have better food than buffet so try to make a few reservations. Just be careful mixing so many foods at the buffet, after being in the sun drinking fruity drinks and then eating at a buffet 3 times a day, anyone is bound to end up with a stomach ache or two. Staff was excellent, no complaints. We did one excursion, it was awesome and so much fun. Overall this was a great resort!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

It's like a palace! Beautiful! Right on the beac!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
It is the loveliest hotel I have ever stayed in! Great service! Great AC! Great staff! I thought the buffet was delicious!!!!! I will be going back again!