Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

Relax, laid back .. Excellent beach.. Pool ok

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Had a great time overall !! Family oriented hotel... Food was great in all Restaurants except for the main Buffett (Taino restaurant) over cooked food for the most part.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Dissapointing Hotel policies...

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Hotel have the best beach, good restaurants, some friendly & professional staff.
Cons: Could charge to be able to consume imported beverage by paying the difference, since are only reserved to prefered or Club members.
Location: Bayahibe community have beachfront local bars which are really nice.
Dissapointing when you tried to drink something different that the National beverage, since the imported brands are reserved to Club or preferenced guest only. Also, my pregnant daughter & her husband could not stay with us in the hotel, since there reservation was made after mine, and was "full". So they stay at the next door hotel Canoa Be Live. We tried to be together at the beach and It was really frustrating they way security treat us at beach when they found they were not staying at the same hotel, even though I told this guard I have an authorization/invitation from a hotel staff coordinator, for them to see the Hotel & a lunch, etc. The guard ask in a very rude manner to leave the beach chairs. This guard treat us like criminals and I have literally have run and look for the Hotel staff coordinator to avoid a more disgusting confrontation. Thank God, she came and cooled things off. She took us to a 90 minute sales pitch for a Club membership. At least she tried to please us with what she could offered. After 10 minutes in the presentation, I told them I rather be at the beach, so they turned down the lunch invitation, at least we could enjoy a few drinks together. When I was doing the check out, I saw at a rate page, that they have the alternative to charge for a day rate per person for their presence at the Hotel which they never offered me and avoid me to have this situation. I spend time with my dauther at Canoa Be Live without any hassle from Hotel guards..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: SPIAGGIA, PERSONALE GENTILE
Cons: PROBLEMA STRUTTURALE , VECCHIE CAMERE (BASE) , CUCINA NON VARIATA E NON QUALITA'
4 stelle ? 2 STELLE !!! iN ITALIA LO CHIUDEREBBE L'UFFICIO D'IGIENE
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank for sharing your comments. We truly regret the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay with us, your comments have been shared with the head departments involved in order to improve our service. We hope this experience won’t stop you for giving us the opportunity to host you a treat you as you deserve. Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Below average resort, stay somewhere else!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The beautiful beach and the company that provided excursions at the resort.
Cons: Everything! The rooms (furniture, cleaner sheets/bedding/towels, air conditioning), pool, wifi, staff and services, food, and availability to towels.
Location: It's about an hour away from the airport. Through a company located on the resort, we went on an affordable and fun excursion to Saona Island.
Even with our upgrade to the privilege package, this resort was NOT what we expected. The service was poor and it seemed that they didn't quite cater to Americans. We were rarely greeted or welcomed, not even by the horribly rude front desk staff when we first arrived. As the rooms were outdated, the door didn't seal, so it was very poorly "air conditioned" and it was frequently muggy/humid. My bedsheets had stains on it and most of their (room and beach) towels did too. I also found myself getting bit at night, so I had them spray the room down on our second day. The food was mediocre, but it was best to eat at the more formal restaurants, not the buffet or pizzeria. It was difficult to communicate orders and I'd often have to compromise my preferences. After they had clearly made a mistake, a staff member tried to tell me "they were out of a sandwich at lunch;" and I was also told "the meal comes as is" and they refused to make any changes. The advertised wifi is false. There is NO wifi in the rooms and will sporadically work around the resort. Also, the towels that they "provide" go quick and often are emptied. We once waited 1.5 hours just to receive a towel at the beach...The only saving grace was the beach. The water was very blue, clean and clear. If it hadn't been for the beautiful beach, this vacation would have been absolutely horrendous. Ultimately, I'd recommend: try to upgrade, but ideally stay at a different resort or prepare for countless false advertisements.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cari, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. We apologize for the concerns you shared. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations, therefore, we always encourage all our guests to inform our Guest Service if any inconvenience happens during their stay, so they can have an amazing stay. Would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Hotel ottimo. Ideale per famiglie con bambini. Unica pecca del viaggio: la compagnia aerea..... Blue Panorama, aerei vecchi e ritardi mostruosi (4 ore all'andata e 3 al ritorno: evitatela.....)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and services. Hopefully, you could give us the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
I didn't like the rooms specially the bathroom. The food wasn't that great and the pool close at 6pm, bar at 1am and food at 2am. I would like the bar and the food open 24 hours. The staff is great and treat u like a king!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Regarding your comments, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Average resort, beautiful beach

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Overall I had an awesome vacation here. We didn't pay for the premium room (they will offer to you at check in) and I'm happy we didn't. After talking to some other couples about what they get the "fully stocked mini bar" is only two beers and the walk from our room to the beach wasn't much farther. The room itself is average, bathrooms need a little love but they worked (had hot water, good water pressure etc) but the bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked throughout the whole stay. We had to call down our second day to get more towels and bottles of water as the cleaning ladies didn't provide them but every day after that we never had issues.The beach is BEAUTIFUL. No rocks, not super wavy, beautiful color, not too crowded. The food was also mediocre, it was good but nothing fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bre, Thank you again for helping us to improve the Catalonia experience. We would like to thank the time you are taking to share your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. Thank you again for the comments; we certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future. Regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very old hotel with no sea food at all

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Pool is ok.The best thing they have it"s a beach.The staff was very friendly except one guy Louis who was working on the beach in the towels boot.
Cons: They should notify people that if they don't pay $36 per night for privilege room the will get old room with no tab. Forget about pictures.
Location: To far from Aeroport It takes around 50 min
Don't pay any attention on pictures they posted on the web.Its all for privilege with additional pay.They will ask you if you are ok to pay that if not they'll give you room with no tab.I was in shock.Food is the same every day. No sea food at all .Just forget about lobsters or shrimps.If you are an American better to go to Cancun because nobody speak English.Italians just occupied that place.No shows from outside .Every evening hotel staff were performing them own creation very unprofessional.Come on guys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sergey, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. We apologize for the concerns you shared. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We believe that your review is the key to the continuing process of improvement, which is why we have shared your comments with the departments involved, in order to take the corrective measures. We hope this experience won’t stop you for giving us the opportunity to host you a treat you as you deserve. Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted May 2, 2016
Food Good. Hotel somewhat dated. Definitely DO NOT get the comfort rooms. Americans will be horrified. Tons of Europeans - Italians the majority, followed by Germans and Russians
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Regarding your comments we are truly sorry about the room, please let us apologize for the inconvenience that you had experienced with your room. It has to be said that here in Catalonia Hotels & Resorts, we do not promote or allow any form of distinction whether it relates to the team of the hotel or its customers. In our Resort, we are very happy to welcome everyone and provide them an unforgettable stay. Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to rate our Resort. Hopefully, you could give us the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best Regards General Manager