Ratings based on 1,467 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Not a 4-Star Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staffs.
Cons: The facility.
Location: Zip line in the mountain $89.00 per person is a total waste of money. $25 lagoon is great! Speed boat was OK.
Good: Hotel staffs are generally very good except for the lady at the fruit smoothie bar by the beach. This girl has an attitude problem. Bad: Overall, this hotel facility needs a major upgrade. In room wifi was very weak, could not connect most of the time. AC: We traveled in a group of 19 persons. Some stay in the top floor had trouble sleeping because it was too hot, temperature control was a joke. Water: Water was turned off several times while we were there. I got caught without water while I was taking a shower... Lock: The lock in one room did not work at all. The maintenance guy had to replace it. Leaking: The ceiling of the shower in one room was leaking. My nephew noticed water came down on him even he has not turned on the water, looked up and the ceiling and found the water came down from the ceiling. The hotel did fix the problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort to stay in Punta Cana!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Catalonia Bavaro was amazing. My boyfriend and I stayed there for one week and could not have been more impressed. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the food is wonderful, the drinks are great, and the resort is gorgeous. There is plenty to do including the pool, the beach, sailing and kayaking, as well as various other activities (dancing, scuba lessons, etc.) Nightly activities include the casino, bars, shows and disco. The resort is beautiful and well kept. There are many food options including two buffets, a fast-food type area by the pool, a coffee shop (near the spa, shops and mini market), and four theme restaurants for dinner (Caribbean, steakhouse, Italian, tempenyaki/hibachi). Although we could have stayed at the resort the entire week, we picked two days to do excursions. If you are interested in going zip lining or going for a boat ride, etc, Catalonia makes it easy to set these trips up on site at the resort. There is an Expedia representative present in the lobby who will show you tons of activities to choose from and will set up days and times, and a shuttle for you so transportation is not an issue. One minor issue about the resort is lack of wifi reception. It can be used easily in the lobby and sometimes on the beach or in restaurants, but it is scarce in the hotel rooms. However, this was not much of an issue for us as we didn't go on vacation to be on our phones :). Plus you don't spend much time in the room anyway. Highly recommend Catalonia!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The beach was beautiful. The staff was very nice.
Cons: The room could use a little updating. We had a couple of problems.
Location: Close to the airport.
The beach and pool were beautiful. The staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant's , bars and entertainment were centrally located. Loved the Martini bar. Japanese restaurant food was good, but it was boring and not worth the wait. The Rodeo steak house had the best food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Sono stata 10 giorni in questo hotel. Camere pulite e spaziose. Cibo ottimo e vario. mare con qualche alga, ma splendido a pochi metri di distanza dalla riva
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Everything was beautiful. The maid was disappointing. It was very quiet n relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great pool area and beach area.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Great pool and beach area. Staff was very helpful and nice!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Beautiful beach!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
I went in early July. My 2nd visit to this hotel and I love it. I was upgraded to the couples section of the resort. Couples side is gorgeous and they have excellent bar/restaurant choices. Our room was big and very comfortable. The food is a lot better compared to the 1st time I went 2 years ago. The buffets have more delicious options. They have the best staff here! Samuel from grand caribe is wonderful. He gave us info on where and what to do. Pure bar is AWESOME! I hung out there a lot bc the staff is wonderful. Ana, Francesca, Alvin are sooo much fun and they are great bartenders. They made us feel at home. Can't wait to see them again. Santa from the piano bar is so funny and so sweet. Sarah from palmetto is such a nice person and helpful. The staff is what makes this hotel so great!! The beach is the best!!!!! I absolutely love the water and never had issues finding a seat. Definitely planning on going back!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great, But Some Complaints.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed the hotel's spacious design, children-appealing activities and beautiful scenery spots. There are many staff members available as well.
Cons: The hotel could improve on its sanitary conditions overall. The winds from the fans overhead the buffet could have been stronger.
The hotel was nice overall, but there were a few letdowns. The buffet is not air-conditioned, so eating there is very uncomfortable with the heat. Between midnight and 7 AM, there is no hot water in the shower. The stage where there are nightly performances has many mosquitoes. So be sure to bring some insect-repellent sprayers. The bottome of the swimming pool is a bit dirty in the afternoon. No one cleans the leaves and insects from the trees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and beach

Posted Aug 3, 2016
We were away with our family, 4 children ages ranging from 18 to 11. We were very happy with most things about the hotel. The food was good and the beach was fabulous and the water sports available were great. The staff throughout the resort were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make you comfortable. The food at the restaurants was very good as well as the service. On the downside, I don't care for sweet cocktails so I struggled a bit finding one to enjoy and the wine was not any better than the drinks. I didn't love our room and was unhappy with the cleaning service. Had to call down to the desk to ask for towels 2 days in a row because the cleaning person took our towels but never replenished us with clean ones. The floor still had sand on it after they cleaned so that wasn't pleasant. Overall though, the resort was quite pretty, their was plenty to do and we had a great time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Best Punta Cana Vacation Ever!!!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Everything! The entire resort was well kept, I love the diversity of Fauna and Flora. Most will do anything to make your stay great. Thank you all!!
Cons: Display daily activities by the lobby. I missed them all since I did not know they were at the buffet's screen.
Location: the location seems pretty safe. Punta Cana is a beautiful place!! We did the boogies and visited a few places along the way. The more people the cheap
This was our 7th visit to Punta Cana and by far this was the best experience ever! I noticed Expedia has improved its communication with the pick up service (Blue) we did not wait too long before our van left the airport; on our way back our driver arrived on time. They attempted to sell us "time shares" upon arrival to their Blue kiosko, we just kindly refused. Hotel was huge and beautiful. The majority of hotel staff was kind and helpful. They will go above and beyond to make your stay an unforgettable wonderful experience. Thank you Samuel (bar), Amaury sosa, Ramon (security)Mareleni Parra, Joel, Quico and Madelin for making our vacation a wonderful one!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for your loyalty in Catalonia Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us once again to enjoy your vacation. It is nice to know that you had a nice trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards