Ratings based on 1,668 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Amazing!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Beautiful property with a very nice beach! Very clean and safe. The staff were very friendly and professional, the room was clean, the food was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Food was phenomenal. Always fresh, always plenty

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Staff was very accommodating to our special requests... always smiling.. always friendly... Food is exceptional....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Pools
Cons: Seaweed in/on the beach.
The only draw back is beach. It was loaded with seaweed and the water looked very nasty, we did not spend time in the beach water which was very disappointing--the pool areas made up for it though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ct

Quiet reaort

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Experience was not too gd ac didn't work no hot water for almost a week
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful property except the beach; 5 * food

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Service, Food
Cons: Non priveleged rooms need some work and the beach. Get rid of the seaweed!!! It was so gross!
Property was gorgeous. Food was top notch and so was the service. Santa and Cecila by the Infinity Pool were amazing!!!! Royal side was much calmer and peaceful and better service at the restaurants. Server also come around during the day for drinks by the pool. This didnt happen at the Bavaro Beach side (kids property), also it was much louder and more to do. We did both sides (Royal way more)... both were nice, just depends what floats your boat. We did have an issue with our first room... several things wrong with it. We didnt do priveleged and I had read they were older rooms with problems so if I had to do again we probably would have upgraded. The room's AC didnt work very well (it was cold but never got really cold - and after such HOT temps you really appreciate the AC), the fan didnt work (although) they fixed that, then on day 3 the bathroom above us started leaking... that was the nail in the coffin and we asked to switch rooms. New room was perfect... AC worked wonderful! Another thing we didnt like was the seaweed on the beach. The ocean wasn't the nice blue water color you except in the Caribbean. There was so much seaweed that the water was a greenish- yellowish color. They tried to clean it up but it didnt look like they stayed on top of it every day. I felt like more could have been done. We fortunately live near the beach in US but many people that didnt were very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First and definitely last time in this hotel!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The air conditioner in the room was damaged. We reported it several times but we did not succeed. We tried to talk to a supervisor, but he never took care of us. Could not do late checkout due to availability. We were allowed to use the spa shower without any privacy and no space to change clothes. The friendliness of the staff was very good and so was the food. However, we definitely will not be returning to this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

We came here every year but will not return again.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: It is still very beautiful and well-maintained. It has many aesthetic improvements that were impressive. It has the potential to regain its charm.
Cons: Make your staff happy again. People staying here are paying a lot of money to relax; it is unacceptable to allow salesmen to harass your guests.
Location: There are many great excursions: we did the Outback Safari and brought school donations. Go to Macao beach if you have the chance; it is amazing!
We return here every year for our vacation, with the exception of one year that we could not travel. In the past, it was a magical experience that was incomparable and we could not rave or recommend it enough. The staff all seemed genuinely happy and friendly, smiling and singing and laughing with the tourists (not fake customer service "happy"), and this made a huge difference to the overall experience. The food was incredible everywhere you went, with exceptional flavor and unique dishes. The cleaning staff would make swans or other animals out of the towels with hibiscus flowers arranged on your bed every day, creating a sense of luxury. This year, we had the opposite experience. We could not go anywhere without being harassed about timeshares (every meal, every trip to the pool, on the beach). The staff was technically polite, but we were ignored a lot, struggled to get drink service at meals, got some snarky eye rolls, and generally felt like we were inconveniencing or offending every time we asked for anything (we are laid back, quiet, and friendly, so this was startling to us). Maid service replaced about half of the stuff at random each day & did not clean the bathroom. Most of the food we loved was gone and replaced by bland, generic stuff you can get anywhere. Our ravioli was raw dough at the Italian restaurant and inedible, and we ended up getting very sick for the last two days (we think it was something in our ground floor room after reading other reviews).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad the overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We have sent all your opportunity areas you present in your reports. Thanks for helping us to make it better. Hopefully we will welcome you back to enjoy the improvements. Best regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Great infinity pool, beach wasn't great due to seaweed .. food was okay , breakfast was excellent. They need more entertainment
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad the overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for helping us to make it better. Hopefully we will welcome you back to enjoy the improvements. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It was beautiful and the staff was exceptional. They loved to help you out and room service was quick and responsive.
Cons: no
Location: Great excursions all in a near location
The resort was beautiful and we had so many options we could not even eat at all the many restaurants and bars during our stay. It was my birthday and when the Resort found out they sent me a very nice birthday gift and balloons. The staff was great and friendly and seemed to really enjoy their job. We stayed at the adults only side but it was nice being able to walk just a little way and be around all of the families when we wanted too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could exceed your expectations. This is your home and we look forward to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Catalonia Royal

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The hotel was beautiful. The dining options were all excellent. The room was a little outdated: the door did not line up with the frame, so you could always see outside through the gap at the top of the door. It was also damp in the room all the time. Housekeeping seemed to operate at random times and in random patterns, which made timing activities around them fairly difficult. In general, it was a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad we could exceed your expectations. This is your home and we look forward to welcome you back anytime soon! Best regards.