Ratings based on 1,436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel para descansar

Posted Aug 29, 2016
El restaurante de tapas español nos pareció muy acertado
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Firenze

Oasi di relax con all inclusive di livello

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Resort di alto livello (consideriamo sempre che si è in Republica Dominicana), di dimensioni ridotte rispetto alle solite enormi e caotiche strutture. Situato in uno dei punti migliori della spiaggia della zona Bavaro (affianco ha solo il villaggio Catalonia Bavaro, di livello inferiore). Punti positivi : - struttura e parti comuni molto curate - personale (locale) molto disponibile, sorridente e professionale - servizio di ristorazione ottimo, con 5 ristoranti AI, ma con menu a la carte e con qualità dei cibi elavata! - camere molto spaziose e abbastanza recenti - bella spiaggia, ben organizzata con ombrelloni di palma, lettini imbottiti e aree in stile balinese oltre a snack-bar e chiosco per centrifughe di frutta e verdura - i clienti del Royal possono sfruttare anche i servizi e le strutture del villaggio contiguo Catalonia Bavaro (noi abbiamo usato solo i campi da tennis) - Punti negativi: - pulizia della camera non all'altezza del resto (sia chiaro, puliscono quotidianamente, ma in modo piuttosto superficiale e solo dopo lamentela abbiamo avuto un leggero miglioramento) - il mare e i suoi colori sono belli, non a livello caraibico perché si è nell'Oceano, ma il piacere di fare un bagno cambia da giorno a giorno perchè c'è il problema delle alghe che può diventare rilevante in caso di forte vento, nonostante una barriera di protezione (brutta) che non riesce ad arginare il problema. Ogni mattina viene però effettuata una grossa pulizia della spiaggia dalle alghe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great all inclusive hotel!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Had a wonderful time at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. The only negative is the casino- not much games to play and the hotel gives you complimentary start money if you upgrade your room. However, casino staff only allows you to use $5 casino dollars per person per night.. Why give guests $30 casino dollars of you can't use it? Also, if your on a winning streak they cut you off.. Needs major improvement in this area. The hotel rooms are nice. However, my initial room (which was a regular room) had no ac and smelled moldy.. The hotel staff was accommodating and I was able to change and upgrade my room.. For a price. I paid $360 more to upgrade to a better room but there was still a moldy smell. Otherwise, food, hotel staff and venue was wonderful. Be aware that hotel staff speaks very little English but works really hard! As others have said bring lots of $1 to tip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Will not be going back.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
For starters, we got to our room and the AC was broken. It was about 95 degrees. Way too hot. So the front desk said they would move our rooms and immediately tried selling us the upgraded rooms with the private pool. We ended up paying for the upgraded room, because this is our last big trip for a while. On our 3rd day out of 10 day vacation, our tv stopped working. Took them all day to come out to look at it and told us they'd fix it by the next day. It was never fixed through out our 10 day stay. On day 5, our AC stopped working again. And this was in the exclusive upgraded room. Took them all day to fix that issue. That same day we noticed $60 and my husbands watch were no longer in our room. Yes we know our room has a safe, but these items weren't left out in the open on a counter or anything. They were inside a bag inside of another bag. That's not right at all for them to actually go through our bags. I can see someone stealing items if they were left out in plain view. We felt that some employees treated Spanish speaking guests better than guests who didn't speak Spanish. Not saying all employees were like that. We did have a few employees we loved, Andres, Alba, Andy and a few others that we can't remember their names. The beach itself wasn't very nice. As far as we were allowed to go out. It was only about foot and half deep so you literally had to sit on the sand if you wanted your upper body to be under water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Lizards in Room

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The Dominican BBQ with a live DJ was outstanding! Food, drinks, beach, multiple restaurants, lounge areas are awesome, entertainment.
Cons: The rooms and problem resolutions.
Location: Location was beautiful.
My fiance and I were visiting for our first time in Punta Cana and to Catalonia services. Our first night was relaxing and enjoyable up until we returned to our hotel. Our hotel had a hole in the bathroom where we discovered multiple lizards were running in and out of. We called for assistance and asked to be moved to a different room because my fiance is terrified of lizards but can tolerate them outside but not in her hotel where she is to sleep for five nights. Fortunately, we were moved to a different room that had a sink with a sour/bitter odor and the water running between the walls/pipes were constantly causing noise even if water was not running. However, you would think that this place would, perhaps, upgrade your room for the inconvenience and to be apologetic. But nope, nothing. Needless to say, the rest of our trip was amazing! We took advantage of the offerings, and had a blast. The multiple restaurants had great breakfast, lunch, and dinner selections. The drinks from the restaurants and from the bar by the infinity were great but by the other pool they were just sugar and water if you ask us and some of the seven couples we met and chatted with. Our favorite thing about this place was the homemade paella around noon provided on the beach. It was delicious. We probably will not be returning to this particular resort in the future but we have already referred a couple-friend of ours who will be visiting in September 2016.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel moyen pour cause de vole dans les chambres

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Bonjour juste pour vous dire que dans cette hôtel il y a des voleurs dans cette hôtel nous sommes aller ma femme et moi pour un voyage de noce et nous nous sommes fait voler une sommes de 200e et le pire et que l'hôtel n'a même pas chercher une solution pour résoudre se problème voila trouver un notre hôtel il y en n'a dotre mieux que celui la.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An amazing hotel, so peaceful and relaxing.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We spent a great week here. The rooms were great very spacious. Mini bar was restocked each day and towels replaced. The facilities are great and the food was so good. We loved the tapas and Thai restaurants particularly. We would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Excellent adults only resort!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Just about everything!
Cons: Would like to see more of a seafood menu at the restaurants. Also, in other resorts that I've stayed at, we would get a list of events that were happ
Location: We went to MonkeyLand, which was well worth the $75 each! Our tour guide, PJ, was the best I've ever come across!
This trip was for my wife and I 20th anniversary! I was a little worried about what the conditions of the resort would be as I did not personally know of anyone that had been here before, but to say the least, WE LOVED IT! I've been to many other all inclusive resorts in many other areas, and this was one of our favorites. The staff could not have been any more accommodating and were very friendly! The resort itself was very well set up as per ease of finding your way around and the decor, landscaping, pools, bars, entertainment, and everything else was wonderful. We were pleasantly surprised that there were no bugs or flies of any kind the whole 6 days we were there. Mosquito's, gnats, sand fleas, nothing! The beach area could not have been any better, either. Now, we did upgrade to a larger room, which put us in what they call the "Privileged" category, but the room was much nicer and worth the small investment. It also allowed us better seating at the restaurants and even a more secluded area on the beach. We met some really great people who also were just as happy as we were with the resort and we will be back. The one thing that I would suggest is that if you are going to stay here, brush up on your Spanish! Most of the staff was bi-lingual, but most of the other quests were Spanish speaking and it would have been nice to know the language. Also, nice to know if you go off of the resort. Really had a great time though and I hope this is helpful to whomever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central NJ

Exactly what we were looking for!

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Food was mostly very good, especially the Tapas. Room was a little dated but very clean, nicely appointed even if you did not get the upgrades.
Cons: More "advertising" or announcing of the few daily activities maybe a daily notice to the room?? Animation staff really not circulating among guests.
Location: Location is very close to the airport, easy taxi ride there and back. Did not feel a need to hire the shuttle service. Did not leave the resort!
This gets a solid four stars from us. Nice people everywhere we went, who encouraged and appreciated my limited Spanish speaking skills. Room cleaned daily without any issue. Two minor room problems - light bulb out and hammock missing, both rectified while we were out for supper on our first night. AC worked well - small rumble noise from the vent but nothing that bothered us or kept us awake. It kept the room pleasantly cool 24/7. Food was mostly good. Best meal was in the Tapas restaurant - the AC was out, which we were forewarned about, but well worth the hotter environment for the time it took to order & eat. I would eat there every night if I could! Drinks were strong and plentiful. Chairs were always to be found on the beach and at the pool although at certain times you might have to look for two together or get someone to move them for you. I really have no complaints. Staff was super and really nice and friendly. I will definitely consider this for next summer. One thing, its not "busy or happening". I would describe this more as a couples' retreat than an Adult All Inclusive. We came to rest and relax but if you are single and looking for fun crazy times, this is probably not the right place for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Best all inclusive so far!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
This resort made my 2nd wedding anniversary vacation amazing. My wife and I were very please with the staff and the food and how quiet it was on our side of the adults only. From the time you reach its like you're in paradise. Many restaurants to choose from and very good selection of food to eat from. I must say I was very impress with how friendly and accommodating the staff was, once you're nice to them to really try their best to do anything for you. The only things I didn't like so much was the water at the beach with so much sea weed but you could still swim in it and couple things in the room need adjusted like they didn't put it on right the first time but everything else was great! Very good resort!