Ratings based on 1,520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Lansing, MI

Pretty decent adult only all inclusive

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Went for a week with my fiance in late November. This resort is about 20 minutes from the airport. As a result, the beach was filled with more seaweed and the water want as clear turquoise blue as what we might have gotten farther down the strip. Both pools were fantastic though. Our room was spacious and clean, but the bathroom always seemed to smell of sewage. Food was decent - some days better than others. Not a whole lot of seasonings used on anything. But then again, they are mass producing a large variety of food on a daily basis, so you really shouldn't expect gourmet food. It's nice because with this resort, you get access to all of the restaurants, bars, and amenities offered on its sister site next door - the one that's not adults only. By far, the best part of the resort was BO cocktail bar right next to the main pool and the bartender Andre. He was amazing! He was the type of bar tender whom you could make a very vague request (i.e. "I want something that tastes like a tropical vacation") and he'd deliver. Great tasting drinks every night, every time. And one of the most friendly approachable staff we met the entire time. If you're looking for time away from kids (yours or in general) and are looking for a budget vacation, consider this resort. I enjoyed my time here - but then again, who can argue with unlimited food, alcohol, and sun?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from España

Segunda estancia y última

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: La proximidad de todo y amabilidad y servicio del personal exceptuando recepción.
Cons: - Competencia profesional y atención al cliente del personal de recepción y gerencia, es decir, del de cierta responsabilidad. - Mantenimiento habitac
Location: --
Cosas buenas: - Personal excepto gerencia y recepción. - Hotel pequeño y cómodo - Buena comida en líneas generales. Cosas malas: - La falta de palabra e interés del personal de recepción y gerencia que excusa tras excusa incluso después de que una encargada relaciones públicas o cargo similar llamase para interesarse por la estancia y preguntar si queríamos algo, al pedir PAGAR una salida tardía nos dijo tras consultar que no habría problema y según ella dejar anotado informáticamente, a la hora de ir a pagar dicha salida tardía nos dicen (después de varias disculpas para evadir la solicitud) que no había posibilidad porque el hotel estaría completo, algo incierto porque clientes llegaron cuando nosotros nos íbamos (19 PM) y solicitamos la salida tardía para las 18-17,30 PM). Fueron capaces de no atender nuestra solicitud estando ¡¡¡7 horas!!! desde la salida a las 12,00 hasta las 19,00 en el lobby. Todo ellos siendo clientes que repetían estancia en el mismo hotel. Ya advertí que perdían un cliente no sólo en el Catalonia Royal Bávaro sino en otros hoteles de la cadena Catalonia que suelo utilizar en Madrid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff is the friendliest I've ever had in a resort

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We stayed at a Junior Suite and it was an incredible experience from the food to the service, this hotel resort is incredible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice and quite getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The hotel was nice the food was great plenty of variety there. The staff was always ready to help. There is not a lot of activities to do but it is nice and quiet if that's what you're looking for. My biggest complaint and the beds were very uncomfortable and you can hear everything through the walls.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, small and comfortable. Very good beach

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: We like reception staff, pleasant and professional, rooms are excellent specially in preferred villas, life music outside in the evening
Cons: Restaurant staff could be little friendlier, specially in the morning buffet. Quality and quantity of beach towels need to be improved
Location: We get many trips to Punta Cana in a past and just stay in resort and relaxed on that trip.
We had wonderful time, restaurants are good, no reservation required, good choice as we were able to attend both Catalonia Royal and Catalonia Bavaro Beach facilities. Ocean are calm and waters are warm in that area. Will recommend this hotel to family and friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SB

Come for the sun not the rooms.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: The Tapas restaurant was wonderful! The staff keeps the beach vendors away from your relaxation.
Cons: Not much nightlife. If you're looking for calm and relaxing, this is your hotel. If you're looking for a party, this is not your hotel.
Location: We stayed on the property for the most part. If you want to enjoy activities outside the resort, its a bit of a drive.
The beach, pools, food, staff, and other vacationers were wonderful. The rooms are not so great. Warm refrigerator, poor Wifi, leaking ceiling and toilet. We didn't spend much time in the room, but they need updates to a minimum expectation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Food, service and staff
Cons: Nothing, it is great
Location: Not familiar with the area
Great customer service, great food, just excellent!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel....lots of fun

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Went horseback riding...had a blast
Staff was superb...very accommodating. Food was great.....activities were fun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel location was good,

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: All food was great
Cons: Need ice in the buildings
Location: location ok, could improve shopping area. Shopping area seems to be for small young people
Should have ice machine in the building, Found that the mini bar was not worth talking about, could at least have wine. The Casino was not worth having. Workers at the pool was very friendly, Carlos was the greatest, should have more like him. We did enjoy our stay, but could be improvements.We are in our 70's and feel that the units are set up for the young. No consideration for the older generation. would not recommend for older generation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, United States of America

Very nice hotel with a good staff.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Good food and special service . Live music e very night . The hotel must improve the wifi service at room and also its computer center.