Ratings based on 1,702 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful area

Posted Oct 23, 2017
We were on our honeymoon and it was our first time at an all inclusive resort. After all the hype with the wedding and excitement to relax, we were ready to settle in. We walked into our room and it was not what was shown online and there was water coming through the floor. I was so upset. I went back to reception and they moved us right away. After that, our stay was excellent! The staff are so nice and the food is delicious! I loved being in the pool but still see the beach. Overall we had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Had a blast! Food was excellent but wish they could offer seafood every night. Never had any lobster which I was looking forward too. Over all, I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Beautiful sunrises and weather.
Cons: Less pressure to sell the Pearl.
Location: Snorkling with the rays and sharks, zip line and monkey exhibit. All were fabulous!!
The staff was fantastic! Hard working and very nice. Always looking out for us. Jose was great as was Yosinia. We loved our stay and would like to go again. Had one room issue which they fixed quickly. We wanted at least one more day!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Excellent experience. Beautiful hotel and special people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Great time, great staff - little complaints!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
My partner and I stayed at the hotel just last week for 10 days. We were a little nervous because we were headed there right after hurricane Maria had hit! There was obvious tree damage around the resort, but everything was cleaned up very well, you wouldn't know otherwise! From day 1 when we arrived to day 10, we felt like special. Everyone was so respectful, accommodating and funny! The staff all around the resort loved to crack jokes and make sure you always had a smile on your face. Around day 3, we noticed the beach clean up, new sand was poured over some damaged tree routes and the beach was constantly raked up for our pleasure. It was so nice and I thank the hard workers for their service and always having a smile on their face. Our favorite place was the Terrace bar at the restaurant "Barcelona Origins" - Andy is the best bartender ever! We had a blast with him and new friends we made! It was so nice to have access to the family resort next door, we got to eat at the restaurants and enjoy the shows! But the best part was coming back to the tranquil, quiet and romantic "Royal" side. Only small complaint I have is for the cleanliness, our room was always clean in the afternoon, but they would not replace the beach towels and there was one night where a bunch of dirt and what looked like red jelly was left a mess on the floor right outside our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Had a great time, an outstanding services. It was a great experience! The people, the food, the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards. General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Overall the stay was pleasant. 80% of the hotel staff didn’t seem like they wanted to help, and it was more of an inconvience to them to assist their customers. Mainly in some of the bars and the buffet waitstaff. If you book through Expedia you receive a different colored wristband, and it seems they don’t treat the Expedia colored wristbands the same. Would probably stay at a different resort if we go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon. Best regards. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great resort even after a hurricane!!!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Resort was in great shape just a few days after a major hurricane! Staff was terrific and pools were very clean. Had one issue with sliding patio door closing but made due as staff was busy repairing buildings/awnings. Would recommend to anyone looking for a great all inclusive resort. Its a short walk from the lobby to the beach. We made many great friends along our honeymoon trip as well as friends with the staff. Keep up the good work. They have a staff that is very hard working and they try to make everyone as comfortable as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from farmington, NY

Posted Oct 3, 2017
My husband and I have been here 3 times and love it each year. The staff is great and makes our vacation even more enjoyable. Absolutely will continue to come back each year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards. General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Excellent!!! During hurricane Irma

Posted Oct 1, 2017
My husband and I stayed 17 days in the adults section during hurricane Irma. Everyone was very helpful.,always friendly. The hotel and our room was perfect. The front desk staff and costumer services was wonderful. We will be coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Catalonia Royal Bavaro, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards. General Manager.