Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Average hotel, amazing beach

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Best beach we've been to, super calm waters with no waves, turquoise water, white sand. However, horrible bed, couldn't sleep due to extra firm bed. Food was average or below for an all inclusive. Only 1 restaurant worth eating at (the American). Staff was nice although very slooooow with everything. 45' min wait for dinner each night. Beach was the best thing about this place however, would not return. Go to punta Cana. Excellent there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel with many things to do.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: We loved the staff. Everyone was very affectionate.
Cons: Maybe a few stools by the fruit boat next to the beach bar area where the tall tables are. It is a very cool place to eat.
Location: Shona Island is amazing.
We had a lot of fun. The hotel is super clean and comfortable rooms. The entertainment staff is the best. The guy named Eddie Murphy is amazing, as well as Hot Chocolate, Yesenia and all of them. The girls at CoCo Cafe are friendly and they make you feel at home. i would go back soon and look forward to enjoying all the same things we did.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, Mass

Excellent Hotel full with everything

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Went for a girls gateway/vacation. Staff was excellent up grate to VIP was a smart move. Best time so far in Dominican Republic From all others Resorts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Gorgeous resort right on the beach!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Beach and pool were both a few feet away. Staff was friendly, grounds were gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Excellent oceanfront hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The various gardens, the tranquil music played throughout the hotel, the different pools, the modern decor, and the fantastic dining options.
Cons: Better communication of the daily entertainment activities. Some activities were reschedule because of bad weather, but people were not told of plan b
Location: The location is perfect. On the water, close to La Romana airport, and accessible to take a boat trip to the two islands close by.
This hotel exceeded my expectations. The hotel staff was so courteous and always attentive to our needs. The hotel facilities were excellent with so many different restaurants to choose from, different number of bars available, and with many activities to keep entertained. The free wifi throughout the hotel was a big plus. One of the best hotels all inclusive hotels I've stayed at.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

very nice, we love to stay. we recomended to all

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Great beach, ocean & staff.
Location: Great location, beach, ocean
We liked to stay in hotel, staff is very friendly, beach & ocean are greate. We defanatly came back. We got enjoy & relax.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Resort as beautiful as the view

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: A majority of the staff has the ability to speak multiple languages, making everyone feel welcome.
Cons: Limit the amount of contact with the brown shirt sales people. There were times I felt harassed to attend the tour. The only downside of the trip.
Location: Nice that the location is remote and not alongside a bunch of other resorts. Highly recommend Altos de Chevon for a day trip. Magnificent old town.
This resort exceeded our expectations. The vacation was to celebrate our anniversary and the staff did everything possible to make the day as memorable as our wedding day. Complete with banner on our door, champagne and glasses, chocolate covered strawberries and a rose petals on the bed. I would suggest spending the extra money and having a romantic dinner at sunset. It was another highlight of our trip. Another suggestion, book a preferred room and well worth the extra money spent. Our room was up to date and cleaned around the clock. The staff does an excellent job to make you feel special and appreciated. Julisa, our preferred concierge, always made us feel right at home. The restaurants served the right size portions and never let us down. Henry at Olio was another person who always treated us as if we were friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Our stay was excellent! Staff was outstanding. Worth upgrading to the Preferred Club. Food was good but not outstanding. We would return!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dreams La Romana nightmare

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The grounds of the resort are very nice and well maintained, but the beach itself is a joke, is about 3 feet long and to get to the water you have to be very careful not to break an ankle because is full of big and small rocks ( not stones ) especially the section that I found very relaxing under a big palapa next to the preferred section. The water is magnificent but as I said is a dangerous trek getting to it. And now I should mention the good attitude of the staff no matter where they work, they are always ready to help you. And I left the best for last, the food. To put it mildly, disgusting !!!. No matter what restaurant you decide to eat, the only decent meal I had was at breakfast, very nice with a lot of good choices but for the other meals I suggest try to bring sandwiches from home. It will be safer. PS : I got back home sick as a dog. Coul it been the food ? I let you decide