Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, popular but not over crowded.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
A very good hotel. Facilities were excellent. Very clean and hopeful staff. Everything to a high standard. The only busy part was the beach mid morning to mid afternoon. No complaints. I would recommend to both coupes and families. A lot of eating options. I will book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEPA

Beautiful beach, friendly staff and guests

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Grounds, staffs, beautiful beach
Cons: Temperature of food in the cafeteria.
Location: We walked the beach to nearby town of Bayahibe.
My husband and I just returned from the Preferred Adult-Only section of DLR. Beautiful beach with a lot of opportunities for either sun or shade. Adult-only pool was clean,cold (no pools are heated),big enough, and had a swim up bar. More greenery than cement throughout the whole resort facility. A la cart restaurants were very good. The cafeteria style "World Cafe" had a big variety of breakfast foods (we only tried breakfast here, twice) but the food was barely warm. I was reluctant to try any pre-cooked egg dish, but fresh egg dishes were available, cooked-to-order. Staff were very friendly and polite. I'd definitely return. Beware of sales pitch from concierge!! They try hard to sell you into their AM RESORTS properties (Secrets, Zoetry,Dreams, etc) That was disappointing factor from staff.(We were there to get-away, not to do business transactions)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Paradise

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Beautiful surroundings, wonderful staff, good food. What more could one ask for on a vacation. A little disappointed with the beach. The seaweed is usually cleaned up from the swimming area floor and I was stepping all over it but still enjoyed the calm and beautiful sea on this part of the island. Pools -- one better than the other. Highly recommend the preferred club. You'll never regret a vacation here!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Very nice location, comfortable, wide choice of activities, good selections from buffet and good food in the restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not Luxury Resort

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The beach was good. But always had to ask staff to get chairs since they were taken very early on.
Cons: Stop marketing as luxury because it is misleading and not accurate to the experience.
Overall it wasn't a BAD experience. My main problem here was that this resort markets itself as luxury but it most certainly is not. I was looking for a luxury experience and instead got something plain average. The room, which we got upgraded to a "preferred" one, was very out dated and lacked attention to detail. The shower was old and not taken care of, the towels were hard and the bed + linens uncomfortable. The room photos shown here do not represent most of the hotel but the suites. Again, it wasn't bad per se but I was expecting luxury. The nicest areas of the hotel were the ones for "preferred" guests and even so, they were not luxury. The food was mediocre. I was even disappointed by dominican food which should have been at least good. The restaurants aren't great and the best option every night was the buffet precisely because we'd have options to chose from. I had been to this hotel many years ago and unfortunately the quality has gone down significantly. Very disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

i stayed at this hotel last week, December 2016

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Yoga at the beach and water exercising.
Cons: Get a good chef.
Location: About 2 hours from the airport. Scoobadiving, zip line.
Poor room service, boring food, poor qaulity of food. Relatively good entertainment team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great time, highly recommend for a laid back beach holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson Heights (Queens), NY

Amazing week in paradise

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Everything was excellent! We did adults only upgrade which was nice. Beach- amazing Pools- A few to pick from & always found a spot, no matter time of day. Rooms- could use some upgrading but they were clean & nice. Restaurants- Plenty, food was good and never needed a reservation which was nice. Staff- Friendly and extremely attentive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
the beach is perfect, clean, lots of shade. Food is fine. The rooms are old with outdated furniture, same for the bathrooms. But everything is in working order
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit of a letdown...

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Food at the Italian restaurant Helpful, professional and friendly staff. Grounds and facilities The magic show Access to Altos de Chavon
Cons: Food at the Asian-themed restaurant Pool 'features' Food choices at buffet Room bathroom conditions Queues for buffet during peak times Access road
Location: Catalina and Saona island tours are by far the top must-do in this area closely followed by Altos de Chavon.
We booked this hotel because it was highly recommended by a friend. Unfortunately it seems that some circumstances changed and our experience simply didn't match our (admittedly lofty) expectations It all starts with an uncomfortable access road which is full of potholes, removing a lot from the beautiful arched trees on the sides. Check-in was fairly painless even though requesting a 'quiet location' netted us a room right next to the cleaning staff's closet - something we were made painfully aware of when we tried to sleep in the afternoon Buffet food was ok, definitely not bad but certainly not great with the notable exception of the dessert menu items which were often spectacular. We only got to try two themed restaurants and the experiences were polar opposites... At the Asian-themed restaurant, we had to wait too long for service and once we got our food, all of it was just awful. The following evening we tried the Italian restaurant where the food was great! We were also surprised by the fact that often we were asked for our room numbers to go into the buffet area. This practice creates long lines for folks trying to go in there during peak times If we consider the experience a positive one overall it's definitely because of the staff. With few notable exceptions everyone we dealt with was helpful and friendly. It was obvious though that more staff is needed at all of the restaurants. We didn't appreciate the constant timeshare-style offers Overall its ok