Ratings based on 865 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Second time here this year. Very relaxing place.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: location, selection of restaurants/food, service, amenities.
Only spent three nights, just enough to confirm, once more, this resort is simply beautiful. The location, the spacious rooms, the wide selections of restaurants with their own different menus, the choice of pools/beach, the proximity to playa Bayahibe where you can see and interact with the locals, but most of all the staff....they treat you like royals. In each contact with the staff, whether at the concierge, reception, restaurants, housekeeping, even the lady cutting and offering fruits in the little boat by the beach, everybody offered their best service with a big smile and never had a "no" for an answer. Just amazing, really nice people. They are the one who really made our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing Hotel Amazing Staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Beautiful surroundings and right on the beach. Our room was a great size and the facilities were superb. We found all staff more than helpful but were also very cheerful. The food and drink selection was broad. The system getting into the restaurants was bizarre and sometimes annoying. Queues despite many empty tables which I raised with concierge. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice resort and location, small beach but very calm, food was average, very friendly staff, rooms definitely need some updates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful and amazing people.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Heaven on earth. Simply beautiful and my stay there was excelente. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Massapequa, NY

Perfect... if you get a conveniently located room

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Beautiful beach access Everything so convenient
Cons: AC Darkish room decor
Location: Buggy rides - AWESOME, dirty fun SCUBA (at resort)- scenic reef/wreck shallow dive- very short resort course and the kids can do a 35 foot dive!
Beautiful grounds, beachfront- white sand/clear, calm, Carribbean aqua water. Warm, helpful staff Great food Lots to do for whole family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, popular but not over crowded.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
A very good hotel. Facilities were excellent. Very clean and hopeful staff. Everything to a high standard. The only busy part was the beach mid morning to mid afternoon. No complaints. I would recommend to both coupes and families. A lot of eating options. I will book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEPA

Beautiful beach, friendly staff and guests

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Grounds, staffs, beautiful beach
Cons: Temperature of food in the cafeteria.
Location: We walked the beach to nearby town of Bayahibe.
My husband and I just returned from the Preferred Adult-Only section of DLR. Beautiful beach with a lot of opportunities for either sun or shade. Adult-only pool was clean,cold (no pools are heated),big enough, and had a swim up bar. More greenery than cement throughout the whole resort facility. A la cart restaurants were very good. The cafeteria style "World Cafe" had a big variety of breakfast foods (we only tried breakfast here, twice) but the food was barely warm. I was reluctant to try any pre-cooked egg dish, but fresh egg dishes were available, cooked-to-order. Staff were very friendly and polite. I'd definitely return. Beware of sales pitch from concierge!! They try hard to sell you into their AM RESORTS properties (Secrets, Zoetry,Dreams, etc) That was disappointing factor from staff.(We were there to get-away, not to do business transactions)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Paradise

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Beautiful surroundings, wonderful staff, good food. What more could one ask for on a vacation. A little disappointed with the beach. The seaweed is usually cleaned up from the swimming area floor and I was stepping all over it but still enjoyed the calm and beautiful sea on this part of the island. Pools -- one better than the other. Highly recommend the preferred club. You'll never regret a vacation here!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Very nice location, comfortable, wide choice of activities, good selections from buffet and good food in the restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not Luxury Resort

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The beach was good. But always had to ask staff to get chairs since they were taken very early on.
Cons: Stop marketing as luxury because it is misleading and not accurate to the experience.
Overall it wasn't a BAD experience. My main problem here was that this resort markets itself as luxury but it most certainly is not. I was looking for a luxury experience and instead got something plain average. The room, which we got upgraded to a "preferred" one, was very out dated and lacked attention to detail. The shower was old and not taken care of, the towels were hard and the bed + linens uncomfortable. The room photos shown here do not represent most of the hotel but the suites. Again, it wasn't bad per se but I was expecting luxury. The nicest areas of the hotel were the ones for "preferred" guests and even so, they were not luxury. The food was mediocre. I was even disappointed by dominican food which should have been at least good. The restaurants aren't great and the best option every night was the buffet precisely because we'd have options to chose from. I had been to this hotel many years ago and unfortunately the quality has gone down significantly. Very disappointing.