Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

My First All Inclusive

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Food, Staff, Room
Cons: More food options in World Cafe, like change each day instead of the same thing over and over. More "singles" activities.
Location: Shopping nearby
Things were pretty great as soon as we arrived. We were able to check in our room early and were upgraded to VIP area which came with a private pool, bar, restaurant and beach area which were all great. Our room was very nice, beds were comfy, maid service was excellent, our shower was amazing and they left us treats in the room. We went to all the restaurant options and for the most part were impressed. A few items here and there were not great but overall I would give the food and 8.5 out of 10. The staff was all very nice and helped us with whatever was needed. The internet did not work in our room when we arrived and they fixed it asap. There was plenty to do as far as daily entertainment. You get a newsletter each day under your door so you can plan the following day. We also went off the resort to go shopping which they arranged transportation for us which was nice. We spend most of our time in the adult only pool but the swim up bar pool was also great and more adult crowd. The other 2 pools were more "family friendly". They did try to sell us a package on our first day to come back again but were not overly pushy so it was ok. I would definitely recommend this resort and would like to check out others Dreams resorts in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Excellent hotel, staff very friendly, rooms cleaned twice a day if needed, restaurants are amazing such a variety and high quality food with excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-concierge, Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear Lily, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your experience. It is TRULY PLEASANT to learn that we were able to meet all your expectations, since YOU are our main reason to be. We will be delighted to welcome you again in the near future. Kindest regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-concierge, Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Greetings from Punta Cana! We are extremely sorry to learn that we were not able to fulfill your expectations, most of all that we were not able to change your perception while you were with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies. Unfortunately with the very limited information provided in this feedback, we are unable to review your case, as each case is reviewed in separate way. Please contact us/me directly in order t give a direct follow up and assist you properly with the inconvenience you might experienced and avoid that it happen if you decide to visit us in the future. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham. UK

Nice and clean. Close to the beach.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Pool and beach areas had plenty of loungers
Cons: No straws given with drinks so made it difficult to drink frozen cocktails drinks.
Location: On the beach. Excursions. Buggy rides and zip lines. Inflatables in sea for kids. water sports. Scuba Diving and snorkeling. Boat trips, island trips
Room was clean and serviced daily. Plenty of things to do with regular daytime and evening activities. Ideal for families and couples or singles. 5 A la carte restaurants that don't require booking beforehand like some hotels. Plenty of food choice. Staff were friendly and assertive. Beach and pools with plenty of loungers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-concierge, Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear Rubi, Thank you for choosing our resort and for sharing your experience. It is MORE THAN A PLEASURE for us to be aware of the outstanding stay you had here at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana. Allow me to say that we have limited the use of straws as a way to contribute the enviromental protection, if you ask for it i am sure our bar team will have biodegradable ones to provide. We all look forward to welcome you again. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, Florida and Dominican Republic

All the comfort for that perfect getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Everthing
Cons: I know that mother nature is a bit out of our control, but the seaweed does affect the beach area, but hotel compenses for that with everything else
I must, before anything say, that EXPEDIA all ways handles your experience in a fantastic way. They take the Guess work out of your plans. Thanks EXPEDIA. The check-in was very personalized. The room amenities and comfort was great. Each pool area seem to have a personality of its own. The Food was great, a great thought out selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-concierge, Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear Richard, We are happy to hear about your 5 stars experience and thank you for choosing us. It is delightful to learn that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and had an EXCELENTE time. Seaweed is a issue that all the Caribbean beaches are experiencing but as you might have seen we have a team dedicated to keep it as clean as possible. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Great location on a lovely beach.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Just got back from a really relaxing holiday at Dreams Palm Beach. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, as are the pools. There is lots going on and the staff are attentive and friendly. We did not participate in the activities or go to the shows but believe they were good, according to other guests. We wanted a relaxing holiday and that's what we got. The staff were excellent during hurricane Irma, remained attentive and calm during our night in the conference centre building, which was deemed the safest place! Within 24 hours everything was cleaned up and back to normal. Our room was cleaned daily and although comfortable, really needs to be modernised, with attention paid to fixtures and fittings, such as drawers which don't open properly. The visual standard of the bathroom is poor, such as grouting on walls and floor. A bit shabby!! That said, the large bed was really comfortable and there was daily fresh towels, so more than made up for the appearance. We had an ocean view room in preferred accommodation which I would recommend. Food was great, with lots of choice. I would recommend this hotel but would not class as 5*. We were disappointed that no-one from Expedia made contact with us during Hurricane Irma, as other travel companies did with their guests but it was an unusual situation and would not prevent me going through them again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-concierge, Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear Arlne, Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for visiting Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience and had the vacation you were expecting. Allow me to say that we are already working on yearly renovations to provide even better accommodations service, hopefully we will welcome you again to experience this. Look forward to have you back and do not hesitate to contact us for a special follow up to your visit. Bets regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could do with a refurb

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Arrived late when most of the restaurants were closed, at check in I didn't get the room I had booked with 2 beds as they had ran out, so I think I was downgraded to an older room type. The room was nice but the bathroom is in need of repair with lots of old toothpaste stains by the mirror. Air con throughout the night was very noisy, and I was woken up at 7am by building works. Resort is nice with a lovely pool area but it's a shame none of the a la carte restaurants are open for lunch so the only option is the buffet again or cheeseburgers on the beach. Overall a lovely resort and setting but disappointed about the poor dining options and dated rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-concierge, Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to learn that you didn´t have the expected experience, but it is important to clarify that bedding requests are not guarantee since this is subject to availability of the resort, rooms can have either double beds or king beds. It concerns us that you weren´t aware of our restaurants schedules before booking, since we have this stated in our website and all brochures to avoid any dissapointments. I will be sharing your comments with the management for follow up, but we always recommend guests to extend their concerns to us while they are still on the property that is when we can make things better for you on time. Hope you visit us again and feel free to contact us prior arrival for some extra pampering. Best regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

upgrade

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: n/a
Becuase of the bad condition I had to move from this hotel. They still not giving the money back for the upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Isabel Rueda, Resident Manager, Hotel Management
Dear customer, Greetings from Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana! We are extremely sorry to hear that we were not able to full fill your expectations, further more that we were not able to provide us a chance to change the perception that you have from us. Please accept our most sincere apologies. Unfortunately with the very limited information provided in this feedback, we are unable to review your case, as each case is reviewed in separate way. Please contact us/me directly in order for me to review your case and assist you properly. Regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

No AC in the room Very bad experience

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing,
Cons: Rooms and AC
Location: n/a
First, this has one of my worst experience ever. First, when we arrived at the hotel, they took us to the back we could not appreciate the lobby at the hotel. We check in when we went to the room all the hallways were very dark like one of that kind of movies that you don't know where they are taking you. We arrived to the room the rooms are very small, good size of the bathroom but very small room. We have a swimming pool view for the adult which is very dark, I personally prefer sky blue swimming pools. We went back to the reservation area, we had to pay 500.00 to upgrade the room to supposedly a honey moon suite. We changed the rooms we arrive, first the room was located at the end of the hotel, with a view of a construction area, next to us was a place that has a lot of mosquitos, the balcony was an open balcony that when the water sprinkler open in the morning all the balcony got wet. All these mosquitos bite my daughter and me. We had to stay one night and the worst part is that the AC was not working they had to send a technician, that he supposedly fix it but he only fixes the fan because the ac was broken at the first place. If I start talking about the beach I will never be finished because it was very dark and with a lot of seaweeds. At the end of the night and first thing in the morning, we moved the hotel to another hotel in the area that the beach was cleaner and the rooms had an AC. Personal was very nice. At the end, I had to pay 75.00 for one night upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Luz Salcé, e-Concierge, Dreams Palm Beach, Hotel Management
Dear gigi, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. First of all, we are glad to hear that our staff provided you a great service. Secondly, it is important to clarify that we are renovating building 7 to provide a better service to all of our guests and it is very concerning to us the mosquitoes theme, since we have daily fumigation to avoid this matter. Regarding the beach, the seaweed is a situation that we can't completely control, besides this we might have noticed that there is a team dedicated to keep it as clean as possible. Overall, we can assure you that your comments will be taken for evaluation with the responsible departments. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santo domingo

Very Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Mall, adventure park, manati park lot's of activities.
Everything was great. The food,room and overall facilities. Only thing was the seaweed on beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Luz Salcé e-concierge Dreams Palm Beach , Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Richard, Thank you very much for your visit and for choosing Dreams Palm Beach. We LOVE to learn that you had a 5 stars experience and look forward to welcome you again in the near future. The seaweed is a nature inconvenience that most of the beaches in the Caribbean are experimenting, besides this we have a team working very hard to keep this as low as possible. Best regards,